Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emerald Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in El Cajon

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

The truth is I don't usually give anything the total score, but Emerald is one of the best schools I have ever taught at. If you like caring teachers and STEAM classes then this is the school for you. The teachers care about the students this includes clubs and tutoring. One of our graduates this year was actually voted El Cajon's student of the year. If you are the type of person that likes to work hard to get good grades this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2012

My daughter graduated from this school in 2011. We were a little concerned, because she was moving from a highly rated elementary school to this one. Alli-in-all, the experience wasn't so bad. She was able to make good friends, probably with people from backgrounds she might not have otherwise met. I agree with the previous reviewer that the school took a turn for the worse during the 2010-2011 school year when the in-your-face principle took over and changed many things in an attempt to remake Emerald into a STEM magnet school. My daughter also really missed the popular band teacher that was laid off, because band was about the only fun thing at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

I can only rate this in regards to Spec. Ed., but academically they are great and have good teachers and staff that help kids learn and progress further. In regards to Social interaction for those students in Spec. Ed. it really seems like the teachers try to keep students segregated not only by the location of their classes but also during lunch time and not keeping their student informed of social events so they can grow in that area as well. I understand that funding may be limited due to the current financial situation the district is in... but such separation is a bit much in my opinion. Kids will never learn to deal with various social situations if they never get to experience them at their age/level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

I am currently an eighth grader at EMS, and I am so find of my teachers that it will be difficult to graduate . All the other rumors about teachers not caring about our education is a lie. They are there before school and after school if any student needs assistance. They also have these really cool STEM programs and electives that I really enjoy. If any if my teachers happen to read this, I hope they recognize that this is only the truth. I love EMS!


Posted April 24, 2010

The teachers and faculty go the extra mile.After school they walk as far as the local park to keep order and check on the kids safety. They buy needed items for the classrooms from their own pockets to ensure that the children have the best possible learning tools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

emerlad is improving each year they have real nice computers and recsources for kids but it isnt a 'great' school. The library is only open on tuesdays and wendesay which is a real low, the books in the libray are old and outdated. The elective choices are horrible nothing special, band is probobly the most intersting. The only good things are that the teachers are great at teaching strict but good. There is almost no parent involvment though. No parents go to meet and eat. The pricipals dont seem to do anything we alwys see the assistant principal doing all the work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2009

i loved this skool the teachers wee great they were easy going and strict at the same time its like it made u want to do the work


Posted April 20, 2009

it is an awesome school full of teachers that are willing to cooperate with parent and students to reach any academic goal and gain success
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

E.M.S rocks.if you ever look for schools that need better teachers,emerald is definitely the place.The principles leadership is above and beyond and the student's really care about there education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

I am a student at EMS i'm in 7th grade and last yaer i hated coming to school there were constantly fights and the school was 'getto' this year is so much better we have computers and the school is upgraded in many ways another great things are the new teachers we r getting so mant amazing expireinces wer shouldn't be considered a crappy school any more because all of tthe subs that come to are school always come back be cause soposably we're respectful. =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2006

i am a student curently going to emerald. i am an 8th grader. currently our school is 'poor' we have been blowing our budget out of control. the teachers are okay. depending on what 'team' you get. i dont like this school but i love my friends. good people attend. its just how they can act.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

This is my son's second year at Emerald Middle School. The teacher's have been wonderful. The only thing I would change is that they don't have a very good selection of clubs or after school activities. I'm interested in my son being more involved but, the Homework club isn't exactly what I was thinking of. I would like to see some language clubs or a club where they perform community service (some kind of Philanthropic club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

I am not a parent, but I did go 2 Emerald. I think that the quality of academic programs r great, the activities like art,sports,music/band were fabulous. I myself was n band, & I n'joyed it. But the thing that I was concern about was the level of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2005

My son has attended Emerald Middle School for two years and is currently an 8th grader there. Emerald is considered to be something of an 'inner city' school and has a high minority population. I was concerned in the beginning that this would mean a poor quality education or dangerous learning environment due to it being located in an area known for gangs, but our experience there has been high quality and positive. The school offers some great after-school program opportunities and competitive sports. There is weight training and homework club, among others. There is a school business (EmCo) which most students participate in at some point and are proud of. Fights are almost unheard of. GATE classes are tough but the teachers are good. Regular classes don't have too much homework. My son started out shy but has made many friends and really blossomed at EMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

They have good teachers, but the office workers were a very unorganized my first time going there. They didn't unfold the shot record comepletely when they were copying, so that i could enroll my daughter in their school. I had to tkae it back . I had to take the shot record back three times and then the first day of school they called me that my daught was in the library and that she couldnt go into her classes until i brought her shot record. So i had to take it back a fourth time. It was worth the trouble though because the teachers are very good and some of the electives they have are fun and educational for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

We tried to contact the counselor several times, each time she was unavailable. We tried reaching the principal,teachers also unavailable. The homework hotline was always outdated. We tried talking with the teachers after school only to be told that they would not see us unless we made an appt. then they would conveniently forget we had an appt. We would never send any of our future children there ever.Please do not send your kids to this school. We transfered ours to the Santee Dist. We saw an improvement within 1 semester.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

I have never seen a school as bad as Emerald. We were consistantly blown off by faculty when we tried to get in touch with teachers,principal and counselors. This school needs to be reevaluated. Staff members just do not care about students. When we repeatedly contacted teachers they would not show up for scheduled meetings. This is the worst school in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2003

i'm not a parent, but a went to emerald middle school for three great years. When i had to leave for 9th grade i was sad because that school is so great and the teachers are excellent! If i had a problem i would openly go to the teachers!


Posted October 15, 2003

Yes, I still think you've got it all wrong. I, along with all of my friends attended Emerald, as I said previously. I could always talk to the teachers about homework, and even problems with friends. They were always there to advise me, and even better, they made me feel like I belonged. My eighth grade teachers were awesome. They made the subjects they taught come alive for me. I know the counselors there are amazing, because I also went to see them on numerous occasions. Also, I do NOT agree that all of the students and staff are out of control.


Posted September 27, 2003

I am a former student who is now in eigth grade. I believe that emerald middle school is an awesome school. I have made so many friends, as well as memories. Emeralds teacher are some of the best. They have great teaching methods, and in fact, I can't wait until I go back a visit many of my former teachers that are now my friends. I enjoyed going to Emerald sooo much, that I didn't want to leave. Now that i'm not attending Emerald anymore, I really miss the place. I don't understand why so many people put Emerald down, when it really is such an amazing school. I believe that I am truly blessed to have the experience of attending Emerald. It is a safe, school, with friendly teachers and staff. Thanks you Emerald for the memories!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

746

Change from
2012 to 2013

+20

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

746

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+20

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
81%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
34%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
46%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
13%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
82%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Females44%
Males38%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)34%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state22%

Math

All Students48%
Females47%
Males49%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students91%
Females91%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Females43%
Males37%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)29%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate43%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state7%

Math

All Students39%
Females36%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)30%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate33%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students42%
Females51%
Males32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)26%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females47%
Males37%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students15%
Females15%
Males14%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino14%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)12%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Non-economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability16%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only24%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate11%
Parent education - high school graduate13%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)10%
Parent education - college graduate23%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students44%
Females50%
Males39%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students46%
Females48%
Males45%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 26%
Hispanic 37% 52%
Black 8% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Fischer
Fax number
  • (619) 588-3225

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1221 South Emerald Avenue
El Cajon, CA 92020
Phone: (619) 588-3097

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eje Middle Academy
El Cajon, CA



Del Rey Schools
El Cajon, CA


Diego Valley Public
El Cajon, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT