Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hillsdale Middle School 1

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
Academically kids that are easily instructed should do fine. Don't expect anything beyond. If your child isn't doing well they will throw ZANGLE in your face and make it yours and the child's fault. Many parents I know have had this issue. The PE department is a horrible joke, your child will run laps, and not much more, in fact many kids just learn to loath PE. Ironic for a department supposed to be developing health for life mentalities. Shameful

Hillsdale Middle School 2

Posted January 12, 2014
- a community member
Don't listen to the other reviewers, this school has petty rules that only serve to make you realize they control you. It's full of elitists snobs and bigots the school only serves to crush your individuality. I went through horrible depression at this school like many others. Just because this school has high test scores doesn't mean you should send your kid here, have a little value for your child's psychological well being and realize that your child will get very similar grades at another school, and that most of it is based on YOUR child's intelligence and his/her willingness to learn. So in recap if you love herd mentality and hate your kid send them here.


Hillsdale Middle School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
We were an inter-district transfer from LMSVSD and I heard it was impossible to get into here but we did it and am so glad. This school is downright amazing. My daughter is in Honors level classes and loves all her teachers. She's also in Band and thinks very highly of Mr. Caldwell; he gets the kids motivated to practice and results are wonderful. The "zangle" system of checking student's grades 24/7 is great as is the communication from the school about upcoming events and other important info. I like how educated and caring the teachers are; they are dedicated and I truly feel that my daughter is getting an A+ education at this school. Keep up the great work, Hillsdale!

Hillsdale Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
This school is great. My daughter is a 7TH grader there and always comes home with a smile. All the teachers are really Nice except the music teacher Mr. Reed. She had some problems with him but there music program is great All students and kids are great and nice. Also very welcoming. Thete education is the best out of all schools so far. For hight school she will be going to Steele Canyon High School. Or Valhalla High School. This middle school is the best. She always has fum with the staff. She always tells me they are cool and have fun. School lunch is also very good as sge says it is. Enroll your child to HMS today.

Hillsdale Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2012
- a parent
Great experience so far. My son is now a 7th grader and getting ready to go to the Catalina Marine Institute w/the rest of the class. He is learining so much and in honors classes but is having fun while doing it and making great friends. The school is large but the kids and staff seem to be well connected. My husband and I are happy with HMS and our son is too.


Hillsdale Middle School 1

Posted June 17, 2012
- a community member
This school ruined my life. the only reason i got up in the morning and went was because i had to. do NOT send your children here..they will most likely come home crying everyday about how much they dislike the teachers, staff, other students, etc. They arent fair at all and dont use logic. they seriously need to learn how to run a school AND three principals..that makes total complete sense! so yea...this school is horrible. i cannot wait until high school!

Hillsdale Middle School 3

Posted January 25, 2012
- a community member
the vice principal and some office lady's are horrible ... other than that I suppose it's an ok school.

Hillsdale Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2011
- a community member
im in 8th grade now and i think this school is soo much fun im going on the east coast d.c trip soon and i cant wait there's no drama at all man love the teachers 2 there so nice!!if i would pick any middle school it would be hillsdale middle school


Hillsdale Middle School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hillsdale Middle School 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a student
iam a student currently at hillsdale i moved there last year i had some problems but other then that it has been a really good almost 3 years there way better then la mesa middle. if u r thinking about going to la mesa middle look at the reviews first there not that good i went there and i was being threaten and crap like that so i moved and me and my mom have been really happy there. the people in the office are amazing i love then all even Mrs.Wendy and Mr. humaka and Mrs, Conway. people don't like then and talk bad about them but they are doing there job. they let them have freedom and have more opportunities to do more stuff. like when we go on field trips we all and the skewl set a good example and we get asked to come back again.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillsdale Middle School
1301 Brabham Street, El Cajon, CA  92019
(619) 441-6156
Last modified Hillsdale Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillsdale Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top