Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fred E. Lull Special Education Center

Public | PK-12

 
 

Living in Encino

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $291,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2013

My son Danny has attended Lull for the past 2 years and I couldn't be more happy and grateful to the teachers and support staff for their kind, loving, patient approach to our special children. Every morning we are greet with smiles and I cannot tell you how wonderful it feels to have all the staff and teachers know your child by name. I have seen a distinct growth and maturity and Danny since attending Lull and I look forward to his continued positive improvement. Thanks Lull for taking care of my most special child. Ana Feliciano
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I have worked in special education for over 15 years at several locations. Lull is one of the most innovative in its use of teaching methods and caring staff. Each student is important and they do their best to help them meet there potential. It is like attending a private school with lots of resources. Come visit anytime.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2012

I am an Itinerant teacher, who has worked over 30 years for LAUSD, and experienced at least 80% of the schools. I am also a college professor whom teaches special education. First, I have found the principal to be extremely involved in the students, the staff, and the environs. She always makes time to speak to me about issues relating to the students and/or the school. She is fair, involved,compassionate and approachable. She knows every students' name, as does the office staff and they make sure to greet and say good bye to the student's . Everyone in the office is pleasant and cares. As I said, I have been in many schools and this one the IEP clerk is on top of it and the meetings are run in a timely and professional manner, with decorum and respect for student and parent. I have been in the majority of the classrooms, and the teachers truly care about their students and their students education. I have referred parents to this school, they have nothing but positive comments. They have many special events, e.g. John Wooden Day, athletes come and speak and they have an elaborate mini junior olympics. A special needs student would get their needs met, with great care.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 15, 2012

I am most grateful for finding this school. From the secretary who greets my son every morning and every afternoon, to the principal Mrs Wise and my sons teachers, i appreciate the care and education that they are giving my son. I feel very comfortable taking my son to school everyday with a smile on his face, that I cant go to work and not worry that he is being mistreated. I love hosting the dances with the other 2 moms for every holiday. The children look forward to their social time and we enjoy seeing their faces light up as they dance. i certainly feel like the principal loves her job and my sons teachers always show enthusiasm when doing their jobs. This definitely is a diamond in the rough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

My daughter started Lull in September 2011. It has been an excellent experience for her...she has learned more in this short time at Lull then 5 years in a special ed classroom at a regular elementary school. The school also has school dances, so the children do not miss out on any kind of social skills. Thank goodness I found this school, and she will finally learn to read & write!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

Lull is a wonderful and supportive environment for students with sever disabilituies. Our emphasis is communication for all students without categorizing them according to their disabilities. We believe that all children can learn and all children have the right to be taught to communicate according to their individual abilities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 8, 2011

Lull is the kind of school that reminds us of why we chose this profession in the first place. The students begin and end each day excited about learning. The staff are supportive and loving, while still holding high expectations for the success of their students. Lull is the kind of positive and caring atmosphere that makes it a pleasure to come to work every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2011

When the Principal at Lull retires (hopefully REALLY soon), the school will be a much better place. The staff is very unsatisfied with her and wishes she would retire so no other school has to suffer like us.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 23, 2011

DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS TO THIS SCHOOL I have not seen such an incompetent, ignorant principle. School administration is also bad. Poor communication with parents, noticed principle and staff will try to avoid the parents who are willing to participate in the school activities and school site committees. This school administration wastes lot of their money (as an example I have seen in one of their parent meeting room there were around 50 cartridges belongs to printers and plastic enamels for paper). There are some good teachers (heard most of them trying transfer to a different school) and there are bad teachers (some of them are lazy). DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS TO THIS SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Principal has Ruined the School in so many ways. She has changed what was once a very Nice Welcoming Positive school with a great staff into a miserable negative prison with Awful new teachers and seems to have brought the morale down of the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Some teachers in this school are very good but some are very bad. They rarely work with the students especially if the student is very hard to handle. My son is autistic but he used to be able to read when he was with another teacher. Now all he does is walk around or lie down on the floor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

The principal of this school does not do her job to help the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

845

Change from
2012 to 2013

0

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.

This school's
API score

845

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

0

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

N/A

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 64%
White 19%
Black 8%
Asian 6%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
English language learners 50%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 66 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
62%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
62%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
71%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
71%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
93%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
95%
 

Employees

This school

 
91%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
74%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents3127%
Employees3549%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Leslie Zarate Wise
Fax number
  • (818) 609-8424

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17551 Miranda Street
Encino, CA 91316
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 609-8421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westmark School
Los Angeles, CA





Sage Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Gan Israel Hebrew
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT