Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Murphy Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
Love the kindergarden teachers! We had an amazing year and we are looking foward to the upcoming school years.... GO MURPHY TIGERS! ! !

Murphy Elementary School 3

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
I really dislike having to write this review but these issues need to be brought out into the light. First off, the police presence that was mentioned by another parent is real. They pick on parents who are already stressed out with this annoying crowded lot and broken parking system. The police have traps for those who do not heed the posted rules. The Principal is very elusive, as mentioned before. Problems at this school are not severe, to my knowledge, but are a plenty. Teachers do not get there classes out on time for lunch and at the end of the day. There are problems with the bathrooms not functioning properly etc. A certain 3rd grade teacher, no names involved because that's just unfair, needs to reinvent herself as a teacher! She is lazy, uncaring, and probably does not even care about her job as a teacher. This individual does not tackle issues that arise and are brought to her attention. She does not even watch her class during the weekly P.E. period. The kids are not getting homework and possibly not learning much in class all at the expense of her missing so much school and her own personal agenda.


Murphy Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
A very good school . We are very happy with all that this school has to offer. thank you for being here for us.

Murphy Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Murphy is an outstanding school . The environment is positive and safe for students . The teachers are welcoming.

Murphy Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
Murphy is a great school my older daughter is there and my younger about to start K principal and staff are friendly and support a parent went need it I love Murphy!!


Murphy Elementary School 1

Posted January 04, 2013
- a community member
Horrible school!!!! Cops are constantly at the school every when ou drive up. Extremely poor leadership. The principal has no interest in anything that goes on. She has the yard supervisor, the ELD helper (who almost never does her job), and anyone else available do her job. Frequently, when you ask to speak with her, she's "unavailable". When there are walk-throughs, the administration uses her best staff to impress the district. After that, she will never step foot in the classroom again. I've noticed that select teachers and staff are supported, the rest have to make it on their own. Students and teachers do what they want while the principal allows situations to escalate to an unbearable level. Front office secretary is rude to everyone, parents, children, faculty. Don't send your child to this school!

Murphy Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
A very good school . my whole family likes the school and the staff. thank you for being here for us.

Murphy Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
We just recently moved here and my son attends this school. We are very happy with all that this school has to offer.


Murphy Elementary School 4

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
Murphy is an outstanding school that has advanced over the years. The environment is positive and safe for students and parents. The teachers are welcoming. Parent participation is encouraged. The evening extracurricular events are amazing (Night of Stars, Founders Day Black History Celebration, Dr. Seuss, and Kindergarten Holiday Play). I am so pleased that my children are apart of this school.

Murphy Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 26, 2008
- a teacher
Murphy Elementary is a great place for students to learn. We have hardworking students and hardly any discipline issues. Speaking from my own experience as a former upper grade teacher and now as a lower grade teacher at this school, most of my students at both levels have been very motivated and eager to learn. Most parents are very supportive and encouraging to me. I'm happy to be a part of this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Murphy Elementary School
4350 Valley View Road, El Sobrante, CA  94803-1499
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (510) 231-1427
Last modified Murphy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top