Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles T. Kranz Intermediate School

Public | 7-8 | 864 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

i remember Kranz as if it was yesterday. i attended kranz from 09 to 2011. i finshed both years with great grades. i really miss kranz the teachers my old friends everyone. most the teachers are very helpful and kranz has some pretty cool classes. like woodshop robotics and many more. it was not a bad school at all. most say its ghetto and all but they woulda loved it. mr.shonbourn was the greatest ever if you went to kranz you would know. best teachers were ms.osbourn ms.shum mr.otters. mr.beadle.mr.mccallister mr.cornell. and alot more.and like everyone says kranz band was the best. i was never part of it but they always won like top 3 in parades all over the place. them unis were pretty snazy too haha. my sister was a band member she still has photos and medals and awards from he old days at kranz. i miss kranz so so much i wish i can relive my days their. wayyyyy better than madrid . dont send your kids to madrid. kranz is way better. better teachers, classes, activities. your kids will love it. i miss seing all the homies and all the badies lol.well your young you think their all hot cause the hormones haha. ONCE A COUGAR ALWAYS A COUGAR!!!!!!! i loved represnting the blue


Posted August 22, 2013

Kranz has been a great school for my children the teachers and staff they are always ready to help and support educational achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

wow.kranz this is my frist year here and i am already soo attached to it.i will be so deppressed when i leave but i will always love this school.the best teacher i know right now is mr.bynum our band director but sadly our only one so HELP US STOP BUDGET CUTS sadly some of our teachers are leavingbut gladly not mr.bynum well thats all i have to say for now I LOVE YOU KRANZ INT. SCHOOL :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2010

One of the best teachers is Mrs. Dinicn. she is nice and full of life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

kranz int. school is a great school to send your kids there it has amazing programs such as top sail psp avid and an incredible marchging band that wins sweepstakes awards at over 25 parades each year with great leaders and an awesome staff that helps students at all times and have a good vision on life i sent my student here and he joined psp and reseves money each year till he's out of school to go to college choose this school instead of madrid middle school it the worst school possibly made trust me there just there to get paid
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Kranz has teachers and support staff that truly care about our students and their academic success .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

kranz.Wow this will be my last year attending here.So many up and downs here at this school.but there was always one person who kept me going and that would be Mr.Beadle.he gave me great advice and gave me books to read.I thank him to the fullest.It will be his last here too at kranz sadly he wants to retire.But hey a lot of people out there thank him.Just because he was a oppurtunity room teacher didnt mean he couldnt help others.He always tried to be there for every student to bring their spirit up and We all thank him for that.He told me there will be challenges in life but that i can do it because he believes in me.Right there i told myself in those books he gave me people been through a lot so i told myself why am i complaining?Just keep your head up high and be strong.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2009

This school is great and my teachers who happen to be avid teachers are great and the staff i know that i will never regret coming to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2009

Kranz was were i grew up i love Kranz especially the teachers like the band teacher Mr.Bynum his a great teacher he made me realize that i can do any thing that i set my mind to
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

This is a great school and for the person that said they regretted sending their child to Kranz, they need to think about their involvement in their child's life. Without parent support, the students cannot succeed anywhere. Kranz has a great staff and lots of activities to keep the kids busy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I think Kranz was a good school. They had a great staff when I was there. I admire Mr. Yurkas, he tried everything to dicipline his students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2008

I regreat sending my son to this school!! office staff? Desater! no reliable person in there!... teachers!! poor, poor education in general, poor dedication! Principal? Like in any organization if there is not a solid strong leader there is nothing! in this case, there is nothing. Very sad for all the kids that are on the hands of such inconpetent and irresponsible people!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

Kranz Intermediate is by far, the best school I have ever attended, and trust me, I've attended many. the former principal, Mrs. Bias has just retired this year, but has done many great things with the community. They have an OUTSTANDING marching band, which I used to be a part of. The band director, Mr.Bynum knows what he's doing and what he's done has brought attention to the school. they have won tonss of trophies and awards from various parades. Ones from this year [2006-2007] include trips/parades to San Juan capstan, south gate, la Palma, and so much more. Also, I agree with the other reviews, the extracurricular is extraordinary. The school is a NASA explorer school, and it holds events such as NASA Night, which provides hands on activities for both parents&students. Kranz Int. was and IS the right school for everyone. KCB for lifee!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 21, 2007

The school has the best leader in the school district. She tries her best to run the school well and supports her staff. Making sure everyone is functional and responsible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

Kranz has the best drill team and marching band ever. Mr.Byunm is an outstanding band director. The drill team girls also work extremely hard to win first place. They also have a wonderful sports program. and wonder ful teachers like Mr.Haile, Mrs.LeGaspe and Mr.Tucker.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2006

The staff and programs at Kranz are simpley outstanding. With an award winning band, drill team, and tall falgs along with award winning programs for art and woodshop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

I think Kranz offers a wide variety of extra-curricular activities. They have a scholarship program that has provided my daughter with more than 7500 dollars. She has been able to enhance her view of the world to better her chances to get into a good college. The school also has an award winning music/band program, outstanding sports, and a sailing club. Great teachers and teacher's aides. I am overall highly satisfied about the education offered at the school. Thank You.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

I don't recommened this school it's performance is in need of alot of intervention. State should take over
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2004

This is the best school the city of El Monte could provide for the children of the community that teaches dicipline. My son goes to Kranz and loves it and thanks to Ms. Comer, Mr. Stanton, and Mr. Yurkas. Thanks to the staff of Kranz Intermediate School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2003

My child and I think that Kranz middle school is really great because they are safe people who take care of the kids. The teachers really know how to teach kids. For us Kranz has is the best middle school around.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

746

Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

746

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
73%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
77%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
39%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
28%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students73%
Females67%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females53%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant education42%
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

Math

All Students38%
Females36%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant education44%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students66%
Females59%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females42%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant education59%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students36%
Females37%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant education35%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

Geometry

All Students41%
Females55%
Males27%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students20%
Females16%
Males23%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino19%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability22%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only31%
Migrant education37%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate21%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)24%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state23%

Science

All Students37%
Females30%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant education45%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 95%
Asian 4%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
English language learners 46%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Raymond Andry
Fax number
  • (626) 652-4215

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12460 Fineview Street
El Monte, CA 91732
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 652-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Epiphany Catholic
South El Monte, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT