Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Elk Grove, CA
Students enrolled: 2,490

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pleasant Grove High School 3

Posted October 12, 2014
- a community member
This school unfortunately focuses on certain areas, for example test scores and certain athletic departments. Compared to other schools in the district this school really needs to reevaluate their administrative staff (not to mention names) and a few of their office staff. Not very friendly office staff when picking up child. Am I wasting their time? Really. Bias admin also. A few teachers are okay but some would rather not want to respond to emails. Isn't that part of their job? Emailing back parents and not ridiculing your child if you do email them about an academic problem you may have. What happened to an open door policy? Some folks should not be there. Like I mentioned earlier, if your child is not a 'star' athlete, or last name doesn't fit in the mold or grades are average...good luck at this school. Its too bad because this school can definitely improve. it should definitely look at a few other schools in the district that have students as prime goal.

Pleasant Grove High School 1

Posted October 12, 2014
- a parent
Front office very rude(her name is Jenny). Intimidate kids and even parents if you ask questions. She cuts you off, not helping at all. Not good example to kids. She should not work around people mostly to our kids.


Pleasant Grove High School 2

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Parking is a nightmare; school too full. Front office staff is the worst! If you don't want to deal with parents or students, why are you working at a school?! Ridiculous policies, they sigh when they have to help you, along with rude attitude. Hopefully, you will get a student helper when you go to office. (They are also rude with their student helper!)

Pleasant Grove High School 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
Pleasant Grove is by far the best school in this region. Most of the negative complaints listed here are from STUDENTS. No surprise that teenagers dislike their school. As a parent of a recent graduate, let me assure you that Pleasant Grove High School is the perfect blend of academics, athletics, and learning opportunities.

Pleasant Grove High School 1

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
The threat at PGHS was on Thursday March 7, 2013.Sorry for the error. I corrected this so everyone knows the problems seem to be getting worse and now it is the safety of our children is in jeopardy.


Pleasant Grove High School 1

Posted June 21, 2012
- a parent
Counselors and Administration needs to be evaluated. Grades are being exposed among staff and other students. Some students are being put down and drain from critics. Gradings are deflated. Don't let the API and reviews persuade you to move into the area. Take initiative and talk to other students to get real feedback. Wish the school think more of students and help them instead of keeping its brand name.

Pleasant Grove High School 3

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
After 4 years at PGHS, the decline in the quality of education and the school environment is startling. Budget cuts have resulted in situations such as teachers that are clearly not qualified teaching AP classes and classes sizes that are climbing to 40 students! The administration is not supportive of individual students or parental concerns. We had such high hopes for this school. It is disappointing to see the direction it is going. We will be putting our other children in private school instead.

Pleasant Grove High School 5

Posted November 18, 2010
- a student
I graduated with the class of 2010 and I absolutely loved PGHS. From the challenging academics, to the amazing school spirit, to the top-notch sports teams, Pleasant Grove is a very well-rounded school. There are many opportunities for students to succeed in the classroom and even more for them to become involved in extracurricular activities. Some of the teachers are amazing teachers and people that have touched my life. I know that I will take what I have learned from this school and use it to become successful in college and wherever else I go in life. . -Blackpinoyeagle


Pleasant Grove High School 2

Posted April 15, 2010
- a student
The school is not as good as most people think. It has gone down in 2010. Teachers carry their problems from home to sch, not focus like used to. There are too much manipulation and drams from the front office staff. It is really the students who study hard and has motivation to do well and succeed. It is not from the school or teachers.

Pleasant Grove High School 5

Posted November 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pleasant Grove High School
9531 Bond Road, Elk Grove, CA  95624
(916) 686-0230
Last modified Pleasant Grove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pleasant Grove High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top