Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Lady Of Grace School 2

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
Very disappointed in the math teachings at OLG. I don't feel the teachers have embraced common core, and lack the training to do so. You pay a lot in tuition but only have to hire a tutor for the student to learn math. Overall I feel OLG is a good school.

Our Lady Of Grace School 1

Posted August 23, 2010
- a parent
We were disappointed with the math curriculum. Even though my daughter had straight A's in math through the middle school grades (6 - 8), she didn't pass the test to take Honors Geometry this fall at a local public high school. Upon investigation, the curriculum in 6th grade matched the 5th Grade California Standards.
1 person found this helpful


Our Lady Of Grace School 5

Posted May 18, 2008
- a parent
Our children have attended OLG for nearly 5 years and the quality compared to other schools in the nearby area is excellent. Younger grades are nearly a full year ahead of the local public schools, 5 kids qualified to go to CA State Science Fair Finals. Families are asked to volunteer - 3 hours a month. This time not only helps keep costs down, but kids LOVE seeing their parent(s) involved. Discipline is more strict than public schools - since it is a priviledge to attend, not a right. There is a 'Peace Patrol' - a group of kids that assists/encourages kids to resolve issues, but serious issues are handled by administration. Tuition is comparable to other parochial schools and about 40% less than other private schools in East San Diego.

Our Lady Of Grace School 5

Posted May 17, 2008
- a parent
Compared to public schools in the Fletcher Hills and La Mesa area, the second and fourth grades are almost a year ahead in math, spelling, reading and handwriting (this is based on a side by side comparison with the neighbor's children and our nephews). Tuition is increasing 10% next year, due to less funds being raised this year. Since this school is private it does not receive any public funds - unless funds are raised or tuition increased the only option is to cut staff or salaries. The teachers and staff are very dedicated to the kids - we love it and feel blessed to be here. We volunteer a great deal, to make up for others who will not or are not able to (even though we both work full time). The kids are worth it. The teachers deserve it. It is our responsbility to make the effort.

Our Lady Of Grace School 4

Posted May 08, 2008
- a parent
The curriculum seems to be behind what a neighbor's child is doing in the same grade at the local public school. Discipline is very weak. Some of the children are very aggresive and resort to bully tactics. The principal appears to not want to anger the parents of those children. Perhaps because of declining enrollment? We are considering leaving at the end of the school year.


Our Lady Of Grace School 3

Posted April 18, 2008
- a parent
My only concern with this school is the intrusive manner in which they constantly ask for more and more money from the parents. Tuition raises every single year, and by alot. The constant demand for volunteer hours, money, and donations is extremely excessive.

Our Lady Of Grace School 5

Posted March 02, 2008
- a parent
Nothing short of incredible! It is an amazingly loving, safe place where children learn more than you could imagine. The academics are superior to LOTS of other schools (just look at the entrance acceptance rate for HS) but more importantly, the kids are taught manners, respect and behavior. The school is a well-rounded environment that encourages home, school and church working together to give the best possible for your child. It is a place that expects parents to be parents. If you are a concerned, loving parent who wants the best for their kids, this is the place for you. You child will be better for it.

Our Lady Of Grace School 2

Posted February 15, 2008
- a parent
The principal needs to go back to the classroom. The staff's moral seems low. Excessive rules.Everyone on staff looks over worked, especially the office workers.


Our Lady Of Grace School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
The school is very strong in the academic programs. There is very high level of parent involvement, it's a wonderful school. The Kindergarten and first grade teachers are incredible. My child is very happy here. We love everything about the school.

Our Lady Of Grace School
no rating

Posted July 10, 2007
- a parent
Math instruction was not up to par. I was lucky enough to have children who are capable of studying independantly because our last year's teachers were not productive whatsoever. The principal should consider returning to teaching rather than administrating. High moral standards are expected and discipline is enforced much better than at the public level.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Grace School
2766 Navajo Road, El Cajon, CA  92020
(619) 466-0055
Last modified Our Lady Of Grace School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Our Lady Of Grace School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top