Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Encino, CA
Students enrolled: 519
 

4 stars
Based on 59 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

144 reviews of this school


Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a community member
This school is designed to take students who live in their address zone. You must enter a lottery at a pre-determined time to have any chance of acceptance. Your chance of entering through an out of district application is similar to winning the lottery. Your brief interaction with staff in no way is reflective of the quality of this school. It is absurd that you would make such a statement. Do your research prior to making a review that lacks any legitimate merit.

Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 2

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
Disappointed. Heard so many great things about the school. 6th grade has 2 classes with 45 in each classroom. Yikes. They don't like any learning differences so they discourage you from getting the help you need by not following what they're supposed to do if you have a 504 or iep. Not officially of course, but they don't want you here if you're not a high scoring test taker. They want the scores, they don't care about anyone else. No music, no art to speak of, the math teacher doesn't want to accommodate - he would just rather teach gifted - and no communication with teachers. You get one parent-teacher meeting per semester and that's it. They don't want to talk to you if your child is having trouble with the pace at which they teach. They say they're available to help your child, but in reality they're not. If you have an IEP or 504, they will discourage you from coming to the school in the first place, because they don't want your child. They want high scoring, gifted students, and they want to dump everyone else. Very sad and very discouraging. Taking my child out. Others are looking to take their children out as well.


Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 1

Posted October 18, 2014
- a parent
After hearing good things about this school, I stopped by the office to drop off an out of district application for our 4-1/2 year ok'd daughter but he woman at the front desk would not take the application or even make eye contact. She just waved me away. I was stunned at the rudeness of this person and thought that if it was an indication of how staff relates to parents then Hesby is probably not for us.

Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
LAUSD is notorious for not being great schools, but I was very happy with this School. The office staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The Principle is very involved and a good man. I had a couple extremely good teachers that did a great job. As with all schools there are pros and cons, but this school had far more pros as public schools go.

Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 2

Posted December 17, 2013
- a community member
really not very good at all. I did not like this school at all. It's not great.


Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter is a wonderful school. I am so happy to be able to give my children the gift of this experience. The teachers care about their students, and go above and beyond, to help those who are struggling. The curriculum is tough, but has raised my kids up, and my oldest is more than ready for high school. You can't please all of the people all of the time, but Hesby has certainly pleased me, and many others at this wonderful school.

Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Very clean campus as well as a professional and courteous staff. Very family-oriented. All 4 of my children attend and love it!!

Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Hesby Oaks has been A very positive experience . My daughter loves going to school. The school has A progressive challenging curriculum with amazing and utterly creative teachers.


Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 5

Posted April 05, 2013
- a parent
Hesby is a Great School that truly a find! Every school has issues, but Hesby comes pretty close to being perfect, considering that this Charter School is only on its 7th year! It is a true community, where the Teachers are fantastic, and really care about the kids education. They take pride in sending off the Kids prepared for their next step....and they are. The Principle is a hoot, and I think often misunderstood. He is one of the most caring school leaders I have met in a long time. Hesby strives for excellence, and it has always had a waiting list for families to get in. It truly is a hidden gem.

Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School 5

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
Great school! My oldest graduated from Hesby 3 years ago, and was so well prepared for high school. I currently have 2 girls attending 7th grade and 4th grade. They excel in all subjects, district assessments are easy for them because they are so well prepared by truly caring and dedicated teachers! My kids have very good friends from school, and there is a sense of community. You feel welcome! I couldn't asked for more from a public school. Compared to the private school they atended before, I can say that they are better prepared to face the demands of higher grades because of the education they are receiving at Hesby. Thumbs up for the effort of principal, teachers, parents, and students!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School
15530 Hesby Street, Encino, CA  91436
(818) 528-7000
Last modified Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top