Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rancho Encinitas Academy

Private | K-8 | 52 students

We are best known for positive and nurturing learning environment.

 
 

Living in Encinitas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $575,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 11, 2014

REA has met and exceeded our expectations. We have two children enrolled in the school; they are thriving academically and socially. In our experience, the students on campus are polite, courteous, and accepting of each other, across all ages and grades. (Our younger child is high-fived by the older students as they walk by each other on campus.) Coming from EUSD, both the unique atmosphere and academic environment at REA have given our children the opportunity to grow and learn through individualized and small group instruction. The teachers are always willing to discuss any concerns, at any time. The campus at REA is a gem: the natural setting we feel has contributed positively to our children s experience and their learning environment. Lastly, we have had many conversations with administration and have had nothing but positive experiences with both the ease of communication and access to the administration at any time. They are accessible and visible every day on campus. We recommend REA to anyone looking for a private school offering individualized academic instruction, an atmosphere that fosters acceptance and encouragement of peers, and a unique natural campus setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

1 star... But would give it zero if it was an option. Terrible administration and not an accepting environment in regards to diversity. Wish I could report otherwise...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

We transferred our kindergarten son this year from another private school, the REA kindergarten teacher is amazing! Our son was so stressed our and dreaded attending school prior to the transfer, now he loves going to school and is thriving. She allowed him to be himself, work standing up, sitting in another area that he was comfortable in and taught with many hands on activities. We are so grateful for this teacher and returning a love of learning to our son. The teacher did all this while having the best behaved, most respectful class on campus. There is lack of communication from the administration to the parents, most things happening around campus or staff changes seem like a secret. Our experience with this amazing teacher outweighs the lack of professionalism from the administration. We look forward to another year and knowing he can see his teacher around campus keeps him excited to return next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

We very happy with REA. It's a calm, safe environment and the staff really seems to put the child first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Some aspects of REA are fantastic, but buyer beware: not all teachers have a teaching credential, despite the claims on the school's FAQ. Please take a careful look at each teacher when deciding whether or not to send your child here. There are great teachers here, as well as unqualified ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

REA is a wonderful school. I cant say enough good things. We transfered our children here from another private school in Encinitas. We originally had some worry as to the smaller size of the school, but our worries were quickly put to bed. The education was night and day compared to the children's old school, gosh did it open our eyes. We are thrilled that the teachers and administration take such great pride in their school, the curriculum and how & what education and life lessons are being taught to our children. Communication with the teachers and staff has been a true pleasure, it is a non issue - something that is also an extremely nice change for us (the parents) coming from our previous school. The special assemblies that the students earn all throughout the year are off the charts, and just plain awesome! The stress free natural environment of the school grounds is so welcoming and comforting for the kids and the parent involvement is wonderful, not too much, not too little, its just right. We made the right choice when we decided to make the move to REA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

Things are working out well for our daughter who transferred here from another private school this year. There is lots of personalized attention and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

This is a great school if you're looking for a small, non-competitive environment. It's low stress and we feel it's a very child-centered, safe place for our child. Well worth the money if you feel nervous placing your child in a crowded public school or a highly competitive private school. The parent group is great too - everyone has been very down-to-earth and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

My children attended this school for 3 yrs, for the middle school program. Beware this school charges major tution but does not deliver a quality eduation for your money. The administration is completely out of touch with what is happening for the students of today...i.e..forbiding of wearing of make up for girls without even asking parents opinions or allowing for a voice, changing to uniforms without parent involvement, not wanting boys and girls to socialize or any "romantic" involements. Clearly, they should not attempt to school preteens, but stick to the K-5 grades where they would not have to deal with more adolencent issues. The teaching was also subpare and did not prepare them for high school work. Beware of placing your middle schoolers here and don't expect a quality education, especially for the price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

Our child has been at this school for several years. It used to be a top notch school, but in the last year or so, it has gone down hill. The teachers are wondeful, but the administration is in need of replacement. Families of a chosen few are the only ones listened to when there is a issue. Also, the admin, is out of touch with what the student of today needs in their lives, espec. in middle school. Our child will not be returning there next year as we have selected another private school that is thriving and growing and really preparing students for HS and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

Rancho Encinitas Academy is a wonderful school environment. Our daughter has been attending Rancho Encinitas Academy for the past few years and our, and our daughters', experience has been great. The classrooms at Rancho Encinitas Academy are a highly collaborative multi-grade environment which has allowed for the opportunity for our daughter to learn at her grade level as well as at an excellerated pace. Each child receives the individual teacher attention, aspiration and encouragement to positively learn and grow. Additionally, we have found that the classroom environment at Rancho Encinitas Academy strongly encourages student responsibility for our daughter but as well as with interactions with her classmates. Overall, Rancho Encinitas Academy has proven to be an intimate environment for our daughter, and us as parents, that provides an outstanding balance of academics, arts, and physical education all wrapped in a enjoyable, natural setting campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

We think this is a great school. We moved our daughter here after her ADD caused her much grief in public school, and after the school administration was not helpful in resolving the issues. Our (by then) depressed and withdrawn daughter has blossomed here. The classes are small, with lots of individulized attention available. Our daughter is able to do academically advanced work while staying in the same class with her social peers - an important consideration to us. It is wonderful that the children have language instruction, art and music as part of their regular curriculum. The school has regular, organized recess and there is a Sports Club available after school. There are a number of after school clubs and programs available. The school stresses personal responsibility and accountability. We were so happy pleased with REA we enrolled our second daughter in kindergarten when she was old enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

My 12 year old twins go to this school. My daughter was always a straight A student, but my son struggled, and got c's and d's. Now, since they have been going to Rancho Encinitas Academy, my son has been getting all B's. What an improvement. He also just got a Book report back, and got an A+. Great school, great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

Rancho Encintas Academy is a fantastic place for kids who need a small, intimate environment. The Edison Academy classrooms within the school go a step further and help to put children who have been lost in the public system back opn track. Their approach to organization and learning how to learn is vital to the child who struggles with distractions in a classroom, retaining information, testing and test preparation, etc. It is a calmer place for children who can easily slip through the cracks. Well behaved children tend to go unnoticed in large classrooms and are never able to overcome their learning deficits. At REA each child is encouraged to show their strengths and build on them for a succesful school experience. My daughter has made remarkable progress in only one year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

This is a superior private school preK-8. They have multi-age classrooms, with small teacher/student ratios that provie excellent learning opportunities for all students. The academics are taught ecclectically, not tying teachers into one set program. Teachers have the freedom for creativity as well as using tried and true methods almost individualized for each student. They have dynamic music and art programs where student work is celebrated and showcased often. Parent involvement is welcomed and the parent group is very active.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

This is fantastic education experience. The care and attention given by the entire staff is exceptional. My childen feel very safe and secure while learning at such a 'top of the line' school. Students are prepped for High School. With class sizes never over 20 with a teacher and a full time aide in every room, there is no lack of attention for each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

REA is a great alternative to public, and other private schools. In a relaxing, country atmosphere, students excell without being pressured. Class sizes are small, three R's are stresssed, and lots of extras, like art,music, Spanish, and PE keep kids well rounded. Involved administration provides pleasant surprises to the students regularly. A very kid friendly place - with grade averages on the standardized tests well over norm.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Mercedes Raya
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (760) 944-6335

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • low teacher student ratio differentiated learning interactive white boards and computer resources integrated into curriculum weekly arts, music and PE program community outreach character building and social skills emphasized
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$11000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
San Dieguito Union High School District
Canyon Crest Academy
Cathedral High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

910 Encinitas Boulevard
Encinitas, CA 92024
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 942-2011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Edison Academy
Encinitas, CA






Ada W. Harris Elementary School
Cardiff-By-The-Sea, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT