Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
420 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sacramento Waldorf School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Marianne Gray, 2nd Grade Thank you, Our Granddaughter, You have told her, taught her, shown her and therefore she knows. We appreciate you for your patient, wisdom, and skill and conscientiousness in improving the children (all). Bradley & Vanessa

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
Initially I wasn't looking to pull my kids from public school, but Sac Waldorf offers so much more than an ordinary educational system. The question became, How can I NOT have them there? The working farm, the rich music program, German & Spanish, PLUS all the standard subjects you get in the public system. The HS grads are beyond interesting and I've always been impressed with the entire curriculum as they target developmental stages and offer just what they need at every phase of life. Worth every dollar. I can't imagine not making the move from our previous public school! (Which was fine but why have fine when you can have wonderful?)


Sacramento Waldorf School 3

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
Great school, beautiful campus! it's not where we ultimately got in, but it's still a great school in our eyes.

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
We thought we made a big jump moving to Sacramento to attend Sac Waldorf. Come to learn many others do exactly the same, coming from other cities within CA, other states and even other countries! Very impressive and most importantly, worth it. Simply said; an investment in your children. Regarding Waldorf education and Sac Waldorf, it's a decision we have absolute peace-of-mind. More importantly, our children are thriving and enjoy their school, classes, friends and specialties. Understanding Waldorf education is key to understanding and fully embracing its many qualities, on so many levels... The star ratings, themselves, were submitted by my 6th grader. =)

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted November 14, 2011
- a parent
We found about Waldorf's education and philosophy while we were living in Hawaii. Our daughter attended a Waldorf kindergarten class in Hawaii and we moved to Sacramento California so our daughter could attend the Sacramento Waldorf School in Fair Oaks CA starting in 1st grade and go there until she graduates high school. Our daughter is now in the 4th grade and she LOVES school and wants to go each and every day. Sacramento Waldorf School is located on 23 acres on the American River and has a 5 acre byodynamic farm, teaches two languages, includes art, music and movement in each year curriculum along with reading writing and math. The same teacher takes the class from 1st grade through 8th grade and therefore gets to know each child in depth. The high school has great science labs and 95% of all graduates go onto college. Both my wife and I wish we could have gone to Sacramento Waldorf School. If you want your child's schooling to leave them with high self esteem, a love of learning for life, develop great values and be a self starter and love going to school then this is the school for you to choose to send them to..


Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
SWS is worth every penny we spend in tuition, give in donation and also worth every minute we put in as volunteers. Optimally, the kids get the same teacher 1 through 8. This give a teacher great insight as to the inner workings of each child. They greet each kid every day with a hand shake, solid eye to eye contact and very brief conversation. In class, Waldorf teacher training gives them the tools to "hold a class", referring to how they shepherd the children's attention constantly, the best doing it without being obvious. Though distinct subjects are taught like reading writing and arithmetic, they also weave them together in a palatable whole, so in Greek mythology they will work a little math into the mix. In math a lot of art to illustrate the concept. They strive to make the abstract, concrete. Consequently, the goal of the school is make education enjoyable; to instill in each child, a life long love of learning, arming them with tools to always adjust to anything life throws their way. Some have referred to this school as a place for the rich. Not! This year is a record breaker for tuition assistance. Consequently, there is a call to give: time, treasure or talent.

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
We came to the Sacramento Waldorf School 7 years ago for parent-toddler class with our 1 and 3 year old children. Each year, we have continued to grow with our children and the community of like-minded families towards a more centered, calm existence. Our spirits renew each fall as the Waldorf curriculum continues to meets our children in a developmentally-appropriate way. Our children are blessed with an education that is tailored to their individual needs, personality and learning style. This school and community is not for those who want to do "what everyone else is doing". But if you want your children to maintain their self-esteem and to learn in an incredibly well-rounded way, at a pace that is right for their own individual development, you should check out this school.

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a community member
I went to Sac Waldorf for pretty much my entire school career (K-11). It's great on how much they focus on the inner artist within. They really make sure the arts and music are a big part of your life. I think most kids that come out from Waldorf are extremely unique and amazing individuals that have a lot to offer the world.


Sacramento Waldorf School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
We put two kids through Sacramento Waldorf - it's a great school that keeps kids in touch with art and nature!

Sacramento Waldorf School 5

Posted March 01, 2009
- a community member
My child attended Waldorf schools for all 13 years of his schooling. He graduated from the high school at the Sacramento Waldorf School. The school provided a wonderful environment for him, and his friends for that matter, to take a hard look at who they were, how they wanted their world to be and how they could contribute to that vision. After graduation he was accepted to many colleges, and chose to attend a top liberal arts college in a rural setting. Sacramento Waldorf School prepared him well for the academic and social challenges of living away from home in a rigorous academic environment. If I were blessed with the opportunity to make an education decision for a child, kindergarten or high school, I would not hesitate to choose Sacramento Waldorf School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacramento Waldorf School
3750 Bannister Road, Fair Oaks, CA  95628
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (916) 860-2518
Last modified Sacramento Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top