Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

873 students|Travis Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Golden West Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 04, 2015
- a community member
i felt that the teachers never even believed that i could succeed. i was even told by my father that the teacher said i just wasn't smart. i have a very good relationship with my dad, so he wouldn't lie about something like that. he was actually very angry.

Golden West Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 04, 2015
- a community member
i had no problems with the homework, it was not an issue that required attention.


Golden West Middle School 1

Posted September 04, 2015
- a community member
As a student in elementary, i has stellar grades, just shy of honor roll. when i went to golden west, in 2013, my grades dropped by a titanic amount. i went from straight B's to 2 C's, an F, and 2 D's. this was majorly due to the amount of bullying i was attacked with each day. it got so bad, that halfway into my second semester, i had broken does crying, pleading with my mother to let me stay home. i felt that they cared nothing for what happened to me. i cant tell you of one time i had a good memory here, besides the few good students. maybe instead of extra curricular activities, they could have spent more money on anti-bullying. for your child's sake, do not send them here. seek ANY other option.

Golden West Middle School 5

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
I have got to disagree with some of the other reviewers. We moved to this district specifically to get into this school. While all districts have had budget cuts, this district and this school in particular have dealt with them unbelievably well. The teachers teach, but they are also available to the kids before and after school. The teachers have to have papers graded in a timely fashion and the entire district has an online grading system where parents can see grades and attendance-often before the kids get home from school. The classrooms/teachers have computers, smart boards and printers. They have an active library and librarian as well as a school nurse and 2 counselors. The principal and asst. principal are both very active in the school population and with parents. They even still have buses! As far as dealing with medical issues, my daughter has learning disabilities and they have bent over backwards for her-changing schedules, teachers calling me to see what they could do to help. Most teachers send out frequent emails advising parents of what is going on. Unlike many schools in the area, they still have extra-curricular activities including robotics and music.

Golden West Middle School 4

Posted June 29, 2013
- a parent
My daughter was being bothered by another student and the situation was handled quickly and fairly. We have not had any other problems. When I do call with a concern the staff is very helpful and all of my questions are answered. The music teacher and staff are stellar! Overall this school is very good.


Golden West Middle School 1

Posted June 29, 2013
- a parent
this school does very little to protect our children form bulling.I 've never had to deal with kids that have respect for anyone

Golden West Middle School 2

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
I have been extremely disappointed in this schools attitudes with instilling confidence in childrens work. They do not bend in helping to meet the children halfway even when there are medical and social issues involved. It is overcrowded and budget cuts are remaining very problematic in California school system at our childrens expense and possibly even their futures. I have pulled my son out and put him in private education for the first time in his life due to becoming concerned of him falling in the the third of the student population who drops out of high school in the CA public education system on account of him just getting frustrated and feeling incompetent. He was failing his courses constantly yet scoring advanced on his STARS tests. The staff didn't seem concerned because his end of year testing was fine and he was a "bright and respectable student"!

Golden West Middle School 5

Posted January 11, 2012
- a community member
I currently am a student here and i think so far this school is one of the best middle schools here in fairfield because there isnt so much gang violence its very rarely when the principal has to call the campus police with his guard dog and check out somthing suspicious. So if your looking for a good middle school in fairfield i would reccommend you choose this one.


Golden West Middle School 3

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
The school, I heard was a great school. My son attended in 7TH and 8th grade. I realized during the 8th grade that the budget cuts, although did not have a drastic affect on the school, it had an affect. He was not moved to Algebra I because, "there are too many students in the class"....well, that doesn't excuse it!! Upon review of the 2011 scores, I realize the scores decreased in EVERY area from the year prior-- not good at all.

Golden West Middle School 1

Posted March 24, 2011
- a parent
My child was a student of Travis Unified and then went to Golden west middle school for 7th and part of 8th grade. I must say that my child was a honor roll student but once she got to Golden West her grades dropped to there lowest...teachers mistreating the children to the point to where i filled a formal complaint and had to have the teacher apologize to my child PUBLICALLY...students being threatented by other students and the Vice Prin and Principal refuse to get a back bone and stop the maddness....even well after parents are involved...If you send your child to this school...BEWARE!!!!! Check on your child and the teachers frequently...i have since taken my child out of this school and within less than 60 days......SHE IS BACK ON THE HONOR ROLL!!!! Go figure!!!!! Principals have no backbone to help the children...the children are being mistreated by teachers...and the atmosphere is thick with tension amongst the children.....that campus needs revamping ASAP

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Golden West Middle School
2651 De Ronde Drive, Fairfield, CA  94533-9709
(707) 437-8240
Last modified Golden West Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Golden West Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top