Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Freshwater Elementary School 5

Posted December 29, 2009
- a parent
Freshwater is a superb elementary public elementary school! Yes, they so rely heavily on a lot of parental involvement, but it is the main reason they were able to keep all programs when others took huge cuts. As for asking for homemade goods, it is not required at all. They just ask for the donation of homemade goodies for a cake walk. If you don't have time or cannot contribute, nobody would ever bat an eye. There are many ways to help. The principal and vice principal are more involved than any other administrators I have ever seen. They are down to earth and the teachers seem very happy to be at the school. I am very please with my child's education and value the very personal atmosphere.

Freshwater Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 12, 2009
- a teacher
Public schools are dynamic, they can only change if you work within the school site council, school board, and administration to help better and make those changes. Sorry this happened to you. I love our programs, but there is always room for improvement.


Freshwater Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
Good school, but a little on the snotty side. They practically force you to volunteer/help/buy things for class. I'm all for helping out (and did buy sweatshirts, things for the class and attend the festivals, etc.), but I also worked full time. They sent home a slip for the Fall Festival and asked for 'homemade items only' for the cake walk! I think it was a good school academically, but there was just something about it we didn't like.

Freshwater Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2008
- a parent
Amazing scholastic achievement as well as strong emphasis in the arts. Outstanding opportunities for all children and parental/family involvement is top notch.

Freshwater Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2006
- a teacher
This school has a quality music program! It is a real small, community school where the principal and teacher's know most of the students names as they meet in the halls.


Freshwater Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2005
- a parent
Teachers and Principal are outstanding. the academic programs are the best in the county music and art play a very good role not only exposisng children to the arts but encouraging and expanding their minds and abilities. Fresh water is a small community parent from outside the area stand in line to get their children into this school. parent involvement in extremely high. from helping to renovate the school decks to field trips and the harvest hoedown. activities such as the smimming classes for 2 graders show the faculty and administreation are in tune with the community and energize the students for future learning. this is a great school. class sizes are small school is safe and the teachers and principal communicate with parents often. if you call a teacher first thing in the morning, 99% of the time oyu will get a call back within hours.

Freshwater Elementary School 4

Posted January 15, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Freshwater Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Freshwater Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2004
- a parent
I could never say enough good things about the Freshwater school. My two children have been going to Freshwater School for 3 years now and with the support and education that is given by everyone at the school, well lets just say. I could have never picked a better school to send my children!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Freshwater Elementary School
75 Greenwood Heights Drive, Eureka, CA  95503
(707) 442-2969
Last modified Freshwater Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Freshwater Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.