Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is the best in the region. Current Title 1 Achievement Award winner. Single grade K-8 classrooms with average 15 students per class. A Full- time Special Education teacher. Home to school bus service provided in 3 New buses. Before school (7am) and After school (to 6pm) child care for commuters. A 3 and 4 year old preschool. First school in the district to have SmartBoards in every classroom (2 years ago!) A computerlab. ChromeBooks for almost every student. Professional Kitchen and salad bar serving fresh and healthy food. Indoor basketball gymnasium. A positive,supportive and forward thinking administration staff backing up hard working and committed teachers. Two field trips per class per year minimum. Dedicated parent and staff driven Parents Club generates thousands in annual donations going right back to the kids. Every teacher and every staff member knows every student. Major $1M remodel/renewal project 7 years ago with playground upgrades following that. Team sports include Football, Softball, Basketball, Volleyball. Award winning Choir and Band (including instruments) available to all students 4th-8th grade. We've had kids at Marcum for 9 years so far.

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
My child is in the 7th grade and we have been extremely happy with the school. The teacher cares about our child and the after school program meets my needs by providing homework help and sporting activities.


Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 2

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
I would not recommend this school to any parent considering it strongly. If you want your child to grow up with integrity, you won't find it here. Most teachers at this school are there to collect a paycheck. There is also nepitism from administration to staff, so accountability is not relavant because it's who you know, not what you know. I agree with one of the reviews below about being from the town originally, but that does not matter either. This school is worried about warm bodies for the seats and gossip. They could care less about academics.

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 2

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
I'm so glad I pulled my children out of this school. I know everyone says it has a wonderful small town atmosphere, but only if you are from that small town. Maybe 2 or 3 teachers are good, the rest I would not recommend. If you want your kids to be behind academically, then I would recommend this school.

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 03, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school with a wonderful small town atmosphere. All of the students are caring and strive to help each student achieve greatness. My students always feel safe, cared for, and challenged.


Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
Great teachers, small town atmosphere, curriculum still includes music, art, P.E where most schools have eliminated them. Awesome interaction between students, parents and the school.

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2008
- a parent
Awesome school best staff so much one on one teachers put the kids first!!!

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 19, 2008
- a parent
A small public school with the atmosphere of a private school. Great educating happening out here. Rate: 5 Stars


Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2006
- a parent
Marcum is poised to have its students achieve great things. New facilities, new teachers, and a new principal all mean great new energy with a commitment to excellence. The Board is focused on individual achievement for every student. The school staff and community are supportive.

Nearby schools

Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School
2452 El Centro Boulevard, East Nicolaus, CA  95659-9748
(530) 656-2407
Last modified Marcum-Illinois Union Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top