Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
El Cerrito, CA
Students enrolled: 211
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. John The Baptist 4

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
Good and caring teachers. Committed to a nurturing, but discipline environment for our children. I feel that there's a lot of preferential status to some other parents and children from both the teachers and the principal. But overall love the community feel of the school and satisfied with the academics so far.

St. John The Baptist 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
St John's is, at heart, a great place for children to learn. The class sizes are small, parent involvement is high, and they have some great teachers that are committed to teaching kids in new and innovative ways. As a K-8th grade school, the advantages to having your child grow up with the same group of kids and essentially the same staff (turnover in teaching positions is very low) outweigh the disadvantages.


St. John The Baptist 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
St. John the Baptist School is a K-8 Catholic school in an urban area. The student population is small and diverse. I really like the characteristics. The school does a great job in integrating technology and focusing heavily on math and science, primarily in the junior high grades. The students have opportunities to meet friends across the grade levels during school events such as Family Day and get to form close friendships with their peers due to one class per grade. One very exciting change of the physical plant coming this summer will be the modernization of the school library which will include a smaller computer lab and conference room. My husband and I are very pleased with the education our daughter has received for almost four years. We are also parishioners at the neighboring church and love the school-church connection and community.

St. John The Baptist 3

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
SJB - El Cerrito, CA. Academically, so far so good. The teachers will challenge a student's learning ability. There is too much clique going on and favoritism w/ certain parents & principal. Teachers don't always want to be accountable, which transfers to students not being accountable. Little connection between school & church; at least 2 of the teaching staff are bullies, and not open to changing.

St. John The Baptist 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
I couldn't be happier with this school. The teachers are great and there is a great community of involved parents, which I think is key to a child's success.


St. John The Baptist 1

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. John The Baptist 5

Posted September 12, 2008
- a parent
excellent school. cant think of any other word to describe how we love st. johns

St. John The Baptist 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
St John is a great school. The teachers are loving, the kids are great and the parents are supportive


St. John The Baptist 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

St. John The Baptist 5

Posted February 21, 2007
- a parent
St. Johns is a great place for kids to learn and grow. The teachers are caring, the staff works together to make a strong learning environment and they really take the time to help the kids achieve their academic goals. My daughter really looks forward to going each day. I like that there is a focus on family participation -- it helps to build a good community.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John The Baptist
11156 San Pablo Avenue, El Cerrito, CA  94530
(510) 234-2244
Last modified St. John The Baptist is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. John The Baptist Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top