Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
East Nicolaus, CA
Students enrolled: 166
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is the best in the region. Current Title 1 Achievement Award winner. Single grade K-8 classrooms with average 15 students per class. A Full- time Special Education teacher. Home to school bus service provided in 3 New buses. Before school (7am) and After school (to 6pm) child care for commuters. A 3 and 4 year old preschool. First school in the district to have SmartBoards in every classroom (2 years ago!) A computerlab. ChromeBooks for almost every student. Professional Kitchen and salad bar serving fresh and healthy food. Indoor basketball gymnasium. A positive,supportive and forward thinking administration staff backing up hard working and committed teachers. Two field trips per class per year minimum. Dedicated parent and staff driven Parents Club generates thousands in annual donations going right back to the kids. Every teacher and every staff member knows every student. Major $1M remodel/renewal project 7 years ago with playground upgrades following that. Team sports include Football, Softball, Basketball, Volleyball. Award winning Choir and Band (including instruments) available to all students 4th-8th grade. We've had kids at Marcum for 9 years so far.

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 2

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
I would not recommend this school to any parent considering it strongly. If you want your child to grow up with integrity, you won't find it here. Most teachers at this school are there to collect a paycheck. There is also nepitism from administration to staff, so accountability is not relavant because it's who you know, not what you know. I agree with one of the reviews below about being from the town originally, but that does not matter either. This school is worried about warm bodies for the seats and gossip. They could care less about academics.


Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 2

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
I'm so glad I pulled my children out of this school. I know everyone says it has a wonderful small town atmosphere, but only if you are from that small town. Maybe 2 or 3 teachers are good, the rest I would not recommend. If you want your kids to be behind academically, then I would recommend this school.

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 03, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school with a wonderful small town atmosphere. All of the students are caring and strive to help each student achieve greatness. My students always feel safe, cared for, and challenged.

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
Great teachers, small town atmosphere, curriculum still includes music, art, P.E where most schools have eliminated them. Awesome interaction between students, parents and the school.


Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2008
- a parent
Awesome school best staff so much one on one teachers put the kids first!!!

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 19, 2008
- a parent
A small public school with the atmosphere of a private school. Great educating happening out here. Rate: 5 Stars

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2006
- a parent
Marcum is poised to have its students achieve great things. New facilities, new teachers, and a new principal all mean great new energy with a commitment to excellence. The Board is focused on individual achievement for every student. The school staff and community are supportive.


Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School
2452 El Centro Boulevard, East Nicolaus, CA  95659
(530) 656-2407
Last modified Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top