Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orange Glen Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Escondido

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $246,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

I love the reading program that my grandson has been involved in. He started out with not understanding the fundamentals of reading and now he reads very well and actually loves it. He has received many rewards for his progress which lights up his incentive mode. It gives him confidence and good attention. The struggles he has faced do not go unnoticed. When I have had the opportunity to talk with his teacher, mostly last year, I was surprised at how much she had picked up on. She listened carefully to my comments and was not at all threatened by what I had to say. I don't know much more of the school except my grandson likes going to school most of the time and his social experiences are rewarding for him.. If I had one concern, it would be that my grandson has lost several clothing items and they rarely show up in the lost and found. There must be some way to check these kids to make sure they come back with what they had one when they went outside. I sure don't have a solution; maybe some brainstorming amongst the staff would help with this.


Posted August 8, 2013

This is a wonderful school. Mr. Ausby, the principal, is very kind, caring, and well-mannered! I'm happy I am working here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2010

We have great teacher who really care about the well-being of our children. Our principal makes every effort to get parents involved in our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

The teachers are always giving it their all. The principal is caring and motivated to reach for the stars and helps us all to reach and meet our goals as a school and a community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

This is actually a really good school. I have one child now in the 4th grade and 1 child in the 3rd grade. All the teachers my children had throughout there school years were good(except for 1). But from the teachers I've seen they have some really good teachers. My son before he first started here was at a school in Fontana, CA and he wasn't doing so good until he arrived at this school and became an over achiever. they did have one after school activity this pass 08-09 school year which was crocheting, and the kids learned alot and recieving congrats certificates after.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

Thank you, Mr. Ausby, Staff, Teachers, PTA, Parents and Students for making Orange Glen a Great School!! We are looking forward to coming back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

I have two children at OG. One is in the GATE program with Mrs. Dulaney and the other is in the Special Day Class with Mrs. Horton. I could not be happier with the education, care and concern from not only teachers, but the principal, aides, down to the staff in the cafeteria. Everyone works well together for the good of the student, school and community. It seems like there is alot of parent particapation in the classrooms and lunch and play areas. I am very happy and proud that my children are getting a great education at OG. Five stars...way to GO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

It's a great school. My daughter attended 1st grade and her teacher Mrs. Dodd was great. She was patient and loving. I just wish this school offers after school programs such as arts, music. Raquel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

My son is almost finished with his kindergarten year and he is progressing amazingly. He attended preschool and I thought he might be bored in kindergarten- on the contrary he is now able to sound out words and read & write sentences. I agonized over whether to put in a transfer request for a 'top rated' school. However, the education he is getting at Orange Glen is very satisfactory. Moreover, the ethnic diversity in his classroom is refreshing. His teachers are qualified and creative individuals who truly seem to care about the children they are charged with educating. Although parent involvement was not high at other events, the recent school event arranged by the PTA was very well supported. I have discovered that the PTA parents are truly hard working individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

We have had our kids in the Poway and Temecula school disterict. OG elementry has been nothing but great. My girls are recieving the best education. They are challengeed and can advance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

I transfered my children to Orange Glen Elementary through school choice (my residential school was a sanctioned school) and I have been very happy with my decision. Mr. French, our principal (retiring after this year :-(, too bad we can't clone him!) is an awesome principal ... we couldn't have asked for anyone better. We have a great staff. The only thing I am disappointed in is the parent involvement, but from what I hear it is pretty typical of most schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

I found the principle at Orange Glen Elementary easy to talk to, understanding and giving sound advice for my child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

My child has been attending Orange Glen Elementary since 2002. I have been able to observe many of the teachers and staff members on a daily basis and feel that their level of commitment to our children is of the highest level. We have great family activities year round: fall carnival,family bbq and much more! We have a wonderful Art and Music Docent program that the children as well as the parent volunteers love. We have a great student council program as well which involves 'school spirit' days on a monthly basis. Orangle Glen's accelerated reader program has really done wonders with my child's performance in reading. we check out an average of 5 books weekly at our school's library! I would reccomend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

799

Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

799

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females66%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females73%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females38%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate24%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state25%

Math

All Students55%
Females48%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females51%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students51%
Females55%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females56%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state65%

Math

All Students56%
Females49%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state71%

Science

All Students55%
Females48%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 74%
White 14%
Asian 4%
Black 3%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/AN/A
English language learners 53%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2861 Valley Parkway
Escondido, CA 92027
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 432-2487

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ascension Lutheran
Escondido, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT