Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frederiksen Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 595 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2014

We are a family which no longer attends due to an Army PCS. However I thought it to be important to report on the long term academics being taught here. (This may be state or county not sure) Both of my children 4th grade and 6th grade (have others but didn't attend Fred) are well behind in LA and especially in math. My children by their new school standards had to be re taught math in basic form because the original teaching (at Fred) was plain "ridiculous" (their words not mine).. Please question your instruction especially in crucial areas of math and LA..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My son came to Frederickson his kindergarten year from a private school. Since he has been at Frederickson he has excelled in his school work and relationships with both teachers and piers. I could not be happier with this school. The teachers are great and EDCC program is also great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

Fred is a decent school. The principal is trying her hardest. She can be approachable. The incidents about the bottles is true cause my child came and told me how they had earned more coupons for helping clean up. The hold trimester award ceremonies were some kids are selected and are awarded. Your kid will get some kind of award once a year. The gates are open. Parents should stop by the office to sign in, its thier responsibility. There are a ton of fundraisers that can be kind of a turn off. I wish they would either do one big one or spilt it into two. My family members complained about all the fundraisers. I really felt like this year was wasted for my child. There was bullying when they first got there. Parents aren't active in PFC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

We love our school! We have been with Frederiksen Elementary for 2 years now. My daughter is in second grade and has an incredible teacher. We have been so blessed with the caring and proactive staff at this school. The principal is at every event and highly visible throughout the day. The test scores increased the last school year (they are not a school that teaches to the test but last year was vital that test scores increased to stay out of Program Improvement). The PFC is active and work hard to bring quality events to the students. (Re:12/24/2012 Post) Security has been increased and new measures have been implemented. The school has performed drills to address a possible shooter/unwanted individual and teachers know the expectations. I have no concern about the safety of my child while at Frederiksen. Also, students are not encouraged to clean up bottles. The custodian walks the perimeter of the school to remove any items like beer cans/bottles before kids can find them. It doesn't happen often, but if it does the yard supervisors inform the custodian who takes care of the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

I do not normally respond or post ratings however as I received a notice of a "new posting" regarding our school I had to read and "respond". I am a parent of 2 children at Fred (5th grader and a 2nd grader) and sadly I agree with the 12/24 post. I do agree that the school is trying very hard to turn themselves around. However the posts about security and liquor/beer bottles are very true. The gates still remain opened and unlocked all day and maybe they have implemented "drills" for unwanted individuals, they still leave the grounds unsecured during the day. Through the six years I have been at the school I never noticed this until last year when there was a "shooting incident" (not on the campus and nothing to do with the school itself) down the street. It made me question why all gates were accessible to just about anyone The school is trying but is really not there yet. I have hopes, my oldest will be leaving for middle school however my little one has no choice but to remain. I am hoping they will see the purpose in locking the gates like the rest of the elementary schools in the area.. So the end remark here is "not quite there yet" ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

We came late last year, so this will be our first full year of school... we are very happy so far. The teachers are great, parents are very friendly and welcoming! There's a close-knit vibe at this school, and for a family that has moved a lot (we used to be a military family), it's a nice "homey" feeling. I see a lot of parents who are highly involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

Entering our second year here and couldn't be happier. The teachers are wonderful, the principal very involved and caring and the parent involvement high. The improvements that have been made to the exterior of the school make it look more like the quality school it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

My son is a kindergardener now, and I can tell Frederiksen is the perfect school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

Frederiksen Elementary is one of the most well balanced elementary schools in Alameda county. Since class sizes are small, teachers are able to provide one on one support to all students. Most importantly, education is taught at all levels truly not leaving any student behind. I hold Frederiksen in high regard as a great place for students to learn and transition into well mannered, intelligent, down to earth adults. Great job and kudos to the City of Dublin. You have kept the down home tradition in the city of dublin balancing expansion with true quality. Cheers


Posted March 31, 2008

I am a parent of a first grader here. The school's parent community is thriving! I manages to succeed even though they serve the bulk of socio and economically disavantage students in the district. Teachers are caring and have years of experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

As a parent of a 1st grader at Fred, I believe this is an excellent school. They have great extra curricular activities for the kids that my daughter has loved attending this year. As a parent and a former student I recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Parents are very involved at this school. Principle is new this year. Last year we had two different people through the year.Some teachers are very good and some are only fair.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 28, 2006

Great, caring teachers. Fred has a very active Parent Faculty Club and strong sense of community. The activities offered enrich students lives and interests in many ways. The school is diverse, safe and caring. I have sent 3 children there and would highly recommend the vast majority of the teachers there as very good to outstanding. 5th grade teachers there are the cream of the crop! Facilities could use updating, However, it is on the agenda to be upgraded by the DUSD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

My children (2) have been at this school for going on 3 yrs. We are very happy with the school and teachers for the most part. They have a high API score in the high 800's, I beleive. They have good quality academic programs, that my children have benefited from. They have a P.E., and Fine Arts class every week. They can join band also. There are fun activities for families to participate in all school year long (Disco Bingo, family letter writing night, bedtime books, etc.). The level of parent involvement is high. They have a strong PFC (Parent Faculty Committee). A new principal has started this year. I've heard good things about her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Sad to see principal leave he did an awesome job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

Having been a 'Fred' parent since 1991, I've seen a lot of changes throughout the years in this school. We are in the process of getting a new principal (the previous one left for Sacramento Board of Education to help train new principals for California schools). The teaching staff are always exploring new and effective ways to help students achieve academic excellence and prepare for middle school. The parent/faculty club is credited devoted parent volunteers, teachers, and staff to insure that ensures we have music, art, sports and other extracurricular acitivities that bring families together. Moral character traits such as respecting and helping others is instilled in students as early as Kindergarten to help build a strong foundation to meet challenges in later grades. Overall, my children and I have enjoyed the supportive atmosphere fostered in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

After moving away to Sacramento, we realize how much we miss Frederiksen! All of the special activies are definitely missed!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

904

Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

904

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females82%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females84%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females81%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asian72%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females85%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)95%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females76%
Males67%
African American64%
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females81%
Males80%
African American73%
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females75%
Males78%
African American45%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females86%
Males85%
African American73%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students86%
Females82%
Males89%
African American73%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Hispanic 20%
Asian 16%
Black 9%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/AN/A
English language learners 14%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Holly Scroggins
Fax number
  • (925) 829-2562

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7243 Tamarack Drive
Dublin, CA 94568
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 828-1037

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Raymond
Dublin, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT