Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

124 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (6 responses)
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA) 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a student
The teachers was always available for support, and the new software was very good easy to learn.

Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA)
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a student
I feel grateful for my teacher Mrs. Williams is because this year was my first year of homeschooling. Mrs. Williams was very supportive and encouraging. She was also always available to me when I needed help on a question. Thank you Mrs. Williams for making my first Home School experiance awsome!


Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA)
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Jenny Williams has been fantastic because she is very engaging and involved. This was our first time home schooling our child and the experience was very pleasant because of Mrs. Williams.

Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA)
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
There was enough work to keep my child busy everyday. I would prefer a bit more of explanation with some of the work especially the math because the text books didn't go into great detail but the teacher (Mrs. Jenny Williams) was able to fill in some gaps with the live lessons every week.

Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA) 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
The involvement of the teacher was not what i initially expected. I thought it was more of a robotic type of learning situation but mrs. Williams was there 100% percent of the way with us. She guided us, kept us up to date and made my daughter feel almost like she was in regular school.


Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA) 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
EGVA has provided us with the ability to get my daughter out of a situation where she was being bullied. This experience has been great, and she has thrived in the program.

Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA)
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
Thank you Mrs. Williams! I love how easy it is to keep in touch with you. You have always been available when we had a question or issue. EGVA Rocks!

Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA)
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Cenonita has always made herself available via phone, or internet to answer questions. If my daughter had a problem with anything she would do a live lesson recording and work it out.


Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA)
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
My daughter would put in between 4-6 hrs a day, One of the things we like the most about the virtual academy is that once the work is done, there is no homework. We finally have peaceful evenings at home as a family again.

Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA)
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
My daughter had to really learn to buckle down and do her work, despite the distractions of TV and other things going on in the home. This was hard at first, but she really took it to task and has straight A's as a result of her hard work. This is a huge change from the work ethic she had at public school, the amount of homework really made her dread school. Now she knows that once the work is done...it is done for the day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA)
9351 Feickert Drive, Elk Grove, CA  95624
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. (916) 399-9890
Last modified Elk Grove Virtual Academy (EGVA) is a Charter school that serves grades K-8
Top