Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grapeland Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Etiwanda

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

I do not recommend this school. Don't let the test scores fool you. I feel they worry too much about the test scores and not enough about the individual. Many of the programs that they had in place have gone away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

My son went to this school a short while (fall 2012) starting as a transfer kindergarten student. I thought this school would be an amazing school experience for my son because it is rated so high in the district. But my experience with Grapeland was far less impressive than I had anticipated. I believe my son was not given a chance to adjust to kinder because he wasn't as mature as the other children seemed, and had a hard time focusing, even though he had been in preschool. His teacher would tell me everyday (for a week) that she thought he wasn't ready for kinder, I was surprised because he is very smart, but needed to be reminded to pay attention (normal), long story short...with her advice and others I decided that mabey another year of pre-k would be best. So as I begin to register him for 2013, I was shocked to learn the district would not allow him to start Kinder because of his age! No one ever told me this. But they were so quick to get him out of there, I could not believe it! Me and my son spent all summer cramming for first grade, I believe this school is great but they did not seem interested in working with my boy from day one. I felt CHEATED to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

The administration lacks effective people skills. Their goal is to be number one in the district and that is it. If you are looking for your child to be nurtured, Grapeland is probably not the best school to choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

It's the worst public school! We thought a school with an API of 945 would match our Advanced daughters. We soon realized the school has a robotic mentality. Its teachers and administrators bully the families over ridiculous policies, such as no spaghetti straps for 6-year olds, without explanation. They make the kids play outdoors in the sun in over 100-degree weather without shade. They won't allow them to stay indoors, even by parental request. When our kids came back from school, their scalps were browned. We had to use a bottle of sunblock weekly to prevent our kids from getting skin cancer. The school administration makes no effort to understand parents' concerns, and were told they can hang up on parents' phone calls if they so desire. Our kids were not happy at the school, and turned from being hungry for knowledge to resisting going to school every day. Finally we had to pull our kids out and homeschool them. Our kids' scores continue to be Advanced, and they have access to History, Science, Art, Foreign Language, and Music that they didn't have at Grapeland. Now our kids are interested in all areas of knowledge and their academic scores have soared even higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

Grapeland is a wonderful school. The atmosphere there is different than at other schools I've been to. Everyone on staff is very friendly. Students are well behaved and excited to learn. The school offers so many things to enhance the learning. Plus, test scores show that the school is really focused on academics. My children wake up every morning excited to go to school. I think that say it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

This schools is awesome! My son goes to Grapeland and he absolutly loves it! This school offers so many programs and activities for their students and they encourage parents to get involved. I always feel so welcomed and the students always seem so happy to be at school. If your complaining about the teachers being forcused on test scores, hello, it's a school and we love that our students are doing so well. I'm so happy that Grapeland's teachers are so focused on my son's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

I love this school! My daughter had been attending for 4 years. She thinks it is the best school in the world. The entire staff from the office to teachers and administrators are all friendly. I always feel welcome. There are so many activities that kids can get invoived in that no other school in the area offer. She has been learning Spanish before school and art after school. And the test scohres are phenomenal. They really work hard to make sure all kids are learning. I am so happy my child has the opportunity to attend here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

Grapeland is an incredible place for my student and all kids. I love the way the staff (office, library, teachers, playground, cafeteria) takes care of children. Everything they do is for kids and they never stop at anything less than great! Students are happy and the it shows on the teachers faces. The library is an awesome place and the support of the librarians has really help my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

I was very disappointed with my daughters experiences at Grapeland. The teachers seem to be so focused on achieving high test scores that they have lost sight of the individual needs of their students. The school offers many afterschool activities, perhaps to make-up for the fact that virtually no art or science is done during the school day. If the state does not test on it, it is not covered in Grapeland classrooms. Also, my daughter was bullied so badly on the playground that she began having nightmares and panic attacks. Meetings with the principal and the teacher made no improvement to the situation at all. We ultimately had to remove our daughter from the school for her own safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

I am overwhelmed with the excellence demonstrated by the Staff, Instructors, and the Principal leadership. Grapeland is a special place and the API scores are reflective of that. As Parents, we could not be happier and pledge our continued support based on these most stellar results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2005

Grapeland has quality academic programs, and encourages a lot of parental involvement. There is not enough school-wide recognition conducted since the principal change in 2004. The assistant principal however makes herself available for many functions and knows many, many students by name. The school is very diverse in its student population however that diversity is not reflected in its staff. The school has music available beginning in the 5th grade, and the students change classes weekly for science taught by the teachers on a rotational basis. There is a problem with teachers dumping unfamilier materials on students as preparation for yearly tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2004

Grapeland has phenomenal leadership and an outstanding staff of dedicated, creative, compassionate teachers. It's a great school and we are proud to have both of our children attending there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

955

Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

955

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females93%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state91%

Math

All Students95%
Females98%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females77%
Males84%
African American94%
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability62%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females89%
Males90%
African American100%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disability79%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females97%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students96%
Females97%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females88%
Males88%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Math

All Students91%
Females90%
Males93%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Science

All Students85%
Females83%
Males88%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 52%
White 25% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 11%
Black 11% 6%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7171 Etiwanda Avenue
Etiwanda, CA 91739
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 463-7026

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sacred Heart Parish School
Rancho Cucamonga, CA


Etiwanda Academy
Rancho Cucamonga, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT