Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northridge Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fair Oaks

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

My daughter attends Northridge Elementary. She had a difficult time transitioning being a new student. The staff at Northridge did a wonderful job helping her feel safe and secure. This year is her second year at Northridge and she is a thriving 6th grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

I'm a student of this school from some moons ago, in the 1990s. I'm told some of my teachers have retired, but others are still there. I remember nearly every grade as if it had special meaning. The classes were not that challenging, but I was also difficult to motivate. This school once cared a lot for the arts. Staff would help put on plays and a big performance at the end of the year. In 2nd grade, we did "Over the Rainbow" in sign language. My biggest gripe is not really their fault -- it's a public school. The teachers are inconsistent with the amount of attention they give, and they play favorites. For the parents that are unhappy about the lack of advanced classes: the school used to have a GATE program. And for years and years, I know at least one teacher discreetly gave a multiple choice math and science test to the kids. For the ones who did really well, she would pull them aside, and they'd get special classes after school. I visited years after I left and she was talking to her new advanced class, telling them not to say anything to anyone about it. I know I could have learned something from those sessions.


Posted February 11, 2013

My Son has been attending Northridge for a year and a half and we couldnt be happier with the school. The Teachers have been amazing, Staff friendly, and the extra activities and programs have been educational and fun. Were so glad we moved near Northridge Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

I have had 3 kids in Northridge since 2006. We attended with the old principal and we have had the new one for a few years now. We are finishing out this year and then we are transfering. I have 2 more kids to get through elementary school. I agree with most of the poor comments about this school. There is no parent involvment. I volunteer at the school once a week. I hate having to go sign in at the office. The women who work in there are so completely RUDE! This is our 5th year at this school and one of the office ladies has yet to ever acknowledge me. i don;t even know her name. There is a lack of respect by some of the children-but the teachers wear jeans and tshirts everyday. What do they expect? What happened to dressing professionally, taking pride in your career, and passing that on to the children. There are absolutely NO programs for advanced children. My daughter who is in 8th grade now and has a 3.7 GPA just took a 6th grade review test for history and got a 60% on it!! Now they are english as a 2nd language school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I think Northridge is a wonderful school, working there for the last couple of years has been a rewarding experience. I believe that the staff does the best they can teaching, but I think what some parents have forgotten is that it is not the teacher's/staff's job to teach the children respect, manners and most of all kindness towards others. That is what they should be learning at home from their parents, the schools job is to continue that into the classroom and at recess. If we ALL work together then we will be able to help the children grow up to become productive and caring human beings.


Posted October 26, 2009

I am a parent with a unique perspective. Due to the fact that my original school location was closed due to budget cuts five years ago. We were transitioned into Northridge and initially it was not the most pleasant situation. My family and I are a part of the Northridge community and love it. When you become interested and invested in your child's life there are certain rewards that you never could have imagined. I have gotten to know the entire staff and faculty and I appreciate them and embrace each one of them. Turn off your television sets and participate. Become informed parent's. Don't sit back in the 'castors seat' and post false judgements. It's easy to sit and wait to receive. One hand washes the other is my philosophy. Your environment is what you make of it. Empower yourselves and your children with the truth of reality!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My son is at Northridge and has had an amazing experience; the teachers have really been great. My son is a bright boy and they have been very encouraging and put in the extra effort to make sure that he is challenged and does not get bored. The kids are split up by skill level for different subjects, which allows for more one on one teaching; it does not leave those kids that need extra attention behind as well as not limiting those children that are more advanced. It is great. There was a school play last year that was a lot of fun for the kids. Music & choir programs. Fund raisers are a necessary evil as we do not get the funding due to budget cuts. Overall a great neighborhood school We love the new principal and she is doing an amazing job with the budgetary restraints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

my sone loves the school. The teachers have been amazing and the new pricipal has made several changes for the better of the school. We have budget restraints & so we have several fund raisers. Teachers really work with those students that are gifted as well as need additional assistance. We have had a very positive experience - a great neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

I understand that the new principal has made several changes, and I DO NOT agree with all of them. If I could change anything, I would start off with a strong disciplinary plan for each child AND teacher. Some teachers need to revisit why they started teaching. I would also enforce RESPECT. Children and teachers need to respect eachother. 'Love your neighbor as yourself! I attended Northridge when I was in grade school. I will never forget the end of the year performances that we did. Those were the years! I was excited to see that each class put on a wonderful performance for Founder's Day. It brought back memories. ' We must bring back the end of the year performances. This will bring back love and joy to our community, and people will want to help our school. We need to do less fundraisers, and more community envolvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

This is not a school that encourages the childs growth and development. On the contrary, this school envelopes the ideals of fundraising and state testing. Northridge does not want parent participation despite the eagerness of parents and god forbid you want to be involved, they look at you like a plague. The new principal seeks much to be desired and has implemented seating arrangements and a no talking lunch policy. Additionally, there is fundraiser after fundraiser (including Cookie Lee; who the benefits from that I wonder) and I have yet to see the benefits of that anywhere in the school. If you live in this school region, apply for a inner district transfer. We are finishing out this year and moving on to greener pastures next year. The school is a disgrace to our community and children and their philosophy on education and their mediocre scores show it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I have 2 boys that attend this school which will be their last year thank god, I have had nothing but a year full of issues from the aids who work in bridges to teachers who are worse then children, if a school should be closed this one should be considered, it's amazing the difference there is from one year to the next and this is a little advice for parents, your kids are a reflection of you and I've met so kids who show a great lack of respect for others so please reinforce manners and respect to others or they'll achieve nothing in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Both my kids have attended or are currently attending Northridge. It's been rough going since it had to absorb a few hundred students when nearby schools closed. It's gone through two principles. The last one nearly eviscerated the school of all its good programs. When suggestions were made the answer was always, No, it can't be done. Not, Let's find a solution. Not, let's make it work. Just, No. We're on principle no. 3 this year. I don't know if it's her doing, but band and choir are back, and the much-loved sixth grade science trip to Yosemite was saved from the chopping block. Teachers and parents put in a lot of work to save the integrity of this school and maintain the community that has grown. Things are looking up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

My extended family attended Northridge from 1986 to 2007. The earlier years were the best, with enthusiastic teachers, All-school shows, talent shows, fashion shows, pet parades, etc. Each teacher that left was sorely missed and was sent out in style! Unfortunately, with budget cuts, teachers unions, and politics at the higher levels of administration, this school has suffered. The last principal took away everything that was even remotely fun! The morale sunk to an all-time low under her leadership. If the new principal can put some fun back into the school, the children AND the teachers can thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

I grew up in Fair Oaks and when we moved back to this area we were thrilled to be able to send our children to Fair Oaks schools!! To our surprise, Northridge has no parent participation, the teachers are old and grouchy, the office staff is never friendly or welcoming, the yard duties are disgruntled parents and the school overall lacks any morale! Thanks northridge for keeping our school a place we actually want to send our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

Little to no parental involvement, no sports or other extracurricular activities. Inadequate supervision repeatedly observed during lunch & recess. I strongly suggest using open enrollment in January.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

Horrible school. My advice use open enrollment to a school that cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

Typical, average, suburban elementary school. Love the Festival of Nations, and the principle is very fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

My children attend northridge school, Im sorry too say that the school lacks in music, sport and extracurricular activities. I think the staff that Ive been exposed too are great but lack of parent and funding for the school are severe.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

730

Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

730

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females45%
Males28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state10%

Math

All Students41%
Females43%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students27%
Females36%
Males19%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino19%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)31%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Non-economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability29%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only31%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)25%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state21%

Math

All Students51%
Females48%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females53%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students54%
Females52%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females45%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

Math

All Students39%
Females31%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state29%

Science

All Students37%
Females29%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino18%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Females37%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability40%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state24%

Math

All Students25%
Females40%
Males18%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)22%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Non-economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability29%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 26%
Hispanic 35% 52%
Black 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 11%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michele Flagler
Fax number
  • (916) 867-2070

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5150 Cocoa Palm Way
Fair Oaks, CA 95628
Phone: (916) 867-2066

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Valley Oak Academy
Citrus Heights, CA


St Mel School
Fair Oaks, CA




Cabrini Academy
Fair Oaks, CA


Kingswood Elementary School
Citrus Heights, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT