Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
145 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Celebrating 60 years of Developing Minds, Nurturing Hearts, and Growing Together. Come visit our school to see what makes it a gem in the El Cerrito Community. stjeromecatholicschool.org
December 09, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
I appreciate the ways my kids have learned to work things out with other students. There is a huge emphasis on community.

St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
I have been impressed with the work habits my kids are developing. Especially my middle schooler, who is learning to use technology tools to work hard and keep trying. She revises and improves her work WAY more than I ever did in 6th grade!


St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
I'm surprised by some of the comments here. I'm a parent at St. Jerome, and the school is great. Great teachers, really awesome students. My 3rd grader loves the STEAM stuff she gets to do (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math) and my 6th grader gets to be part of the middle school program -- leadership opportunities, working with other kids, etc. They have gone on multiple field trips -- most recently to the Hornet Museum in Alameda. I work in the education field, and I know what makes teachers and classrooms engaging -- and St. Jerome has it. Yes, it's small -- which also has it's benefits! If you live in the area, you owe it to your family to visit and learn more. -- will always love St. Jerome!

St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School 2

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Attended their Taste of Kindergarten event and wasn't impressed. The teacher seemed confused and relied on the Assistant to explain the curriculum and how the day was arranged to the parents. This made us wonder who was in charge of the classroom. There was a lot of confusion, and walking around we noticed there were a lot of empty classes--one grade only had about five children in it. Something is off about this school.

St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 09, 2015
- a school leader
Celebrating 60 years of Developing Minds, Nurturing Hearts, and Growing Together. Come visit our school to see what makes it a gem in the El Cerrito Community. stjeromecatholicschool.org


St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School 2

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
This school has no enrichment activities, very few working computers and no field trips. The class size is too small to promote social interaction between the students.

St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
This depends on what you define as grit. Bullying might be a better term, in which case, yes that does develop at this school.

St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
This school pits genders against one another and often displays favoritism toward certain students whle leaving others unsupported.


St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
While this school used to produce children who were well educated, honest and well mannered this isn't necessarily the case today. The administration fails to model this behavior and so the children fail to learn it.

St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
Some of the older teachers are very good, many of the new one's are too young, not properly educated and do not know how to properly interact with children,

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School
320 San Carlos Avenue, El Cerrito, CA  94530
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (510) 525-9484
Last modified St. Jerome Catholic Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top