Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Summit Christian School

Private | K-8 | 92 students

We are best known for loving, caring, community and excellent academics
 
 

 

Living in Fair Oaks

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

Summit Christian School is a great place for kids to learn. The teachers are amazing, and the values the school teaches are solid and Christian! My grandsons go to Summit and they are thriving in this environment. It is wonderful to watch the changes in the attitude of their hearts. But the best testimony to Summit's success are the test scores, which places the school well above other schools in the area.


Posted September 3, 2013

Summit Christian School is an amazing school! With small class sizes and teachers who are well qualified, Summit exceeds our expectations. As parents we are amazed at the commitment of the Summit staff and their desire to not only offer a great education but to also teach to the heart of every students! I would highly recommend visiting Summit Christian School even if you're not necessarily planning on changing schools. One visit will have you rethinking why your family has not made the switch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

Life changing for our kids and entire family. I told my wife I'd move into an apartment if we ran into a jam and couldn't afford our home. It is that vital to our family and kids' development. Summit is the "peak" of community and education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

Amazing school and staff! The teachers actually care about your child starting with their heart! They have made school and enjoyable place for my son! It's worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

I am a former student, about to graduate from a public high school. Summit gave me the training I needed to succeed academically and stand up for my faith in a public school.


Posted August 30, 2013

Summit Christian School has a wonderful staff... with a heart for loving and training up children in a way that honors the Lord. They don't just learn academics but life skills and how valued they are by God. I highly recommend Summit Christian School.


Posted August 29, 2013

We checked into various Christian schools. What stood out at this one is the genuine Christian qualities of the staff, the students and the families. Have not met a single family that doesn't live out their love for God and others. The pre-school did A LOT to prepare my child in fun age-appropriate ways for Kindergarten. The teachers are loving and caring and yet they have firm command over their students and they teach very well. Surprisingly, there is not one teacher that the kids or parents all dread or dislike. My kids are learning a lot more than academics, they are learning important character values and the school re-inforces a solid Christian foundation in the classrooms. Class sizes are better than reasonable and test scores are outstanding. What could be improved? 1.More schoolwide events so we can spend more time with the great families at this school.2. Extracurriculars--but some school dads formed a baseball team of our preschool and Kinder boys in the pony ball league-nice. 3. Facilities--but surrounding our kids with authentic, Christ-like people and great teaching trumps updated buildings any day as long as it's clean which it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Summit is an amazing school in every possible way! The academics are top rate, and the dedication and passion of the teachers is second to none!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

What a great community of learning! I love the family atmosphere and the great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

We just love Summit. We looked at several private Christian schools before finally deciding on summit! The teachers and staff were incredible. For me, I attended the campus when it was victory and to see some of the same teachers there still teaching was amazing. The love they have for our kids is truly a blessing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Summit is geared to not only prepare students academically, but to equip them morally to navigate through an ever-changing cultural climate. Our family has been revolutionized since moving to Summit 2 years ago!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Summit Christian School is an amazing school where children's education is not only excellent but the staff and teachers teach to the heart of the child, biblical instilling incredible values and godly knowlege of Truth into their hearts, minds, and lives. Teaching them to live with Christian character and preparing them to go out into the world as successful and educated members of society. I am thrilled to have sat on the board for this amazing school as well as now have my first born enrolled in Summit's preschool. I am already seeing incredible and exciting changes in his development and cannot wait to see how he continues to grow and learn. We are eagerly anticipating his sister enrolling in preschool next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Small class sizes with excellent and caring teachers and staff. Their preschool program is AMAZING!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

This school dazzles children and young people with the glory of God. Summit teachers seem to know the child, love them, speak truth into their life and help them do that truth. It is a great community of grace and truth!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2013

This school is truly unique. This is a true community, committed to raising leaders with a heart for the Lord. There is an expectation of learning in the classroom and the teachers could not be of higher quality. I have never met a group of people who are so committed to teaching young people and loving them at the same time. You will absolutely not find another place like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

I absolutely love Summit! From the first ideas of what it would look like to seeing how it has changed kids' lives, the story of this school has been amazing. I can totally see God's hand working in the students and teachers, and if I had kids, they would most definitely be attending. I highly recommend it!


Posted August 29, 2013

There is not enough room to write all the wonderful things about Summit, so I'll merely list a few. Professional, caring, innovative teachers who make learning fun; small class sizes so children receive individual help; a principal and entire school staff that takes the time to get to know each child on the campus; test scores that rate Summit as a top school in the nation; curriculum that is academically strong and also has biblical truths incorporated providing students with strong moral foundations; on site resources for children who need a little extra help (reading, math, behavior, sensory defensiveness, etc.).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

Great school with great kids. A lot of individual attention. They even offer sports and band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

VCS is a warm, family oriented school. The teachers care and it shows. Parents are involved in each class and students score higher than average in academic testing. A wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

If you want your kids to grow and learn in the best environment, you need to check this school out...How many other schools do you know of that a principal knows each child by name? Or that truly prays for your family? This is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 26%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Black 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Couchman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • On the web at summitcs.net
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Supports home-based learning
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Authentic Christianity practiced here! We grow leaders who learn and live with Christian Character. Academic excellence from superior curriculum and teachers dedicated to growing students who consistently score in the 80th percentile nationally on standardized test. You need to visit to experience the Spirit!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
115
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
130

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bella Vista
Capital Christian
Victory Christian
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5010 Hazel Avenue
Fair Oaks, CA 95628
Phone: (916) 536-9307

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cabrini Academy
Fair Oaks, CA


Orangevale Open K-8
Fair Oaks, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT