Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Fair Oaks, CA
Students enrolled: 450
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
We thought we made a big jump moving to Sacramento to attend Sac Waldorf. Come to learn many others do exactly the same, coming from other cities within CA, other states and even other countries! Very impressive and most importantly, worth it. Simply said; an investment in your children. Regarding Waldorf education and Sac Waldorf, it's a decision we have absolute peace-of-mind. More importantly, our children are thriving and enjoy their school, classes, friends and specialties. Understanding Waldorf education is key to understanding and fully embracing its many qualities, on so many levels... The star ratings, themselves, were submitted by my 6th grader. =)

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted November 14, 2011
- a parent
We found about Waldorf's education and philosophy while we were living in Hawaii. Our daughter attended a Waldorf kindergarten class in Hawaii and we moved to Sacramento California so our daughter could attend the Sacramento Waldorf School in Fair Oaks CA starting in 1st grade and go there until she graduates high school. Our daughter is now in the 4th grade and she LOVES school and wants to go each and every day. Sacramento Waldorf School is located on 23 acres on the American River and has a 5 acre byodynamic farm, teaches two languages, includes art, music and movement in each year curriculum along with reading writing and math. The same teacher takes the class from 1st grade through 8th grade and therefore gets to know each child in depth. The high school has great science labs and 95% of all graduates go onto college. Both my wife and I wish we could have gone to Sacramento Waldorf School. If you want your child's schooling to leave them with high self esteem, a love of learning for life, develop great values and be a self starter and love going to school then this is the school for you to choose to send them to..


Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
SWS is worth every penny we spend in tuition, give in donation and also worth every minute we put in as volunteers. Optimally, the kids get the same teacher 1 through 8. This give a teacher great insight as to the inner workings of each child. They greet each kid every day with a hand shake, solid eye to eye contact and very brief conversation. In class, Waldorf teacher training gives them the tools to "hold a class", referring to how they shepherd the children's attention constantly, the best doing it without being obvious. Though distinct subjects are taught like reading writing and arithmetic, they also weave them together in a palatable whole, so in Greek mythology they will work a little math into the mix. In math a lot of art to illustrate the concept. They strive to make the abstract, concrete. Consequently, the goal of the school is make education enjoyable; to instill in each child, a life long love of learning, arming them with tools to always adjust to anything life throws their way. Some have referred to this school as a place for the rich. Not! This year is a record breaker for tuition assistance. Consequently, there is a call to give: time, treasure or talent.

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
We came to the Sacramento Waldorf School 7 years ago for parent-toddler class with our 1 and 3 year old children. Each year, we have continued to grow with our children and the community of like-minded families towards a more centered, calm existence. Our spirits renew each fall as the Waldorf curriculum continues to meets our children in a developmentally-appropriate way. Our children are blessed with an education that is tailored to their individual needs, personality and learning style. This school and community is not for those who want to do "what everyone else is doing". But if you want your children to maintain their self-esteem and to learn in an incredibly well-rounded way, at a pace that is right for their own individual development, you should check out this school.

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted December 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a community member
I went to Sac Waldorf for pretty much my entire school career (K-11). It's great on how much they focus on the inner artist within. They really make sure the arts and music are a big part of your life. I think most kids that come out from Waldorf are extremely unique and amazing individuals that have a lot to offer the world.

Sacramento Waldorf School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
We put two kids through Sacramento Waldorf - it's a great school that keeps kids in touch with art and nature!

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted March 01, 2009
- a community member
My child attended Waldorf schools for all 13 years of his schooling. He graduated from the high school at the Sacramento Waldorf School. The school provided a wonderful environment for him, and his friends for that matter, to take a hard look at who they were, how they wanted their world to be and how they could contribute to that vision. After graduation he was accepted to many colleges, and chose to attend a top liberal arts college in a rural setting. Sacramento Waldorf School prepared him well for the academic and social challenges of living away from home in a rigorous academic environment. If I were blessed with the opportunity to make an education decision for a child, kindergarten or high school, I would not hesitate to choose Sacramento Waldorf School.


Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted February 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
Our family is grateful on a daily basis for finding this school. Not only have our children found the most amazing teachers but we have also found a loving community in which to raise our children with witty adults to keep us laughing, growing, & engaged. There is a magic that is created here through the efforts of the staff and teachers. They deeply care about the soul of each child & create a safe environment where each one can become who they were meant to be. My eldest was at another local school for 2 years, we struggled w/ homework on a daily basis w/ many tears shed, now she has a love of learning and gets passionate about school projects. We are blessed & strongly encourage every family to at least walk on campus, speak to any parent or child and you will feel and witness the magic.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacramento Waldorf School
3750 Bannister Road, Fair Oaks, CA  95628
(916) 961-3900
Last modified Sacramento Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Sacramento Waldorf School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top