Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
El Segundo, CA
Students enrolled: 783
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


El Segundo Middle School 1

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
This school takes no a action against bullying. The claim to have a zero tolerance policy, but this in my opinion has yet to be seen as my child is continuously bullied by Payton slatkin and here sister.

El Segundo Middle School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
We are not from El Segundo and my daughter just finished 6th grade at ESMS. She had a wonderful and challenging school year. The teachers were great and she learned a great deal, especially how to study and care for her work. We are looking forward to our future years there.


El Segundo Middle School 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
We have lived in ES for 13 years and the quality of the education and staff support/involvement is amazing. My daughter is in 8th grade and has many needs that require extra effort and patience from the staff. They have all been consistently supportive and caring and they genuinely care.

El Segundo Middle School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a community member
i go to this school right now i an in eighth grade and i love it except for the fact at some of the teachers don't know what they are doing but the other rock we love you Ms. DeLong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

El Segundo Middle School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
'We have 1 currently attending Richmond Elementary school. It is a small town community with wonderful caring parents and fantastic teachers and staff The quality of the instruction has been great for our Son He is challenged and pushed to do his best consistently. Parent groups like the PTA and ED Foundation do an amazing job of fundraising and building a sense of strength in our community.. It is a wonderful place for our son to spend his day and I am pleased to be part of such a great town and school .'


El Segundo Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 23, 2009
- a parent
Amazing school with great staff and students

El Segundo Middle School 4

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
Sophisticated, El Segundo is not, but what makes it great is the 'lack' of sophistication. The town, and I do mean town, is what makes it great. It's Mayberry in 2009. You can let your kids walk to school, the park, down to Main St. (yes, there is a 'main' street) and feel they are safe. The vibe may seem unfriendly to outsiders, but I found that it's well worth it for the great schools. I have not heard of any discrimination among the kids - racial or because they are 'permit kids'. IF there IS any discrimination, it's seems to be among the adults. My overall rating is very good - ESMS is giving my children the best public education I can find for them in the area. I highly recommend the entire school district.

El Segundo Middle School 5

Posted January 30, 2009
- a community member
I went to this school. Although the town atmosphere is unfriendly and somewhat unsophisticated; the education I received was outstanding. Even lazy, average, or unmotivated students will come out ahead after going to ESMS. The only drawback is that you will go through life thinking everyone is stupid, until you realize they just didn't get the same quality of education.


El Segundo Middle School 5

Posted August 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

El Segundo Middle School 2

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended this school in 2006-2007 school year. She came from Washington State Montessori school. I didn't like the fact that she was required to learn what her current grade level was learning if she already knew it. When her father had a conference with the Principal and teacher, their only solution was to have her take a test to be placed in a higher grade level. That was not the answer I wanted. I didn't like the structure of her having to learn something she already knew and there were no options for an advanced class. The teacher's next suggestion was to have her be a student assistant. Which still was not resolving the problem of her excelling at learning more. Very disappointed.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

El Segundo Middle School
332 Center Street, El Segundo, CA  90245
(310) 615-2690
Last modified El Segundo Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
El Segundo Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top