Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Dieguito High Academy 3

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
Teachers in the San Dieguito Union High School District, which includes San Dieguito Academy, are the highest paid in San Diego County. The district says they pay the best because they hire the best. While there are many absolutely incredible, dedicated teachers at SDA, there are also many who are just there to collect a paycheck. Many teachers are not available before or after school to meet with students. The minute the last bell rings, they bolt. Also, teachers are permitted to do whatever they want during their prep periods, which includes surfing, exercising, etc. Then the teachers grade papers during classes when they should be teaching students. District is overrated in my opinion.

San Dieguito High Academy 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
We are delighted with the school. My son made friends right away, even though he was coming from a private school and knew nobody. The program is rigorous, they have a great selection of foreign language classes at high levels, plenty of honor classes and we are very happy with the teachers and the incredibly friendly administration.


San Dieguito High Academy 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
LOVE the quarter system and clubs. Great Teachers and Parent Involvement .... fosters students motivation and nurtures leadership skills

San Dieguito High Academy 5

Posted December 15, 2012
- a student
I absolutly love this school! What first attracted me to this school was the friendly atmosphere, and I can honestly say that my first expectation has been lived up to. I have always been a bit of the "odd-man-out" in all of my school experiances but at SDA I always feel like I am accepted and welcomed. I have yet to meet one person that has been judgemental here. On my first day i was surprised to see that everyone of the returning students would not hesitate to show you where any of your classes where and most even carried maps of the school! I am so glad that I came to SDA!

San Dieguito High Academy 5

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
Love this school: Great academics, amazing Japanese program, accepting and kind atmosphere and a sense of history and community. It is harder to get into than it once was, and with good reason.This school is a gem on the coast!


San Dieguito High Academy 5

Posted June 27, 2011
- a student
Attending SDA was the best decision I ever made. When I was in 8th grade, I had to choose between 3 schools: SDA, CCA and LCC. SDA drew me because of its extremely nurturing and non-judgmental atmosphere, its deep roots in the Encinitas community, its artistic vision, its pursuit of academic excellence and its leadership opportunities. The administration and teachers always work with students to help better the school via discussion venues like "The Forum" and consult students on topics such as school beautification and all-school events. Classes are relaxed but uphold a rigorous curriculum and I was always happy, challenged and supported by my peers and teachers. This year's graduating class is sending more students to top, out-of-state colleges than ever before, and I am one of two students headed to an Ivy League university. If I had chosen to attend a different school, I am very certain that this opportunity would not have been available to me. Following the soon-to-be-completed construction of the new state-of-the-art performing arts center, SDA also looks forward to renovations over the next few years to buildings and athletic facilities to be even more accommodating to all.

San Dieguito High Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2011
- a parent
My son and his friends are thriving at this school. We are highly impressed with Principal Grove, who has terrific communications skills and who responds to concerns in an open manner. We have been so impressed by the faculty at The Academy. They have some fantastic academic instructors, and the Auto Shop and Woodshop are something that my son lives for. How wonderful that there is still an educational choice that has a balance of academic programs and applied, life skills. I highly recommend this school!

San Dieguito High Academy
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
San Diegutio High, Acadamy is a school that allows my child to develop her own skills that she wants to develop. It has many classes that she can pick a schedule that fits her life and what she wants to do with it. My daughter did not want to go to the big Border School. SDA is much smaller and the administration treats her like a family. She will be able to graduate with 2 or 3 languages and is currently taking Japanese. This school is a 4 block system, so it is more like college. The kids are all friends and hug each other as a greeting and all accept each other which is rare for high school. Please consider this origional school that has been teaching and working for the last 90years.


San Dieguito High Academy
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent

San Dieguito High Academy 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
SDA is the greatest school! All kids are treated equally and acceptance is most valued. Without the cliques and bullying, kids are free to find their niche and pursue their dreams. The teachers and staff are amazing and always caring about and encouraging the kids to be their best. I have one daughter that graduated and went on to a top university, she was well prepared for college after her time SDA. I also have a Freshman who is loving it here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Dieguito High Academy
800 Santa Fe Drive, Encinitas, CA  92024-3357
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (760) 753-1121
Last modified San Dieguito High Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top