Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Private
Encino, CA
Students enrolled: 258
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Valley Beth Shalom Day School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
VBS Day School is more than just a state-of-the-art educational center, it is a community. Every day our daughters are challenged with an academically robust curriculum-both secular and Judaic. At the same time they are learning to be "menches" through countless creative programs that communicate the values of our rich Jewish heritage. We love the warm feeling among the staff, administration and kids as they walk into school each morning. In addition, if you are looking for a school that caters to your child's individual academic needs, this is the place for you. Hands down, this school provides the most well-rounded education which we feel will prepare our kids for their future educational endeavors and for life in general.

Valley Beth Shalom Day School 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
We have 3 children at Valley Beth Shalom Day School and it is the best investment we have made in our children. They are motivated students who love to learn because every day they are encouraged and stimulated by an incredible group of educators. They are getting a top notch secular education, a very good Judaic education and most importantly they are taught to be concerned and involved citizens of the world. No school is perfect, but it's pretty close.


Valley Beth Shalom Day School 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a community member
The teachers are very creative and provide an outstanding education that fits each child.

Valley Beth Shalom Day School 0
no rating

Posted February 19, 2010
- a parent
My kids (twins) attended VBS Day Scool from K-5 some years ago, after which time it was too much to afford . I was & still am a public school elementary educator, so I feel most qualified to wholistically evaluate that experience. The children had a priceless Jewish Education, & because I knew the kids were of gifted ability (& would excel wherever), the Judaica was my prority . With Jewish ZPG now a dire reality, my husband & I felt that a daily Jewish Education was a must. In secular studies, some teachers excelled more than others in the lesson delivery, yet it was apparent that teachers of like grades coordinated their lessons. All classrooms were colorful & richly adorned with the children's projects. Much of the concepts taught in both Judaic & Secular Studies culminated in creative projects. Emphasising all learning modalities brought VBSDS to life & memory.

Valley Beth Shalom Day School 5

Posted August 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Valley Beth Shalom Day School 5

Posted October 11, 2008
- a parent
We were very torn about choosing private over an excellent public school in our neighborhood, however, VBS has been an outstanding success for our family. Our daughter is in Kindergarten and we are thrilled with her experience there. We feel included in the school, welcomed by the teachers and administrators, and a part of the synagogue's community. If you are looking for a well-balanced Jewish education that will challenge and inspire your child, VBS Day School is an excellent choice.

Valley Beth Shalom Day School 1

Posted September 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Valley Beth Shalom Day School 1

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Valley Beth Shalom Day School 5

Posted January 21, 2007
- a parent
In all honesty, this is one of the very best schools in Los Angeles and perhaps in the west coast. The combination of academic excellence, strong moral values, international programs, the most supportive athletic program and stellar leadership by the administration, board, Rabbi's, parents and teachers make this school a role model for others to emulate. I cannot speak more highly of this school, it's vision and leadership...my two children began to thrive there and continue to this day, in large part due to what they receive there. I wish all schools would be like VBS Day School.

Valley Beth Shalom Day School 5

Posted August 19, 2006
- a parent
The teachers are good. The school staff is effiecient, friendly, patient, and considerate of the kids and parents in this difficult 'two parent working environment. The school is well equiped with all the tools they need (and are getting better) for a rounded experience for my son. Simply put, its the best school in our area.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley Beth Shalom Day School
15739 Ventura Blvd, Encino, CA  91436
(818) 788-2199
Last modified Valley Beth Shalom Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Valley Beth Shalom Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top