Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bernardo Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 580 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

Bernardo School is wonderful! We moved here a year and a half ago from Poway, and couldn't be happier! I have always heard that Poway schools were the best, but I have to say, I am far more impressed with Bernardo! Excellent teachers and staff, great after school enrichment programs like chess, Spanish, guitar, and weekly art and music classes! Great PTA with no drama is a big plus too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

This school was amazing I'm a eighth grader at woodland park and previously went to Bernardo. This school is spectacular and amazing. All the teachers are nice and well educated. School is interesting. There's a great selection of cafeteria food and many fun groups and clubs. The school is large so I like it.


Posted October 8, 2013

My school is a place with an amazing Kindergarten teacher named Mrs. Borecky!!! We are so thankful to be in her AM class. She runs things so smoothly and is a beautiful example of a caring teacher. She makes parents feel so welcome when they volunteer. The way that she runs her class is so multi-dimensional...she uses music and sign-language and makes things so fun for the children. She has a wonderful incentive program for the children and is very consistent in all things pertaining to the whole child according to their individual personalities and needs. We're so grateful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Love this school. Both my kids go here. The staff is so friendly and my kids are thriving in all areas! There is tons of parent involvment, lots of activities and it is just an all around great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

We moved to Escondido 2 years ago and my two children (Grades 1 and 3) have attended since my son was in pre-school. We love this school! There is such a sense of community here and the parents involvement is amazing. The PTA funds the music teacher, many of the field trips, and many of the small events that happen throughout the school year to reward the kids. The curriculum is very good, with focus on math, science, culture, and history, as well as the standard reading and writing. They have a "Friday Sing" each week to recognize high achieving students and to get all of the teachers and students together and give them something fun to do. We love Bernardo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

The quality of education my child is receiving there is great. Since we've only experienced K & 1st this point, I can't elaborate too much, but there has definitely been a good foundation laid and now we will continue on! I do have a suggestion for the school, and that is that the office staff be a little more welcoming. Many parents have commented that they have felt, simply walking through the door, that their presence is an inconvenience. Same here. They do good work and I'd love to be able to express my appreciation more, but I've never been able to develop a good rapport. School is intense these days, from Kindergarten on. I know the importance of education and what this means to classroom structure, the teachers' approach to students, etc., but it seems that we are forgetting that the kids learn compassion & kindness through peaceful guidance and example. Ok, I'm rambling. In a nutshell: good, strong education. Presence-wise, office staff needs a little tweaking, same for a good number of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

I <3 Bernardo! It's a great school! I was the first class to go through 1st-5th grade at Bernardo. When I went there, I remember having to be at Miller with all the other Bernardo students because it wasn't finished being built yet. Miller doesn't even compare!!! Bernardo has a very nice campus. When I was in Kindergarten and Pre-school, Bernardo didn't exist yet, otherwise I would have gone there for that also. I graduated from Bernardo a couple of years ago in 5th grade obviously and now I'm going into 7th. I miss Bernardo but middle school is great! 5 out of 5 stars for Bernardo! I had a GREAT 5 years there!


Posted November 9, 2010

My kids love this school! We moved out here three weeks ago and I dreaded the thought of them starting a new school especially after the school year had already started. This school has been fabulous. Talk about parent involvement! The school has music, computers, etc. The kids made friends right away and it has been an all around wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

My son is in Kindergarten here and I have nothing but great things to say about the school, teachers and principal. My son is excelling in everything, reading and writing at 5 years old among other things. I cannot say enough good things about this school or the staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

My daughter is a kindergartener this year at Bernardo and I have been extremely impressed with the exceptional instruction she is receiving in Mrs. Burdette's class. The daily schedule is very organized, the weekly homework is do-able and builds on classroom learning, and the ratio of teachers/parent helpers to students is very high. The best recommendation is that my daughter loves her class, thinks homework is fun, and looks forward to going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

This is a wonderful elementary school. The teachers are well qualified and caring, the office staff extremely helpful and the enviroment, both academic and social couldn't be better. As a grandmother viewing all of this, I couldn't be happier!


Posted September 22, 2008

This school is in a great area and has an amazing staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

Great school! Excellent and caring teachers. Technology in every classroom and great library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

I love this school! It was a blessing that my daughter got transferred to Bernardo. The leadership is excellent. The teachers are fantastic. The parents are great too. Parent involvement is beyond expectation. When we had to move, we only looked for places within Bernardo's boundaries...just to keep my daughter at this school. Conrats Bernardo on winning California's Most Distinguished School 2008! Keep up the hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Congratulations Bernardo School for winning the California Distinguished School Award 2008. Staff, parents, and students worked hard to make Bernardo the best elementary school in Escondido; now the state of California recognizes that it's one of the best in the state. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2007

This is my sons 2nd year attending Bernardo Elementary. We love the school spirit and parent/teacher involvement. Our son has loved both teachers and feels very proud to be a mountaineer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Draws from the most affluent section of Escondido. While Miller was the previous local school, and is still a good one, Bernardo was designed to be the best in the District and rivals Poway schools. The principal had free hand to pick the teachers he wanted. Strong emphasis on teaching leadership. Parental involvement is eager and pervasive. A quality operation all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

No negatives here at all. Fantastic principal, teachers, facility, student body, and parents. If you are serious about your child learning, this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

We are so happy at this school. It was worth the wait. The teachers are fantastic and the learning environment is superior to our previous school. Bernardo is well on its way to becoming
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

863

Change from
2012 to 2013

-34

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

863

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-34

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females68%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females76%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females64%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females75%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability58%
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner92%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females88%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability83%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females91%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability85%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females68%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females65%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students67%
Females60%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Hispanic 26%
Asian 6%
Black 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/AN/A
English language learners 11%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lisa Clark
Fax number
  • (760) 432-2720

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1122 Mountain Heights Drive
Escondido, CA 92029
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 432-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Grace Lutheran School
Escondido, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT