Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lanai Road Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
Fantastic school with a great leader and teachers. My kids had a wonderful experience being new to the area, the school was very welcoming.

Lanai Road Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
most kids are rude and disrespectful at this school. entitled kids with equally entitled parents.


Lanai Road Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
Some better than others. But don't really have a say in who you get anyway....

Lanai Road Elementary School 4

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
The teachers overall are great. The community is nice enough, the kids like the school, parents care, the academics are strong - it's a good school overall. But all schools have their challenges. Let's be honest - no school is perfect. Parking is pathetic. The PTA is like a sorority with lots of politics involved. Security after school is a joke (what security?) We cannot seem to get a decent nursing or library staff. There are a few teachers that have gone totally rogue (e.g. - one third grade teacher has been there so long and has a terribly bizarre grading system and says "I don't believe in giving 4's" without any justification at all...even though some children very much deserve 4's. This puts my child at a total disadvantage when applying to private middle schools against other children in other classes who got 4's. Nobody has questioned this behavior- even the principal will not stand up to the parental concerns around his unfair grading. Which begs the question - what else is the principal letting slide? This all said - all these things aside, for a public school - Lanai feels more like a private school. It's pretty awesome for many many reasons. I'll take all the bad to all of the good anyday.

Lanai Road Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2015
- a community member
This was by far the best school I've ever attended. I would recommend this elementary school to every parent I know.


Lanai Road Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
The is an important part of a child's learning. I know the teachers at this school build these attributes into their core curriculum. They encourage independent thinking as well group morality and ethics among clasmates.

Lanai Road Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
This is an amazing school. The teachers really care. The parent support is unmatched. The principal and his staff are what makes this school so great. My student loves school because of the people she is surrounded with daily. The Seeds program is awesome. Professional, fun and enrichment. She never want to go home when we come to pick her up after school. Between the enrichment classes and the daycare portion it's the best of both worlds. The administrators are approachable and open to new ideas to make the program great for everyone. Lanai has everything a parent could want in one place. A great learning environment, people who care and a safe place where your kid can be a kid. 2 thumbs up...

Lanai Road Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
The new principal, Mr. Hansen is simply amazing! I cannot say enough great things about him as a parent. He fits the school perfectly. The teachers are all dedicated and outstanding with great passion for their field and the children. This school has a lot of fundraising, but it is all worth it because through the booster we are able to have so many things no other public school has. I will pay my 700$ to the LOVE fund every year, anything to make my child have the best education possible. This is the best elementary school in the valley because of the new principal and dedicated parents and staff.


Lanai Road Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school! The leadership is outstanding and really cares about the students. Office staff is very friendly even with the sometimes overbearing parents. SEEDS is the after school program that really offers a diverse and enriching after school program that meets the needs of every child. It's a shame that someone with a grudge would take the time to post a negative review... most people can read between the lines.

Lanai Road Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Lanai is an amazing school. My children child loves to learn and the faculty is the reason. The teachers care the new principal is an amazing encourager and has brought life back to this wonderful gem. The afterscool program is great. Seeds offers homework assistance, enrichment activities and supervise my child daily. The enrichment classes are top notch. My children child has participated in almost all the classes and registered by request to be in the basketball programy 3 times in a row. No school is perfect but Lanai does a great job at reaching for perfection. API scores are through the roof at 900. How many public charter or private schools can say that. Lanai has great family and alumni support. I am proud to be apart of the Lanai heritage.

Nearby schools

Lanai Road Elementary School
4241 Lanai Road, Encino, CA  91436-3614
(818) 788-1590
Last modified Lanai Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top