Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jackson Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in El Dorado Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $404,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,450.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

Jackson has the most amazing teachers that put all there effort and talents into taking care of our children to make sure they have the finest education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2010

Jackson Elementary is a strong balance of great Leadership, teachers who are invested in successful academic performance outcomes, and their enthusiasm for teaching is demonstrated on a daily basis. The prinicpal is invested in knowing each student beginning at the Kindergarten level. She is always striving to incorporate new programs to stimulate children's love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

Jackson is an awesome school. My children have had very positive experiences both academically and socially. The teachers are top notch and the principal is highly involved. The yard duties, computer teachers, teachers aides, librarian and custodial staff must be commended as well. Parents are encouraged to be involved, and the volunteer efforts are incredible. This school runs like a well oiled machine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

Both my boys go to this school, I am very happy with it. The teachers are great. The onsite extented daycare is great for both working parents. We don't need to spend much time on their studying at home. They both meet most of their grade level requirements at 2nd trimester. They get extra assignments to keep them challenged. The reading contest every year helps to improve their reading greatly. Both start to read chapter book at 1st grade. My older son had been to a private kindergarden and first grade (2 month) in a Folsom school before we moved to El dorado hills, I can see the hugh differences in teacher quality and experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

Excellent teachers, principal, and daycare center, a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

Disappointed! All I have to say is we switched schools. Hit or miss on the teachers, and they really study to the testing, that's probably why they do well. There are some really great teachers, but no good leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2006

I give Jackson Elementary 5 stars. My son loves it at Jackson. As parents, we are blown away by the parent involvement. Community is what you make it. Involved parents and good leadership makes this school a winner. My only comments are as follows. The school needs to communicate with parents using new tools like email and web site to become more efficient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

The school clearly is high quality. Our girls' kindergarten teacher is the best balance of academics and being nurturing/encouraging to the kids. I'm impressed with the level of learning and how the rest of the kids bring up the overall academic performance of the cassroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

We just found out that jackson made the top 2% in the whole of the state of california for the state testing. Go jackson jaguars. We are the most fantastic, educated and fun school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Great school with great parent involvment. High academic performance, with carring teachers. Most students carry not only a full load academically, but also a full load of after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

We love Jackson school. It is a large school, but it has an intimate feel. So far our girls have had exceptional teachers, parent involvement is very high and it has a warm and friendly environment. The principal is high energy and very involved with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

Unfortunately my review of the leadership is lacking at best. The current principal only acts on the best interest of a child if she has a relationship with the parent. She does not act of the best interest of the child and would recomment you purchase a house outside this elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

Parental involvement is high, and that's great, but those of us who can't volunteer as much as we'd like are condemned. Parental competition over who sacrifices the most for the school undermines Jackson's culture. It should be needless to say that volunteering should be voluntary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

In reference to the last critical posting, you should know that yo-yo demonstrations and bicycle tricks are just two rather inexpensive mind building experiences. Remember this is elementary school and children should receive a variety of stimuli.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

Some teachers are good. But you have to be very lucky or know the principal really well to get into a good class. I do commend them for changing the secretarial staff but they still yell at the kids and don't always seem willing to help a parent. Also Jackson seems to enjoy having lots of unnecessary assemblies. I'd like to see my children receive more class instruction not watch bicyle tricks and yo-yo demonstrations. I was a teacher for 10 years before I had my children and I would never dream of teaching here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

I absolutely love Jackson. I feel very fortunate that my children attend this school. The parent involvement is overwhelming. The staff is well rounded and care very much about their students, both academically and emotionally. The principal is very visible and accessible. Michele Miller deserves the highest praise for how much she cares about her students and the happiness of her staff. I have nothing but positive things to say about our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2004

This is a great school. The test scores have always been the top in the county. The teachers are the best and the children come from well educated wonderful families. The principal has done a fantastic job of offering a superb program dispite budget cuts. The overall atmosphere of Jackson exudes happiness, contentment, and high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

We are 4-year parents at Jackson. Each of the four teachers that our daughters have had, have all been excellent in every aspect. We feel very blessed that they have all made time for us when needed, and have always spent the extra time, whether before or after school with our daughter. The Extended Day program is very valuable to us. Ms. Sue and Ms. Barbara are great with the kids! Our kids love the computer lab and love to spend time learing in the Jackson Garden. They love doing the Tony Crane dance recitals, and singing performances. Parent involvement seems to be very high at Jackson, which makes the learning experience much better for the kids, and helps the teachers get more done. Every child progresses at a rate that they are capable of, and our teachers have always been accommodating to it. Principal Miller is very visible and very involved. I'm totally confused by the first two parent comments, because it certainly doesn't describe the 4 year experience that we have had at Jackson. We love Jackson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

Both my children received an excellent education while attending Jackson. Their attitudes toward learning grew in each successive year.The teachers all took the time needed to help each with their own areas of needed improvement and the the whole staff makes you feel that you are a part of the Jackson Family! I do have to mention that after reading some of the negative comments written that none of that was true for our family. Both my husband and I agree that communication was excellent and I never had more than a day go by without a call back from the principal or teacher. I liken this website to be similar to the anonymous comments I've read on other sites for hotels or cars in that some people just seem to like to vent and will slander a business if things don't 'go their way.' And I have to wonder sometimes what in the world these people were thinking, as I stayed in the same hotel and thought the service was excellent when they did nothing but complain. I suggest going to Jackson and seeing for yourself what a top notch school this is and form YOUR OWN OPINION!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

I am impressed with Jackson Elementary. My children came from a private school in the Bay Area, and my fear was that they would be bored with a public school. The opposite has been true.I feel Jackson teachers are excellent, caring, and truly give 110% to their students. My kids have grown so much academically in the three years they've been attending. I am very pleased with the education they're getting. The principal has been very hands-on and caring, and truly approachable. I am grateful for her leadership and involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

924

Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

924

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females78%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females88%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females76%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females87%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females93%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students95%
Females97%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females87%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females83%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students92%
Females90%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Hispanic 15%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Black 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/AN/A
English language learners 1%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2561 Francisco Drive
El Dorado Hills, CA 95762
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 933-1828

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lakeview Elementary School
El Dorado Hills, CA


Lake Forest Elementary School
El Dorado Hills, CA


Moreau Academy
El Dorado Hills, CA


Silva Valley Elementary School
El Dorado Hills, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT