Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School 1

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Lewis is an amazing 1st grade teacher very sweet, patient, and caring however the schools curriculum is horrible. My son came from RocketShip charter school in San Jose and has always been very advanced. They would give him a packet of homework for the week and often change their curriculum. At Aspire my 6 year old is not challenged at all. His given a journal to write two sentences for the last two months. He's lost interest in school and hates to go there. In addition, I was late to pick him up one day after school and i found my son alone on the lawn. The staff in the office had no idea he was there. It's been my experience that the school staff doesn't do there best to insure the kids safety.

Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
They dont have a strong connection with their students when it comes to respect and ethics as i have seen in other charters.


Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School 5

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
My kindergarten graduated knowing how to write and read. Now as a first grader, she has learned academics and social emotional. Great school which are not only worried about students attending college but also want students to be a successful community member.

Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Steve is a legend to all the kids coming and going. Thank you for giving yourself to our children!

Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Students must be prepared for college and need to be used to working hard throughout their lives.


Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School 5

Posted May 28, 2012
- a teacher
It is an honor to work at EPACS, and be part of changing the odds for our students, their families, and our community! EPACS is an inspiring place to be. Daily, our families and students amaze me, and our staff members encourage me to continue to better my practice. This is a phenomenal school, and I wish every student had the opportunity to attend a school like EPACS.

Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School 5

Posted January 31, 2012
- a teacher
Wow! I have never felt more blessed than I do working at EPACS. I am proud of the hard work my students and colleagues do every day. All of the teachers care deeply for our students. We will do what ever it takes to see them succeed. Our kids will be ready for college and equipped to come back to East Palo Alto to make a real change in their community. EPACS - where Every Person will Attend College Someday!

Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School 4

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
My son is brighter, retains school work very well and is a better student since he has been going to this school. Wonderful Teaching TEACHER's!!!!


Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a teacher
East Palo Alto Charter is a model school. It is helping at-risk students perform very well academically.

Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School
no rating

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has been at EPAC since 5 years. I know most of the teachers and I feel they are very dedicated to the kids.I have found the teachers at EPACS very approachable and willing to think outside the box. I really appriciate the 5th grade teachers.(They Rock!)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School
1286 Runnymede Street, East Palo Alto, CA  94303-1332
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (650) 614-9100
Last modified Aspire East Palo Alto Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top