Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harriet G. Eddy Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

As a graduating eight grade student of Harriet Eddy Middle School, I would not recommend this school to anyone. There is a HUGE fighting issue, for example this year there was a stabbing involving scissors. There are a few teachers who are genuinely concerned about kids and their grades. However, it is very hard to attempt to actually learn anything in this school, because their is at least one kid in each classroom that doesn't care, and interrupts the class for attention and the students around that student(s) give the student the attention which leads to the same thing happening over and over. Not to mention, I was robbed of my education. For my eight grade year elective, I chose Spanish, hoping I could take it this year and take Spanish 2 my freshman year. We had a great Spanish teacher but the students didn't treat her well because she didn't let them cheat or lie so she resigned. We then were provided a Substitute that didn't speak Spanish for the rest of the school year. The administration at Harriet Eddy try to cover up the multiple fights to keep the school's rating up. I would say there is at least one fight every two weeks. I would rate Harriet Eddy a 2 out of 5 stars.


Posted April 21, 2014

My child went to this school and had a really good experience. There is no other school where the students look out for each other. All students hang out together regardless of their ethnicity or religious affiliation. They are kind to the special ed students and they have awesome teachers that CARE. Eddy has a top notch community service program, math tutoring, and Band!!! Not to mention it is the feeder school into the ONLY IB High School In EGUSD (this means they can graduate with 1 full year of college). Eddy is looking into the PRE IB program and I can't wait. Eddy has notch education!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Im a student that goes to Harriet Eddy & I would like to say I really enjoyed being here. In the past this school wasnt really as good as it is now. Everyone tries to stand up for one an other , we help donate Jeans for teens. We fun raise for kids with cancer . we would like to do what ever we can to help on another. The main reason why I go to school everyday is because of band. We have a great band teacher . And a super good staff . Harriet eddy helps you get ready for High school & it also helps you start to think about college, in our keeping track classes. Overall I love this school . Im not ready to leave it just yet !


Posted March 2, 2014

I substitute teach at this school, the kids use foul language a lot, and the administration is vey unappreciative of any mentoring at the school, just fill the slots with people at very challenging school, so the principal can get promoted!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 21, 2014

love this school best school ever thought it was going to be scary in the beginning but everyone there is pretty helpful


Posted September 17, 2013

Harriet Eddy is a great school with a dedicated staff who is willing to do what it takes to help kids. The new peer tutoring is a great idea and works well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

I would give this school a total of five stars for the superior leadership present alone. This school is lead by a principal dedicated to making the school great and he is well on his way. The goal orientated leadership present is trickling down to the teachers and the students. This school has made a complete turnaround and it just keeps getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

The administrators are excellent, very supportive of the staff, concerned about the kids, and encourage parental involvement. The math team took first place in the district last year and the community service was impressive. This school is back to being the National Blue Ribbon it was when it first opened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

This is not a good school, because ~Teachers overburdened ~Students VERY rude ~School is in a bad location ~Doesn't handle problems with bullying really well ~There is waaaay too much bullying ~I can barely learn anything


Posted July 8, 2011

I was very worried about my son going to this school, but it turned out to be one of the best things that has happened to him. The honors classes were great, and the new principal was at every event, even the high school meetings for incoming freshman. And the band teacher is just one of those people who were born to teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2011

i Was an seven Grader At This School And It's An Excellent School To Go to academically


Posted June 16, 2011

I am a student at Harriet Eddy, and I want to set the record straight. The school brought in a brand new principal and basically restructured the whole school. The new principal has a GREAT sense of humor, yet at the same time, he gets business done. He took this school from the depths of the EGUSD to turn it into a great school. I mean, there are the drug problems and fights, but that's middle school these days. It's everywhere. To me, it seems like everyone minds their own business and the students and teachers are really helpful and supportive. This is a great school due to the faculty, administration, and students. I would enroll your students at Eddy because all the major gangs are at a lot of different middle school in Elk Grove. Overall, this is my favorite school ever.


Posted March 23, 2010

I have been trying to work with this school and teachers for two years and it just has not been a good experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

The teachers at my sons school are great! They are wonderful with communication on my son's progress throughout the year. Much appreciated:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

To parents: Get your kid in as many Honors classes as possible. Those teachers are amazing, they taught me everything that I needed to know. It's the non-honors that's horrible: rowdy kids, discouraged teachers, etc. To the parent that thought that there were two policemen at school everyday: You're wrong, that's only for the dances :) Don't worry; as long as your kid doesn't act like a smart-alec know-it-all or a racist (trust me), s/he won't get beat up :) Great school, great teachers, bad admin. :P
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2009

this school is so not well put tugether and they need to fix that now, before they get put out of business
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2008

This school has so many problems. There are major issues with race with the students and it even seems like with the staff as well. The kids overall are way out of control. So disrespectful and disruptive and the administrators do little to take care of these issues. There seems to be a real lack of structure and rules. The kids get away with too much. My child left elementary school happy with excellent grades to stressed out with lower grades. My child has been bullied and little has been done about it. Some of the teachers are good but they seem to be stuck in a bad system as they do not seem to get much support from their administrators. I willing be enrolling my child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

My sons struggles, but I have had a good experience with the counseling staff and teachers in addressing the problem. They called a meeting for me and have been very helpful. Parents have to be proactive too. There are certain 'students' that are quiet disruptive andt here are a lot of fights on campus. My son says he feels safe, but that there are students that disrupt the classes and he finds that discouraging. They need to get tougher with the troublemaker and thrown them out, making their parents more accountable. It's not fair to the kids that want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

In my experience, there are two HEMS experiences: one for honor students who flourish in the necessary academic support, and the rest of the student body who has a 'survival of the fittest' academic environment. My daughter attended HEMS last year and went from a 3.85 student who loved school to a kid who hated school and lost interest in academics. Not only was she bullied by her peers, and repeatedly threatened, but when the issues were raised with the administration little to nothing significant was done to curb the trend. Repeatedly I was promised that bullies would be held accountable, yet nothing was done. Worse yet, was when she needed academic support (non-honors) there was little to none available. She begged me to go to school in the district her grandparents live to avoid HEMS since there wasn't an alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

This school is a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

784

Change from
2012 to 2013

+24

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

784

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+24

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
40%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
45%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
11%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
59%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Females93%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)95%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females70%
Males59%
African American39%
Asian74%
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander64%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability39%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state59%

Math

All Students41%
Females41%
Males41%
African American15%
Asian60%
Filipino61%
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability44%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to state35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students32%
Females36%
Males26%
African American24%
Asian56%
Filipino38%
Hispanic or Latino14%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)37%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only32%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)27%
Parent education - college graduate33%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate40%
Parent education - declined to state35%

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females58%
Males45%
African American37%
Asian72%
Filipino52%
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state37%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students15%
Females17%
Males15%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino13%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)22%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disability4%
Students with no reported disability20%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only16%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate12%
Parent education - high school graduate19%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)11%
Parent education - college graduate6%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate42%
Parent education - declined to state15%

Geometry

All Students93%
Females87%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students60%
Females60%
Males60%
African American46%
Asian80%
Filipino50%
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state41%

Science

All Students66%
Females65%
Males68%
African American47%
Asian86%
Filipino80%
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate66%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to state61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 26%
White 26%
Black 19%
Asian 13%
Two or more races 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
English language learners 7%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • William Del Bonta
Fax number
  • (916) 684-6142

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9329 Soaring Oaks Drive
Elk Grove, CA 95758
Phone: (916) 683-1302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT