Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
El Monte, CA
Students enrolled: 897
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 4

Posted August 06, 2014
- a community member
Its a pretty good school. I don't like the "hands off policy", but its OK. I'm a very smart student and the school... it isn't challenging at all... Which is kinda good since that means less work for me :). Miss Tanaka is a nice principal that is actually more leniant than most of the staff. I like that she doesn't stress us so much to be... I don't know... Perfect? I also don't like that we have to wear name tags! Ugh! They say its for "emergencies", like if they don't know our name? Well then they could ask someone and be like, "what's this kids name?" And problem solved! Unless like that kid has no friends and no one knows them... I font like the uniform but I'm pretty sure the staff has no authority over that and it won't change... Whatever... The campus is in well condition. Most of the teachers are nice. Pretty good, pretty good.

Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 1

Posted October 01, 2013
- a community member
Well the school is great. I just don't like that they are enforcing PDA. What's the whole point of having a relationship without hugging or kissing someone?


Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 4

Posted October 01, 2013
- a teacher
This school is a reflection of the administration, district office, its teachers, and the parents. I am proud to work at this school. Teachers have weekly department meetings to plan and discuss student achievement. We teach the whole child here - P.E., Music/Band, Art, Woodshop, and Video. In addition to the other duties they have, administration is active around campus and connects with and cares about the students. The district office has a well-managed budget which allows our school to have an up-to-date computer lab and computer classes, nice textbooks, and high-quality cafeteria food with a salad bar. We also have a great after-school program. Parents are attending PIQE training this year (as well as last year). There is always room for improvement, but I have seen many good things happening on this campus.

Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 4

Posted July 02, 2012
- a community member
This school was amazing! <33 I love Ms Grebel, best teacher ever. It had its faults; yet there were several different ways to challenge yourself in different fields, there were rewards for the students who gave all of their effort. And Ismael, the one with "bad grammar" is 1 student out of thousands. He tries his best, got good grades and had an amazing voice. This school was the best xx

Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 1

Posted June 17, 2012
- a parent
Madrid Middle School has a long way to go... This school does not include the special education population of students in it's year end activities for each class because, and I quote Ms. Tenaka (principle) thay are not part of Madrid's finest. Children in special education are undeserved and denied FAPE as well as their rights under IDEA and Section 504. The last post from an 8th grade student, although from their heart, is an example (grammatical errors) of the poor education at Madrid. We need to be real on what is really going on in ours schools.


Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 5

Posted June 16, 2012
- a community member
i went to this school all 3 years this school tought me alot i made bad choices in 6 grade then matured in 7 and by the time i was in 8 grade i was in leadership and i was ms syftestad which is our chior teachers favorite student she toaught me how not to get stage fright and toaught me step by step the qualities of being a great singer then for promotion i sang and acually made the some of the board of education, Ms Tanaka our principle, and some parents and students cry. i just want to say madrid middle school was the best school i have ever attended. now im off to el monte high school. where i got into the senior mens chior im the only freshmen and the rest are seniors and jr's. well i think ive said enough so im ganna end here but befor i go i just want to thank the 2 of the most best teachers in the whole wide world Ms.Grebel(mija) and Ms. Syftestad(meje) for teaching me and pushing me to do better and for spoiling me ms grebel if your reading this i just want to say i love you with all my heart and also me and luke need to do our training/and ms Syftestad i just want to say thank you meje for teaching me everything and i love you/ 6/15/2012 class of 2012 ismael rivas

Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a community member
I went to school from 2000-2002 I am lookign for the year book if anybody has it or know how I can get it please e-mail me. Am looking for a childhood friend her name is blanca but I can't remember her last name. She is white, chubby, and has frekels if any body can help me with her full name that will be help full.

Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 5

Posted December 20, 2010
- a community member
I am a student in my last year at Madrid, so maybe I'm a little biased, but personally, I love Madrid. This school has a really bad reputation, though for what I'm not sure. There will be bad kids, teachers, and situations wherever you go. It's what you make of it that matters. During my years at Madrid, I have gotten involved in as many programs as I could, and I have made sure not to get involved with the wrong groups or kids. As a result, I have made wonderful friends, have had amazing teachers who really care about me and my success, have had fantastic experiences, and will take away many great memories from Madrid. Hopefully this school will lose it's bad reputation really soon, and be seen for what it really is: a great school.


Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 5

Posted March 05, 2010
- a student
i believe that this school should have gotten better computers when it was built and kept changing but either way its a good school!!!!!!!!!!!!

Alfred S. Madrid Middle School 5

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alfred S. Madrid Middle School
3300 Gilman Road, El Monte, CA  91732
(626) 652-4300
Last modified Alfred S. Madrid Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alfred S. Madrid Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top