Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Solano Christian Academy

Private | K-8 | 96 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fairfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $146,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

We decided on this school after doing research on a few other private schools. We liked the small class setting and family like atmosphere. This is our son's second year there and I can honestly say he is above grade level compared to other kids his age that attend other schools. He is very well mannered and is getting familiar with the Bible which is absolutely wonderful. We highly recommend this school to those seeking quality education at an affordable price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Solano Christian Academy has made enormous strides in the last two years changing from a mom and pop type of school (which was fine) to one that embraces the closeness of a small school but incorporates 21st tools like Epson projectors and iPads. They had an enrichment program now instead of just extended care too. The back to school red carpet event they had on the first day was a fabulous way to kick off the school year.


Posted May 27, 2013

I have been affiliated with Solano Christian Academy for 30 years. My two children back then went to the school and now their children attend. The teachers here all have degrees. Several with masters and many continuing to sharpen their skills. It has been a very positive experience for me and my family. Both of my children have completed 4 year college and SCA was the firm foundation that helped them to be successful .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

This is a horrible school the teachers are uncredentialed the administration is rude and unprofessional and the curriculum is so old. The school it self is so old and rundown and there are no extracurricular activities offered. There is no discipline given to children who are unruly and allowed to bully. When children leave this school and are placed into the public school system they are far behind due to the lack of teaching and at SCA. You do not get what you pay for !!!


Posted August 20, 2012

Our children have been attending Solano Christian Academy since 2002. Solano Christian Academy stands on over 30 years of proven educational success. The schools commitment to providing the highest quality educational experience is reflected in the standardized test scores that show students are consistently working at or above grade level in the core areas of education. Solano Christian Academy does not compromise their principals of morality, godliness, diligence, self-control, and perseverance for a monetary profit. SCA only employs the highest quality and most spiritually mature faculty, staff and administration. All of whom have been challenged to perform at the highest level of spiritual and academic excellence. All of the teachers use a highly effective curriculum to help children grow academically,socially, physically and spiritually. I invite you to our school website www.christianacademy.org for more information. Our family's experience has been wonderful. These past 10 years we have met life long friends and have had such a strong support system while raising our family. We have been truly blessed to have our children in such an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

Solano Christian Academy is a horrible school. The teacher's are unaccredited, unprofessional, and old fashioned. They base their curriculum (core knowledge) on half knowledge and do not have the proper supplies to deliver the information effectively. The administrator has no experience in the education world and even the teacher's (not including Mrs. Gipson and Mrs. Q) who have been there 20+ years are rude and non-Christian like. If you are looking into this school please look more at the lack of current curriculum and credentials of the staff. They also treat their staff with very little respect and show a great amount of favoritism.


Posted March 12, 2010

I find that SCA's staff truly care and the curriculum is quite challenging. Like many schools these days (public and private) they do not have the money to have extracurricular activities, but that is more than made up for by their focus on academics and spirituality. I highly recommend them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

My daughter had a great experience with SCA. We had to pull her out during 1st grade due to financial problems. She has been in public school for two years and the experience was good minus a few problems with the kids. We decided to re-enroll her into SCA. They gave her a great start in school. In fact she is reading two grades above her grade level. The only complaint I have is they don't have enough focus on athletics. For this, I tell the parents to register your kids in outside sport program...we did. She is very excited about going back and we can't wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

This is a great school for children grades k-5. 6Th grade and up, you're better off sending them to public school. The teachers do not know how to motivate the children. Our daughter had very good grades up until 6th grade. There are no extracurricular activities, so i don't see how that got a 3 star rating. I would strongly suggest only bringing your kids to this school up until middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

My daughter has been at SCA for 6 year now and we really do enjoy it. It's such a small school that you really do feelit's one big family. Their focus is on the academics which is great for kids this young. Not to mention they are very focused on respect. As they get into the higher grades, they get more strict and they teach the kids to take responsibility of their own work. No sports programs and such, but that'll come into play when high school comes around. So yes, we wish they had sports programs and music and so forth, but big deal - they're learning at a great speed. As far as being well informed by the teachers, we've never had a problem. Perhaps it's just the amount of parent/child communication that needs to improve. Not the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

I have two children that attended SCA in the past 6 years. SCA used to be good but has gone down tremendously over the years. The new administration is terrible, they do not care about you or your child and do what is best for them to not deal with you or the problem. As your child gets older you see the deterioration. We have had no more than 4 good teachers. When issues arise in the classroom you are not informed and you're not kept current on your child's progress, it is like pulling teeth, unless you are in the in crowd. My children have learned more from the public schools then from SCA. SCA is not above the public schools, the children are behind when they leave to public. There are no extra curricular activities and the teachers have no special training in any area for the children's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

I really love the great foundation and atmosphere of the school. The school does have many great teachers like Ms Gibb & Ms Reed worth every dime and then some. If you get passed the one bad teacher I would recommend this school to others. The school is well equipped with computers in all the class rooms high speed internet , library and great Principle & Vice Principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

This school is fine for students that are in the lower grades (such as Pre-k through 3rd or 4th), but after that I believe it doesn't offer too much for the upper grades. There are a few outstanding teachers such as Mrs. Q or Mrs. Reed, but some teachers are out of touch with the real world. We enjoyed the family atmosphere. The school doesn't offer extracurricular activities such as music, sports, art, etc. There have been a few changes in the administration over the last couple of years; it's hard to say if it's for the best or not. The academic program is okay, but not every teacher shares the same enthusiasm to teach. We had to speak with the administration regarding two teachers that appeared to lack the proper training to instruct a class. Overall, it's a good fundamental start for your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

SCA is a wonderful school! My child attended SCA for the K-2nd grades. We missed enrollment and my child ended up entered public school for the 3rd grade..needless to say, my child is returning to SCA for the 4th grade! If you are able to enroll your chilren in private school, I recommend that you do--there is nothing equivalent to the teaching style, the personal attention and the family like atmosphere that your child receives at SCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

I have been affliated with Solano Christian Academy for many years. My children went there and now my grandchild attend. I have watch the school change over the years. The teachers are outstanding and the adminstration has worked hard on lifting the standards. The school is very heavy into technology, with all students from pre-school to 8th in a computor program. I love the warm and homey feel. Great values and morals are expected and everyone is excepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

The quality of academics at SCA was 'good'. The benefits of this school are the smaller class size, chapel, and more one on one with the children. If you want a small school for your child this is the one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

Great close knit school however, tuition is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

Sca is a well-experienced school, having been open for more than twenty years. They have wonderful teachers who have been at that location for 15 plus years who work hard at providing quality education for each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

I had two children go through the Solano Christian Academy program from pre-school until 8th grade. Both of my children are young adults now. They both are college graduates with one receiving a masters degree. The other is still attending school working towards a masters. I credit part of their success to Solano Christian Academy. They had a wonderful beginning! Thanks to the teachers and staff at Solano Christian Academy. I hope they continue the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

I have 1 child that has attended SCA for the past 2 years. Insofar, my child has developed-academically-far more advanced than his peers who are attending a public education facility. However, I have had a concern with one of the members of staff in that this person seemed not to be very enthusiastic about being such a significant part of my child's learning experience. If you are considering SCA for your child, my suggestion would be to meet the teacher first, get to know their teaching style, personality, profile, and teaching experience. Keep in mind that your child will spend a significant amount of time in the care of this person. If you are not satisfied with the teacher, let the administration know before the semester starts. If they are unwilling to reasign your child, select another school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 34% 6%
Two or more races 31% 3%
White 21% 26%
Hispanic 6% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Reed
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of Christ
Associations
  • NCSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2200 Fairfield Avenue
Fairfield, CA 94533
Phone: (707) 425-7715

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Harvest Valley School
Fairfield, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT