Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
El Cajon, CA
Students enrolled: 448
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jamacha Elementary School 4

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
This is a good school regarding teaching your children. However, many of the office staff is "rude and impatient". I am not sure if this is triggered from stress in trying to maintain the school's reputation or what. Things are not always explained thoroughly by the office staff which sometimes causes friction. I have worked with many schools and have found this to be the worst in dealing with parents which causes much frustration. Some need to retire early or go to classes on better communication and customer service!

Jamacha Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
Most, not all, of the teachers here are super, a very caring and responsive group of professionals. There are some that should've retired years ago and are obviously tired of their jobs. That being said, the teachers who are great are REALLY great. Great parent groups and many extra curricular activities for your kids. Many second language kids and that gives a very international feel to the school. They used to have a fabulous ELL teacher, Mrs. Anderson, but I don't know where she went. She was so good with the kids and a pleasure to talk to, I always thought she should have her own class. We miss Mr. Serban. The new principal is kind of harsh.


Jamacha Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
great school, great teachers, and staff, unbelievably outstanding principal. This school offer excellent academic curriculum with paying attention to differences in learning abilities. It's mostly great for the special focus on the moral characteristics or the students, it seems that everyone is very nice, no bulling no judging, in the contrary the kids collaborate and help each other.....LOVE this school.

Jamacha Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
The quality of the teachers at Jamacha is above average, the support staff incredibly child centered, Ms. kathy, Ms Michelle, Ms Waterhouse, Ms Ramierez, all provide hundreds of children with an out pouring of love. Truly above average. Children are blessed to attend Jamacha.

Jamacha Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2011
- a parent
I am now a 5th grade parent that has seen my child through every grade here, I think the Teachers are great as well as the Principal and his team in Administration. I have been very active in the PTA, The parents who are not involved are always the ones to complain!. Get involved, meet some great people..your child will see the rewards! Thanks Jamacha for doing the best you can with the dollars you get!


Jamacha Elementary School 4

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
The school is great but I feel that students going into 5th grade should not have combo class because you need to get these kid ready to middle school.

Jamacha Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2007
- a parent
Jamacha provided both of my children with a solid educational foundation for middle and high school. My children were inspired and enriched by the many 'above and beyond' programs/community event that Jamacha supports. The parent involvement is amazing. The teachers are dedicated and know how to balance the high demands of the standards with fun. School has become much for 'serious' since we were young ... Jamacha is one of the few that continues to try and balance the scales. It is, by far, one of the best schools in the district and I am thankful my children were privileged to attend.

Jamacha Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2006
- a parent
Jamacha is a wonderful school! We moved to Jamacha from a San Diego City School and if anyone can think this is bad, they should spend a year or two there. The entire staff at Jamacha is dedicated to the needs of the children. There is now a terrific strive to begin a GATE program for the kids and wonderful new forward thinking teachers. I would not want my kids to go anywhere else for an education. Mrs. Nigro provides great art instruction and many of the other teachers use their special knowledge to move the kids in all directions. Great work and a great school!


Jamacha Elementary School 1

Posted September 02, 2006
- a parent
Jamacha looks good on paper only. There are no enrichment programs, no art or music in any of the grades. My older students (who came from another school) are board and unchallenged by the curriculum and there are no provisions to help them. My younger student is miserable. The pressure on her to perform precisely has hurt her desire to learn. It is all about rigid rules and strict discipline. And there is no playground for the older kids. All work and no play. What a disappointment.

Jamacha Elementary School 4

Posted July 09, 2005
- a teacher
This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, but our eighth grader needs accelerated learning opportunities which have not been available. Its outstanding music program dramatically deteriorated while my child was here, so that it is at best mediocre currently. The special advanced algebra class for 8th grade was cancelled just before he reached 8th grade. It has therefore given none of the advantages of a huge school, with all of the disadvantages. I can recommend it only in contrast to most of the other public schools in the district

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jamacha Elementary School
2962 Jamul Drive, El Cajon, CA  92019
(619) 441-6150
Last modified Jamacha Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jamacha Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top