Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
60 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 157 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hesby Oaks
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 12, 2016
- a community member
Mrs Annette Ward - 2nd Grade Teacher :) Thank you for all your help with Michael! I know it's been challenging with his absences from his JRA but you've gone the extra mile and it's appreciated.

Hesby Oaks 5

Posted June 12, 2016
- a community member
I had my son transferred from one elementary school to Hesby Oaks, both located in Encino and this is such a refreshing change. Like night and day between the two schools. The parent involvement has blown me away. The bonds that have been made are displayed with the teachers, kids and parents including the staff. The Principal is always in front of the school every morning greeting each child and parent as they walk in. My son has completely improved in this past year and I can not wait to see more positive improvements and developments with him. Needless to say it's a breath of fresh air and I can't wait for this coming August for 2016-2017!


Hesby Oaks 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a community member
This school is designed to take students who live in their address zone. You must enter a lottery at a pre-determined time to have any chance of acceptance. Your chance of entering through an out of district application is similar to winning the lottery. Your brief interaction with staff in no way is reflective of the quality of this school. It is absurd that you would make such a statement. Do your research prior to making a review that lacks any legitimate merit.

Hesby Oaks 2

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
Disappointed. Heard so many great things about the school. 6th grade has 2 classes with 45 in each classroom. Yikes. They don't like any learning differences so they discourage you from getting the help you need by not following what they're supposed to do if you have a 504 or iep. Not officially of course, but they don't want you here if you're not a high scoring test taker. They want the scores, they don't care about anyone else. No music, no art to speak of, the math teacher doesn't want to accommodate - he would just rather teach gifted - and no communication with teachers. You get one parent-teacher meeting per semester and that's it. They don't want to talk to you if your child is having trouble with the pace at which they teach. They say they're available to help your child, but in reality they're not. If you have an IEP or 504, they will discourage you from coming to the school in the first place, because they don't want your child. They want high scoring, gifted students, and they want to dump everyone else. Very sad and very discouraging. Taking my child out. Others are looking to take their children out as well.

Hesby Oaks 1

Posted October 18, 2014
- a parent
After hearing good things about this school, I stopped by the office to drop off an out of district application for our 4-1/2 year ok'd daughter but he woman at the front desk would not take the application or even make eye contact. She just waved me away. I was stunned at the rudeness of this person and thought that if it was an indication of how staff relates to parents then Hesby is probably not for us.


Hesby Oaks 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
LAUSD is notorious for not being great schools, but I was very happy with this School. The office staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The Principle is very involved and a good man. I had a couple extremely good teachers that did a great job. As with all schools there are pros and cons, but this school had far more pros as public schools go.

Hesby Oaks 2

Posted December 17, 2013
- a community member
really not very good at all. I did not like this school at all. It's not great.

Hesby Oaks 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Hesby Oaks Leadership Charter is a wonderful school. I am so happy to be able to give my children the gift of this experience. The teachers care about their students, and go above and beyond, to help those who are struggling. The curriculum is tough, but has raised my kids up, and my oldest is more than ready for high school. You can't please all of the people all of the time, but Hesby has certainly pleased me, and many others at this wonderful school.


Hesby Oaks 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Very clean campus as well as a professional and courteous staff. Very family-oriented. All 4 of my children attend and love it!!

Hesby Oaks 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Hesby Oaks has been A very positive experience . My daughter loves going to school. The school has A progressive challenging curriculum with amazing and utterly creative teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hesby Oaks
15530 Hesby Street, Encino, CA  91436
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 157 reviews. (818) 907-0788
Last modified Hesby Oaks is a Charter school that serves grades K-5, 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top