Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Olinda Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
This is my 8th year at Olinda. I can't even start thanking all the great teachers and staff we have at this great school. My son graduated and now my daughter is in 4th grade. We will always miss all the great teachers who retired and gave our children their best. Ms. Heckman, Ms. Price, Mr. Kresch and the great Mr. Ryder. You are and will be missed. The teachers who moved on to be great leaders in other schools, Ms. Velez and Ms. Heydary. Thank you for all you did for our children! We'll miss you but we will be seeing you soon we hope. Our big welcome to our new teachers, we hope we can create a great relationship like we had with our former teachers! Welcome to the Olinda Family...

Olinda Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
Both my children attended Olinda Elementary school. At the time, I had many concerns, complaints, etc. But now they are both college students at an Ivy League college. Looking back, I see it was a wonderful school! The only thing missing were some trees to provide shade during lunch and breaks.


Olinda Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
We are new to the school this year with a child in kindergarten and first grade. Our children love their teachers! Although it is early in the year we are happy so far with the teachers. Our concerns include: lack of arts and music; way too much homework (12 pages in one week); and lack of inclusiveness for diverse families. When we approached the teacher regarding inclusiveness she was receptive and immediately made some changes. There is a very active welcoming parent community. We are happy to have a quality school within walking distance.

Olinda Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
After years of rumors surrounding a possible closure, Olinda has achieved "Distinguished School" status, which confirms what so many Olinda families have known all along; we have an amazing community that provides an excellent environment for students to start out their educational journey.

Olinda Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Olinda Elementary is a good school. My son is in the 1st grate. His new teacher is well organized and caring. The after school program is improving. There are art, music, dance, science and chess for his grade and the fees are reasonalbe---thanks for the parents' involvment.


Olinda Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
My child was in Mrs. Barrios' transitional kindergarten class and she was the very best teacher any of my children had!! She really is a loving concerned teacher. Olinda is very lucky to have her. The principal loves the children and does not let the parents push her around. Thank you Olinda for taking care of our children!

Olinda Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school with great teachers. We moved in the area when my daughter was in 2nd grade and now she is finishing her 4th grade. During these 3 years, Olinda exceeds my expectations in all areas. Teachers care about their students and students love coming to the class everyday. We are hoping that it will continue to be the exceptional school that it is and always will be. Thanks so much to Mrs. Velez, Mr. Royce, and Mrs. Haydari

Olinda Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
Olinda Elementary is a gem in the school district. Thanks to the City of Richmond who had the foresight and commitment to keep such a great institution open, Olinda is around to be recognized as a Ca. Distinguished school this year (and I bet for many years to come). My daughter has had many amazing teachers - not all the time, but enough to make a difference. The new principal seems very experienced and focused, and I'm excited to see how well the school would do under her leadership.


Olinda Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2012
- a parent
Olinda is a 2012 California Distinguished. The community involvement, parent participation, great leadership, and outstanding teachers ensure an outstanding education for our children. Congratulations to all!

Olinda Elementary School 4

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
Great school my son goes there and he is happy, teacher are great and parents envolment in school is also grat

Nearby schools

Olinda Elementary School
5855 Olinda Road, El Sobrante, CA  94803-3589
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (510) 231-1452
Last modified Olinda Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top