Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Catherine L. Zane Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2010

I attended Zane Middle School for 6th, 7th and 8th grade. I graduated from ZMS in 2010. Zane middle school is the best school I have ever been to. I had so much fun and I got good grades all three years I was at Zane. I had some of the best teachers anyone could ever ask for seriously, they were awesome. I think the teachers at Zane are the best teachers in Humboldt county. I met so many new people when Winiship and Zane were combined. It was a great experience. I would do anything to attend a school like Zane again!! I had so much at Zane especially during 8th grade!! I am currently attending Academy of the Redwoods and I really miss ZMS and all of the awesome teachers.


Posted July 2, 2010

I went to Zane for my 7th and half of my 8th grade year. I am now gpoing to be a freshman ('10-'11) This school is the worst school i have ever been to. I was verbally and emotionally tortured by many students. The adminestration failed to do anything about it. Unless your willing to get no assistance from adminestration, DO NOT attended this school


Posted April 10, 2009

I am an 8th grade student at ZANE and I would like to point out to some of you parents that ok, yes we have some fighting going on,and our new administration (Ms. Moore, Mr.Lakin, Ms.Haskamp, and all of the other staff members) are working on that, what you need to do as a parent is instead of complaining about it you should get involved or encourage your student to tell a teacher if he/she sees someone being bullied. The thing is these days is that most of the kids encourage fights for entertainment but trust me what you have to do is look at the good things at ZANE like our wonderful music program, and all of the teachers who all have credentals in the subhects they teach and they are all always there to help a student and we also have a great deal of diversity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2009

I can't believe how awful Zane has become. Being an alumnist, I was somewhat excited about my son going there from Winship. He was instantly bullied, he dropped from the 'B' honer role, to Ds and Fs. I could understand if it were just my child, but this was not the case. The kids that came over from Winship didnt stand a chance. Bullies and poor parental involvement. We tried to communicate with the school with zero result. We were constantly given the run around to simply passify us. Taking our son out of Zane was the BEST thing we could have done for our son. His grades have already improved, and is happier in general. DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS TO ZANE!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

zane middle school is a GREAT school. iv'e been a student since 6th grade. Zane has definately been the best school ive ever gone to. we have students from all over the world and different cultures. we have an outstanding award winning music program (and i would know im first chair cello in the quintet) zane offers a full string orchestra, 3 bands and special peformance groups. we have a beautfiful campus with soccer, basketfall, football and baseball. we have excellent teachers who all have credenticals in the subjects they teach. many other schools cant offer that. all in all, zane is a wonderful school that provides a equal and vauleble education for all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

The music program is the only really good thing about this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

This is not a good school at all . Theres so many bullies. Its easy to cut class. Theres not enough supervision. Your child can't be there self at this school. I dont think you kid should go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

This will be my son's third year and I have been very disappointed in parental involvement, opportunities to get involved and extracurricular activities. The teachers seem to be excellent or sub-standard, there doesn't seem to be an in-between, so as a parent you really have to watch who your child gets to teach the courses they are taking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My daughter has been at Zane since 6th grade and has been on the A Honor Roll, she was allowed to enroll in Leadership Class in 6th, second sememter, she was the pep rally commission for 2 years, she was nominated and attended the congressional youth leadership conference in Washington DC for a week. She was in first chair in band playing the clarinet and opted to take leadership, however ZANE has the best band progam in the county, winning many awards. My daughter has particpated in many sports including, basketball, soccer, track and cheerleading. She has received 2 high flyer awards. She has been in several of the spelling bees last year coming in 2nd at school. The teachers have been wonderful, especially Mrs. Dimick. The staff in the office are wonderful. All in All I would give ZANE a
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I believe that this school has done so much for my children wich I have ben unable to do.It has tought my children values and lessons,when I fail to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

808

Change from
2012 to 2013

-41

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

808

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-41

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
57%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
48%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females64%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asian62%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Native41%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to state70%

Math

All Students57%
Females56%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asian55%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Native50%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to state55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females65%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asian72%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Native45%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state77%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students50%
Females55%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Native42%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability3%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students45%
Females48%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asian58%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Native35%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented74%
Parent education - not a high school graduate11%
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate61%
Parent education - declined to state57%

Science

All Students70%
Females68%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 16%
Asian 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8%
Black 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
English language learners 13%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jan Schmidt
Fax number
  • (707) 441-0286

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2155 S Street
Eureka, CA 95501
Website: Click here
Phone: (707) 441-2470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Koinonia Academy
Eureka, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT