Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

25 reviews of this school


Theodore Judah Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 kids in this school and having been through 2 other schools in town (including one private one), I have found this school to be the best. The reason is not only the Gateway Academy and its advanced curriculum but its dedicated and enthusiastic teachers and principal Mr. Peterson. Keep up the good work!

Theodore Judah Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2014
- a parent
Theodore Judah school is a great community. The school principal, Mr. Peterson is very involved and dynamic; he knows all students by name, greets them, and always available for questions and comments. The staff in this school is wonderful, teachers are very professional and work hard for their students' success and development. One thing that is noticeable on campus is parents' involvement; parents are always welcome to join classroom parties or field trips. In addition, our PTA is amazing with all the activities they arrange for the school through out the year. Also, my kids had the opportunity to be part of one of the after school clubs offered by the school, chess club. Chess club was a great opportunity to learn the rules of chess and play with other students. Over all, we had a great experience in this school and my kids like to go to school and learn a lot.


Theodore Judah Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
The overriding difference between this school and most other public or private schools, is the principal Mr. Peterson makes himself readily available to the children and parents. He knows every kid`s name and personally takes the time to interact with them in a consistent manner. He is in front of the school greeting the children, escorting them across the street, assisting them with any requests as well as repeating this activity in the afternoon when school has ended. I challenge anyone at any school to say their administrator does the same. This professional ethic carries over to the teachers, who are phenomenal in their approach to developing the students desire to learn. They actively prepare them for middle school, the next level of education, by giving them assignments that challenge them by using computers for research, presentations and weekly homework. The Gateway Academy for those students with extra educational needs above the normal classroom standards, provides curriculum above common core with opportunities for group work, and individual growth in public speaking and topic exploration. A great choice for any parent!

Theodore Judah Elementary School 1

Posted January 13, 2014
- a community member
Theodora Judah: I am very disappointed in this school. In grades 3rd and lower, the school looks the other way on student behavior. Bulling, name calling, physical hitting and kicking. Teachers teaching academics are great. But physical safety of students lacking. I would never recommend this school.

Theodore Judah Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
Awesome...only school in county and nearest area with Academy Program ...Principal Mr. Peterson is very dynamic and good...I think getting in this school is tough nowadays ...


Theodore Judah Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
We just absolutely love this school! It is now our 4th year and we are so pleased to see how it is so fruitful and multiplying by the year! Our principle Mr. Peterson is a wonderful influence and mentor to the kids as well as the rest of the staff. It feels more like a family then a school! We are so blessed to have this as our homeschool and look forward to the years to come!

Theodore Judah Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Theodore Judah is a wonderful school. Its very clean and orderly. I love the teachers and my daughter seems very happy indeed !

Theodore Judah Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2012
- a parent
Theodore Judah is an amazing school. The teachers, principal and office staff are all amazing. My daughter came to the Gateway Academy from another local school and we could not be happier.


Theodore Judah Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2012
- a parent
My child entered a Waldorf inspired charter school for two years. She was required to go back a grade by the rules and regulations of their philosophy. The children in the charter school wanted to know why she was there because she could already read in first grade. By second grade her math skills, reading ability and spelling suffered for the sake of song singing, plays and dance. Wonderful are the arts, but in this day and age one has to be concerned about academics At Theodore Judah, I am all amazed at the staff of teachers, office staff, and principal and in particular Mr. Pierce, where his care and interest shows in developing his class room into an inquiring, busy objective of learning.The principal, Mr. Peterson exudes a buoyant, energetic, helpful demeanor, willing to work with staff, student and parent(s). He is seen here, there and everywhere keeping in contact with all of the workings of the school in a positive up beat enthusiasm that is infectious. Theodore Judah is one of the better offerings of public schools in Folsom. It is a joy to be part of the bigger picture that is there for the advancement and development of young minds. BRAVO!

Theodore Judah Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
We have two children at The Gateway Academy at Theodore Judah. Agreed, the school has wonderfully trained teachers, an awesome principal and front office staff. The Gateway curriculum is primarily enrichment based but they do offer some subject acceleration at the higher grades. They use the Jr. Great Books literature program that you won t find in most public schools. Our children have enjoyed some of the many after school club choices like Lego s, robotics, chess and academic contests. There seem to be more high achievers in the younger grades vs. gifted and large class sizes. There are also a number of red-shirted kids but no more than you d see in a typical classroom. Held back does not equal gifted. Overall we are happy with the program but do feel it is a better fit at the upper grades. We feel so lucky that FCUSD has a program like this in these days of budget cuts.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Theodore Judah Elementary School
101 Dean Way, Folsom, CA  95630
(916) 983-4469
Last modified Theodore Judah Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Theodore Judah Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top