Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sundance Montessori

Private | K-5 | 22 students

We are best known for Montessori method of teaching.
 
 

 
 

Living in Folsom

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $289,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2013

We have two children at Sundance currently and could not be happier. Our daughter is in the Kindergarten program and has been with the school for two years now. She is reading and doing math at levels above Kindergarten currently and we are only half way through the school. The teacher is absolutely amazing with the students and is amazing at knowing each childs abilities and when to move them ahead in curriculum. The environment is phenomenal and we are excited to be here through the elementary program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

Wow! What a wonderful experience for young children in a warm and loving environment. Get going and let your child have the best possible place to grow in knowledge and personal responsibility.


Posted July 14, 2012

This school is an experience that all children should have as their first exposure to learning. The teachers are all credentialed and highly motivated to meet the needs of each child in their classroom. If you are looking for a truly rewarding atmosphere for your child, don't miss this opportunity.


Posted July 9, 2012

I have reviewed a lot of schools before deciding to enroll my child at Sundance. I'm very happy with my decision. My child is 2 to 3 grade levels above on every subject and she loves her teachers. I couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

Our son was at Sundance Montessori through Kindergarten. He will be in Fourth Grade in the Fall. He is Advanced Proficient in every subject, especially mathematics. The hands-on, manipulative montessori approach definitely gave him a great foundation on which to build his education. He is excelling in school. We couldn't be happier. Our daughter has been at Sundance for two years and is growing every day. She is learning by leaps and bounds in all aspects of her life. They definitely teach the whole child. We have been happy with our decision to send our children to Sundance Montessori.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

When reading school reviews, please keep in mind that technology has made it easier than ever for disgruntled individuals to lash out at institutions to publicly hurt their reputations. We encourage anyone who is interested in our school to call us, come for a tour of our campus, and meet with our dedicated, kind, welcoming faculty, then make a decision based on your personal experience. We have a 21-year history of satisfied families, and alumni that continue to be a part of our school community. We go out of our way to extend courtesy to everyone, and conduct ourselves in a professional, friendly manner. Unfortunately, as we grow we will not always be able to please everyone--but we will always try our best to do so.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2011

I couldn't be happier with the educational experience my children receive at this school. This is our second year at this school, and my children are blossoming both academically and socially. They are confident, happy, and often display a maturity in their interactions with others that seem beyond their years. This school has fostered my children's desire to learn and nurtured their individual spirits. The low student to teacher ratio ensures that each child is able to get the individual attention they deserve to excel. Not only is my Kindergartner reading and adding, he is loving it! The first time he read a book, he excitedly told me, "This is the most fun thing I have ever done!" Any school that can foster that kind of joy for learning is not just a good school, it is a great school. I can without hesitation recommend Sundance to any family looking for a school filled with teachers and administration that truly care about their child, and who go to great lengths to support their development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

Very disappointing to say the least! We were very unhappy not only with the communication and leadership of the school but the strict and unwelcoming environment the school has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

I am surprised at the 1 star review here. It should be noted, though, that Montessori teaches in a three year cycle (Sundance specifically asks for a 3 year commitment), so 1 year is not going to be as effective. We are on our third year at Sundance Montessori and our second child just started this year. Lessons are truly taught to the whole child - grace, courtesy, and compassion rank no lower than math and reading. Our children have been allowed to develop passion and a love of learning, which I know will serve them for their whole lives. I could not be happier with a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2010

The quality of education is very low compair to the public school. We had to have extensive tutoring to be able to catch up with the public school when we moved our kid last year. It felt like we wasted a whole year of our kids life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

My daughter has been a student at Sundance Montessori since she was 2 1/2 years old. She is currently a second grader in their 6-9 elementary class. I have been deeply satisfied with the education she has received at the hands of dedicated, highly educated, experienced, and incredibly nurturing teachers along the way. They have fostered in her a true love of learning. Her inquisitive mind has always been satisfied, she has always been challenged, as they continue to provide instruction at the level she is ready to work at, as opposed to a grade level appropriate to her age. The classrooms are clean, bright, warm, and inviting. The original Montessori materials are top notch. Extra-curriculars include Spanish, Art, Music, and Poetry. The grounds are beautiful, with lots of trees and an enchanting student garden. They have truly delivered the education of the whole child that they promised.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 50% 11%
White 32% 26%
Hispanic 18% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Arabic languages
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Robin Saia
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Other Montessori,AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Music
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Sundance offers small class sizes with approximately 16 students and 2 teachers in each class. Our campus is located in the historic district of Folsom on a safe, quiet property with an inviting home-away-from-home feel. Faculty take the time to know each child and each family on a personal level; our school community is like an extended family. Children excel academically with individualized attention from their teachers, and an environment that encourages self-discovery.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

216 Natoma Street
Folsom, CA 95630
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 985-6034

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT