« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

Contact this school

8151 Village Parkway
Dublin, CA 94568

School website
(925) 833-3300
(925) 833-3322
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Dublin High School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
September 29, 2013
Dublin High School recently had a lot of renovations/new structures due to bonds provided by the Dublin homeowners. New gym, stadium, theater, class rooms, cafeteria. This is totally different from Dublin High if you look at reviews 2-3 years ago. Major renovation has been done as well new programs are added. There is now an engineering track that helps students who wants to pursue engineering course during college. Students are now more diversed and parents are more involved. DHS even surpassed one of the HS across town in terms of API grades and score here at greatschools. My son graduated here and my youngest son is now a freshman. I would recommend this school to everybody, if you live across town you will sometimes hear pleasanton parents trying to transfer their son to DHS, that's the truth. Check it out first if you want to see the improvements that's currently happening, it looks world class now.

- submitted by a parent
September 25, 2012
This is an excellent school. I have been going here for a few years now, and it is amazing. Although it is smaller than the other schools in the area, due to the diverse student body and many Clubs/Organizations/Sports, I have made many new friends from different backgrounds, which has given me many off-campus opportunities and achievements. I never feel socially intimidated at all, and it is a very safe campus, barely any fights, arguments etc The Engineering program is great, the equipment + material is modern, and there are new classes added every year.. Most of my classes are Advanced/AP, and I find that it is alot easier to get into those vs. other schools, because our class sizes are much smaller (as low as 15 kids). Of course those are difficult, but it is leveraged with the helpfulness of the teachers, most teachers who teach these will be willing to tutor you 1:1 after school, and there are things like peer tutoring and Tutoring University the evening before Math tests, free of charge. Like any high school, there are groups of kids that can influence you badly. There are VERY few, but you should know how to act around them and make good decisions.

- submitted by a student
September 16, 2011
I love Dublin High. The courses are really challenging but the teachers are willing to do anything to help you. I even started a gymnastics club, a new addition to the roster of about 50 clubs! I am on the volleyball team, which is so fun, and have straight A's. The only downside is the seniors get EVERYTHING, but I suppose I won't be complaining when I'm a senior. Overall, I would recommend this school to everyone.

- submitted by a student
August 17, 2011
Dublin High is a great school academically. It definitely is aimed at challenging students and offers a wide variety of classes to choose from. With the teachers though it's really a hit-or-miss; they're either really good, or not so good.

- submitted by a student
July 29, 2011
This school is great academically. But it's hard to stay focused at Dublin high because of all the social cliques and unecessary distractions. The teachers are very educated and kind. They're willing to give their time up to tutor and help students. Even with these great opportunities I wouldn't recommend Dublin high because it's easy to get caught up with the wrong people and it ruined my future.

- submitted by a student
March 13, 2011
I attend this school and love it. I am a senior and have gone here all four years. Almost all of the teachers are really good. Most are willing to come in before or stay after school to help with any problems in class or outside of class. Though a growing school and campus everyone feels very at home. The campus supervisors and administration help everyone feel like they are welcome on campus.

- submitted by a student
October 23, 2010
This is excellent school compared to neighborhood schools. Excellent curriculum, new technology, great teachers and great counselors. Lot of AP courses to choose. Good growth over the past two years. This school will emerge as #1 very soon in Dublin, San Ramon and Pleasanton area.

- submitted by a parent
no rating March 08, 2010
I am very pleased with all Dublin High School has to offer. Before moving to Dublin in 2006, My children were enrolled in private schools since they were in Kindergarten. I did research before we moved out here for both private and public schools. I decided to enroll them in the Dublin Unified School district due to the quick , thorough and informative response I received from the DUSD. Five years later I am VERY pleased with the outcome of my decision. My son graduated from DHS in 2009, and my Daughter is in her Junior year at DHS. I am pleased with academics, activites and support and enoouragement the school has to offer the students. Thank You!

- submitted by a parent
February 01, 2010
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
December 22, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
December 19, 2009
My daughter is a freshman at Dublin High and is benefiting from the academic, performing arts and extracurricular choice offered by the school. When we first moved to Dublin we weren't sure what to make of Dublin High, mainly due to the old facilities. That was 10 years ago. Since then, Dublin taxpayers have been very supportive of Dublin public schools including funding a $120M effort to completely rebuild the school (that's well underway with most of the classrooms now brand new and state-of-the-art). Most important is my older daughter's experience at the school - she is challenged, rewarded for working hard (and striving for Dublin's new Advanced Scholars Diploma), involved in the many extracurricular activities at the school (including the drama club: www.DHSDrama.org) and taking advanced classes that match her ability.

- submitted by a parent
no rating October 05, 2009
Excellent teachers, great support

- submitted by a parent
no rating September 01, 2009
My children were educated in a private school up to sixth grade and then we put them in Dublin School district. I was skeptical at first, but am now a firm believer in this school. The ROP visual communications program is state-the-art and perfect for my son who was not the 4-year college type. I feel Dublin High exceeds in great staff and teachers. There are a few who I feel just go through the motions and don't really inspire or be innovative, but overall we felt the teaching staff/counselors were very helpful and supportive. Great school!

- submitted by a parent
June 16, 2009
Great high school. It is smaller than most schools in the area, but large enough to offer many programs.

- submitted by a parent
January 22, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 09, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
no rating October 04, 2008
Dublin High School's new Math and Science department is state of the art. The school has maintained their reputation as a great place to learn with excellent extra curricular activities. Most importantly the faculty is extremely supportive and shows leadership in all departments. Go Dublin!

- submitted by a community member
September 12, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a community member
August 04, 2008
The staff (and faculty) show unprecedented dedication and caring for the students. Looking back it is absolutely stunning how involved they were. I remember the principal making a deal with the students that he would shave his entire head including eyebrows if we increased our exit exam scores by X amount. He followed through with it when the student body succeeded!The teachers have always been there to help a struggling student. Every teacher I had (including the ones we consider bad ) were willing to come in at before school starts and tutor or even stay late. In fact, in the sciences and math it is routine to have teacher stay after school until 5pm to have a tutoring session.

- submitted by a student
May 28, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 14, 2008
Dublin High is a good school. I have a daughter who will be a senior next year 08-09, and a son who will be a freshman. Academically my daughter has done very well. Dublin High offers plenty of AP classes and opportunities for students to excell. It has a relativley small student body copmared to the highschools in the Tri-Valley Area and that's what she enjoys about it. It is being remodeled and that is great, but the job is going rather slowly. Our experience with teachers has been a positive one. I am very excited for my son to start next year as a freshman, and hopefully be a part of the AVID program. Other than the appearance of the school (which is being addressed), Dublin High is a very good school.

- submitted by a parent
April 23, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
September 07, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 28, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 18, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 01, 2007
Granted the school is a bit dilapidated but that has nothing to do with the academics which I find to be as good or better than a lot of schools I have been involved with. Also, the teachers are accommodating and helpful to both the motivated and not so motivated students. Parent involvement is adequate and is welcomed by the school. My student at DHS is receiving a good education and the teachers all very in tune with his academic progress.

- submitted by a parent
no rating May 22, 2007
We are new to the area. I will admit that the school was surprisingly shabby and dismal in appearance, but the welcoming attitude of the Ass't Principal and my daughter's counselor was commendable. We 'interviewed' both Pleasanton schools before choosing Dublin. At the Pton schools, we felt like we were unwelcome imposters, and no effort was made to make us feel at home. At Dublin, people bent over backwards to assist us. So, so far so good. We'll see how the actual education part goes.

- submitted by a parent
March 18, 2007
I am greatly dissapointed by the large number of teachers who show extreme favoritism towards certain student whose parents are part of the Old 'dublin high graduates' network. For the amount of money concieved through property taxes, this school should hire more fair and justified teachers!

- submitted by a student
March 13, 2007
Dublin High School is run down and dirty. Amazing considering the amount of money the city receives through property taxes. Some of the teachers/faculty are as rundown as the school and have no interest other than putting in their time. There is absolutely no assistance the school or school district offers for a student who has issues with doing schoolwork -class work or homework. It seems they are just happy that he fills a seat because it generates revenue for the school. If you have a struggling student, beware of this school.

- submitted by a parent
February 11, 2007
Very good school especially safety. New principal has to be little more friendly towards parents and students. There is good & bad teachers, some show more favoritism towards students. Maintenance has to be improved in bathrooms. Overall advisable to put your student here.

- submitted by a parent
November 27, 2006
Yes, Dublin High school is nice. Parents are invovled and parent-teacher association even offers a scholarship--however the Parent invovlement is limited to a select group of parents. Teachers are okay, there are good ones and bad ones. Counselors are a little iffy. Overall, Dublin High school is decent, but there are better ones. The principal is excellent, as is the superintendent.

- submitted by a parent
June 17, 2006
Some of the students are not motivated but my child did well here.

- submitted by a parent
April 26, 2006
Too many students which contributes to the lack of supervision and problems on campus. Also, difficult for students to participate in sports because of the number of students for one team.

- submitted by a parent
February 07, 2006
I like the school, the teachers are friendly and the environment is great. They offer many activities for parents to involve.

- submitted by a parent
December 01, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 20, 2005
Dublin High School certainly has its shortcomings, but not in its people. I consistently find the teachers and administrators to be both accessible and professional.

- submitted by a former student
August 19, 2005
Being a teacher myself and a parent (not a dublin high teacher), I think that the education involves teachers and students too, I had a very good experience in this school, one of my sons graduated last year and now is attending standford university, the other one is going to be a sophmore this year and is doing great, kids should be more involved in the school programs, all that counts when they apply for colege, I would honestly say that I am very pleased with dublin high!

- submitted by a parent
June 23, 2005
My two older children have always done well at Dublin High. While most of the teachers have been satisfactory, I have noted a few instructors who could use an early retirement. They have lost their enthusiasm to encourage students and just seem to go through the daily grind. I have not personally heard any complaints from my own children but have noted the lack of direction and reluctance by one or two teachers who don't seem to care about nurturing their students. For that matter, there have been some rather wonderful teachers who have gone out of their way to help students succeed. My overall experience with this school has been satisfactory except with the few staff members.

- submitted by a parent
April 07, 2005
The academic programs at Dublin High School are very important and up to date. Availability of sports, arts, and other activities are very important to the students. They need something to do when they are bored and they need something to do to improve the skills that they already possess. Level of parent involvement is hugely significant. Parents are so involved with the students and teachers.

- submitted by a former student
February 28, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a teacher
November 29, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
July 07, 2004
The best kept secret in the Tri-Valley area.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dublin High School
8151 Village Parkway, Dublin, CA  94568
(925) 833-3300
Last modified Dublin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dublin High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top