Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Escondido, CA
Students enrolled: 522

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


San Pasqual Union Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2014
- a parent
This public K-8 school is a hidden gem. Feels like a private school atmosphere, good communication, offers great pre-K program plus before and after school program (we have used both), great parental involvement, school foundation raises funds to support PE, Music, Drama, etc that would not be possible without the extra funds as those were the first to go with state cuts. They have after school spots for middle school, running club for all, choir, cheer, etc. It's near the gated Rancho San Pasqual community but we don't live there...still feel welcomed, you get what you give on that front! Have two kids there in 4th and 8th in the fall...and have really liked the teachers and school experience there for both kids and it has been great to have them together at the same school for so long even with the 4 year age difference. Highly recommend SPUS.

San Pasqual Union Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
The little school in the valley is a great school. The teachers are amazing and the atmosphere feels like family. It's not a big school so that's one of the things that I was attracted to. I feel like my children are receiving the best education there is in escondido.


San Pasqual Union Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
We have been grateful to have our kids enrolled in this school for the last several years. The elementary school has been great for my oldest and the pre-K is excellent. Each teacher that we have encountered has been caring and dedicated to their students. The pre-K program is second to none and the quality of the curriculum is unmatched in the area. I continue to be amazed at what my preschooler has learned in a few short months. The administration is attentive and very involved with the day-to-day activities of the students. This is a small public school that has the feeling of a private school. All CA schools are making tough choices with reduced funds, but this school continues to put the needs of the kids and families first and makes the best of what they have! We will be moving out of state soon and we will miss this community and this school tremendously! We have not encountered an issue with excessive homework as well...my oldest has homework most nights but it is never an unreasonable amount. The school regularly communicates with families, using phone messages, Wednesday Folder, emails, etc. Our experience at this school continues to be a positive one.

San Pasqual Union Elementary School 3

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
Generally a good school for K-5. But the middle school has a multitude of issues starting with the woman who ran it in her roll as Vice Principal. Her discipline methods were iron-fisted and ineffective. She was demoted, thankfully, but too late for those of us who had to endure the middle school years with her at the helm. The SPA kids created another set of social issues that were not handled very well by the administration. Last, but certainly not least, is the out of control "homework for homework's sake". Parents are encouraged to cut back on their children's after school enrichment activities in order to give them more time for homework. Expect 2-3 hours a night in middle school. Say good bye to dance class, Pop Warner and music lessons. The school has very little enrichment to offer the students outside of the academics, which puts the parents and students in a no win situation.

San Pasqual Union Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a community member
SP is an outstanding school with an API of 889. There is a caring staff who takes pride in providing wonderful opportunities for all students. The ELL program sponsors a tutoring program after school, monthly parent educational meetings with opportunities for parent education, technology opportunities, and small group instruction each day utilizing the AVENUES PROGRAM. The GATE program provides hands on learning and research opportunities for students in grades 4-8. All students have the opportunity to participate in music programs, (band,chorus, general music), after school sports, cheerleading, Science Fairs, our state of the art technology lab, our outdoor garden program, and educational field trips including the Marine Science Floating Lab, Sixth grade outdoor education week, and a special science program at the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park for our 4th. graders including animal visits, a sleepover in the park, and special events. This one school district stands out as a jewel as the "Little School In the Valley." Our goal is to meet the needs of our diverse population, providing every student with a world class education.


San Pasqual Union Elementary School 4

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
This is a fantastic school that has so much to offer considering its size and limited resources. Being a 1 school, school district, funds are limited, yet commitment of the staff is not. If you are looking for a small (private school like atmosphere) school, where your child will not get "lost" in the crowd, this is a great option. It is true that if you have a child with special needs you may be frustrated with the resources available to you. If your child truly needs extra resources they might be better served in a larger district that can provide more options. Coming from a family of educators, we truly feel blessed that our children are being educated in this environment.

San Pasqual Union Elementary School 3

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
For average to above average general education students this is a terrific school. But for those students who have special needs this school struggles mightily to provide services for these students. We have had to move or special needs student to another school after almost 3 years of trying to work with SPU.

San Pasqual Union Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2010
- a parent
This school is EXCELLENT. Small country feeling, great Teachers, great feeling of care here compared to other schools and it ranks 9 out of 10. No problems at all with gangs, rock solid learning.


San Pasqual Union Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school with dedicated staff, great before and after-school program (Kids' Club). This school has a variety of after school events, family functions and community awareness programs. As it stands alone as its own district, I believe it provides the best of public school education with many of the benefits of a private school.

San Pasqual Union Elementary School 4

Posted February 21, 2009
- a parent
My three children attended this school. My youngest now in the 7th grade. It was a wonderful experience during the elementary years. The school is very nice, in a beautiful and safe location with better than average teachers. However, all middle school classes are taught by just a few teachers and the school doesn't offer electives that would be available at a larger middle school. They have a small athletic program. But, overall even with my concerns, my older children transitioned well to High School and my oldest went on to college on an athletic scholarship. There are pluses and minus with a small school just like there are with a larger school. My choice would still be the smaller school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Pasqual Union Elementary School
15305 Rockwood Road, Escondido, CA  92027
(760) 745-4931
Last modified San Pasqual Union Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Pasqual Union Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top