Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dublin High School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a community member
Best school ever. I really mean it! Academics, sports, staff, kids are all above the average.

Dublin High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
The teacher I had were fair and awesome people who are willing to commit into an educational learning environment, but many students cause a distraction to teachers' ability in instructing and disciplining the class well. Unfortunately, many teachers and staff have favoritism towards certain students because students' parents were former alumni. There are teachers who choose favorites by their academic level. Students ahead in math and science were treated more nicely than their peers that teachers would use them to make their classes feel inferior and/or lose self-esteem.


Dublin High School 2

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
Most of the teachers I had were willing to help students and care about their success after graduation. Student and academic diversity is improving such as the mechanical engineering and the completed remodeling of school infrastructure. However, I realized that students in this school are not open to newcomers outside of the Tri-Valley. New students who attempted to make friends there were ignored until they join popular cliques and engage in drinking outside of campus. Popular students and their parents are the main driving force of student leadership programs and parts of school administration. Because of this, other students outside of their circle have little say in meetings or school functions, and tend to get away with school violations behind closed doors.

Dublin High School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Cannot say enough about the athletic programs at DHS. The staff in the office is amazing!

Dublin High School 5

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
We transfered our son to Dublin High from a private high school and our experience has been nothing short of positive. Excellent new facilitiies and a safe environment with caring teachers. Absolultely no evidence of bullying and our son is very happy with his new friendships . I would recommend this school to anyone seeking a high quality and caring acedmic environment. Excellent academics, including Science-Technology,-Engineering-Mathematics (STEM) programs. Our son is in the engineering program and as a high school sophomore was already receiving national certifications and college credits. High quality teachers who clearly demonstrate a genuine desire to see their students succeed.


Dublin High School 1

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
Wish I could give this school minus 5 stars!! Academically Dublin High has alot to offer however due to rampant bullying cliques the school is deficient in providing students a safe learning environment. I enrolled my child there in Dec. of 2013. He was new to the Dublin schools. A group of bullies constantly harassed him. He had dirty water thrown on him, was pantsed and taunted daily. The school officials were supposedly concerned , however when it came to disciplining the offenders (or holding them accountable) there were no real consequences. Not once, was there ever a class on "bullying an assembly or information sent home regarding bullying. The administrators right up to the superintendent (whom I spoke with several times) give lip service instead of proactively making the school a safe and pleasant environment for students to receive an education. I would never ever recommend any child go to Dublin High School.

Dublin High School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
Dublin High School recently had a lot of renovations/new structures due to bonds provided by the Dublin homeowners. New gym, stadium, theater, class rooms, cafeteria. This is totally different from Dublin High if you look at reviews 2-3 years ago. Major renovation has been done as well new programs are added. There is now an engineering track that helps students who wants to pursue engineering course during college. Students are now more diversed and parents are more involved. DHS even surpassed one of the HS across town in terms of API grades and score here at greatschools. My son graduated here and my youngest son is now a freshman. I would recommend this school to everybody, if you live across town you will sometimes hear pleasanton parents trying to transfer their son to DHS, that's the truth. Check it out first if you want to see the improvements that's currently happening, it looks world class now.

Dublin High School 5

Posted September 25, 2012
- a student
This is an excellent school. I have been going here for a few years now, and it is amazing. Although it is smaller than the other schools in the area, due to the diverse student body and many Clubs/Organizations/Sports, I have made many new friends from different backgrounds, which has given me many off-campus opportunities and achievements. I never feel socially intimidated at all, and it is a very safe campus, barely any fights, arguments etc The Engineering program is great, the equipment + material is modern, and there are new classes added every year.. Most of my classes are Advanced/AP, and I find that it is alot easier to get into those vs. other schools, because our class sizes are much smaller (as low as 15 kids). Of course those are difficult, but it is leveraged with the helpfulness of the teachers, most teachers who teach these will be willing to tutor you 1:1 after school, and there are things like peer tutoring and Tutoring University the evening before Math tests, free of charge. Like any high school, there are groups of kids that can influence you badly. There are VERY few, but you should know how to act around them and make good decisions.


Dublin High School 5

Posted September 16, 2011
- a student
I love Dublin High. The courses are really challenging but the teachers are willing to do anything to help you. I even started a gymnastics club, a new addition to the roster of about 50 clubs! I am on the volleyball team, which is so fun, and have straight A's. The only downside is the seniors get EVERYTHING, but I suppose I won't be complaining when I'm a senior. Overall, I would recommend this school to everyone.

Dublin High School 4

Posted August 17, 2011
- a student
Dublin High is a great school academically. It definitely is aimed at challenging students and offers a wide variety of classes to choose from. With the teachers though it's really a hit-or-miss; they're either really good, or not so good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dublin High School
8151 Village Parkway, Dublin, CA  94568-1656
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (925) 833-3300
Last modified Dublin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top