Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Foothills Christian High School

Private | 9-12 | 237 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in El Cajon

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 14, 2011

I teach college science and have known some of the teachers at Foothills Christian High School for over 10 years When my sons were having academic struggles at public high school, I enrolled them in FCHS. I noticed immediately an improved attitude toward academics. My sons are also making better peer choices. Furthermore, I am noticing their public statement of faith. As a parent, I am able to see almost immediately when homework assignments are not completed through online grading that is easy to use. Betty Goodman is guidence councelor and a strong leader who challenges my sons. Chapel on Tuesday is good. It is hard to fully appreciate my older teens as they go through these difficult years. However, I notice they are developing critical thinking skills, synthetic abilities concerning world views, and interests that may lead them into careers. For improvement of my sons' attitude toward academics, I rate FCHS very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

The first bad review from a student is farther from the truth . This school fully prepared my kids for college and really grounded then with integrity and responsibility. They are also very strong in their faith and love for God because of the bibilical teaching their. As a parent I would highly recommend this highschool. Great sports program too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

As a current student at foothills i am not prepared for anything regarding college. This school is horrible. The school counselor doesn't even give you the classes you ask for. There isn't enough teachers to make the class schedule consistent. Last year as a junior i didn't have a first period and then i had to TA (teachers assistant) another period which made my day longer and also made it so i had two periods of wasting my time. The whole dress code is based on favorites. Some girls can wear whatever they want while the same day another girl is wearing a similar thing and she gets into trouble. From freshmen year to now my senior year i have probably seen ten teachers not even knowing how to teach the class they were hired to teach. The school is out of date and depressing. Cock roaches and various other bugs creep through the halls. Kids deface school property on a regular basis. If you are looking for a safe drug free environment for your kid don't even bother, because the kids that get kicked out of other schools for drugs and fighting all get accepted here. I was once told by the Vice principal that i don't love jesus because i had four tardies. Foothills School for Failure.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2010

My daughter loves this school so much and she lives her teachers. She is challenged while stlill keeping up her A grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

An amazing school. My daughter attends now. She loves this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

Foothills (formely Venture) is a school for students with discipline, its part time homeschool with Friday-Monday off. The teachers are okay, Mr Newkirk is a teacher that you would want to have, he pushes his students to succed and not to give up. His class is really hard and even though I failed it I would still want to take his class again. Parents also need to be on their kids about homework on their off days... The sports program has improved but the P.E curriculm is weak and lacks really physical activity and education. The School didn't really prepare me for college but it did help me socially as classrooms are culturly diverse. The school is extremley strict and religious, so make sure you are on the same page before attending. I suggest you take a day to be on campus druing an assembly before making the decison to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2007

As a former student and presently attending college I believe that the education and experience I received at Foothills Christian High more than prepared me for college. The teachers were open and supportive of any inquiries I ever had and I felt invited into the classroom discussions and their offices.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 12, 2007

I graduated from Venture Christian in '05! The school is great. The school leaders are amazing and truly care about the students. It is a great small school with a very healthy christian enviornment.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 26%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Black 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rev. thomas edelen
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2321 Dryden Road
El Cajon, CA 92020
Phone: (619) 303-8035

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Springall Academy
San Diego, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT