Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bostonia Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Overall, I'm happy to have my kids at this school. They are learning Spanish and that's more than I could have asked for.

Bostonia Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
We love this school, the program and the staff. My daughter is doing very well at the school. Our family is very grateful that we found BLA. My daughter loves reading and writing in Spanish as well as English. My son who is younger is very excited to be starting next year.


Bostonia Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
My daughter started kindergarten this year at Bostonia Language Academy and she is thriving. She is surrounded by caring educators and other families that value bilingualism and biliteracy. My daughter has progressed significantly in the Spanish language in a matter of months. She loves to read in Spanish and English at home now! My husband and I are thankful that we found Izela and BLA when we moved to San Diego this past year.

Bostonia Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Maestra de la Torre for your commitment to the students! My daughter loves going to school!

Bostonia Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
These teachers are Robots. Doing exactly as they are told to keep their job, nothing they say or do is upon their own thoughts or feelings. Its all programmed.


Bostonia Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
I would not know, its all on the computer, nothing is graded and there is no way to monitor your child's work.

Bostonia Elementary School 1

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
This school is repulsive. Since being "forced" to migrate to the Bostonia Language Academy, due to the district/superintendent thinking this was a good idea, even though all children at different schools in the East County had been adapting to their class mates and environment for the last 3 years. Never mind the Bostonia children and Teachers being displaced with NO notice. If this was not enough, they chose the absolute worst person to run, or should i say micromanage the school and teachers in every aspect. First, don't expect to EVER see graded homework. And you probably should take your child to have their vision checked after attending this school due to the enormous amount of time spent on the computers. If that is not enough, you may want to check your child's attendance record as that is more than likely being altered. Not sure how my children received perfect attendance when they clearly missed a week of school due to the flu. Do not expect to see smiles from anyone but the principal, who is probably smiling because she has successfully manipulated an entire district and remaining staff into believing she is so awesome. The whole program that originally began in 2012 was completely wiped out. Don't try to express a concern because you will have the whole school/staff talking behind your back. The motto there is, if you don't like it then door let the door hit you in the @$%$. Several teachers have resigned since the start of this in 2015 and several students have left the school Including my two children. One of which was successful in learning Spanish since K for 3 years. However this last year, there was nothing but regression and problem after problem, missing homework, constant complications, so as a result we had to abandon Spanish and move to an English only school. Oh ya, and get ready for your child to start to adapt to middle school because the principal has implemented 3 teachers for each student. Don't bother trying to communicate to your teacher there could be a week wait, or no response at all. Its redunkulous. Id give this school zero stars if I could. The whole program has become East County's set up to fail. Id steer clear from this mess, unless of course you don't care about your child's academics and future success.

Bostonia Elementary School 1

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
I recently went to an informational meeting about the school for new incoming students. The principal didn't seemed to concerned with answering parent concerns or questions about the school/program. Did not make me feel comfortable sending my kid there. We are looking for a new school


Bostonia Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
The leadership at this school is nonexistent from the principal to the office administration. They are very unorganized and inept in all phases of learning

Bostonia Elementary School 1

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
The dual language program is an absolute joke. Kids sit on computers all day long and when they don't understand something they are told to use Google translate. 6 teachers have resigned this year alone. The leadership is lacking and the overall dysfunction is a joke. The children don't even have a library with Spanish books. There is no direction at this school steer clear unless you want your child being instructed by a computer all day. The teachers are literally just watching the kids work on computers. Graded work is very rarely sent home so it's impossible to truly track progress.

Nearby schools

Bostonia Elementary School
1390 East Broadway, El Cajon, CA  92021-5812
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (619) 588-3121
Last modified Bostonia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top