Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Folsom, CA
Students enrolled: 316

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. John Notre Dame 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
We LOVE this school! Our child transferred in at 3rd grade and we were concerned as he was moving from an open class environment but he loves having his own desk and has made some nice friends. His teacher is amazing! She has been at the school many years but is still flexible and adapting well to the common core changes that have rolled out this year. The full-time assistant in the class is also great with the kids. Even though we are not catholic, we have all been warmly welcomed into the school environment. The principal and the staff are terrific. Very efficient but also caring and fun loving. We plan to stay in this school all the way through 8th grade now.

St. John Notre Dame 5

Posted June 15, 2011
- a parent
This is our first year with a child in Kindergarten. So far, it has been an excellent experience. Even though our child had some unique needs, they were addressed discreetly and compassionately. There were other children who had other needs that were similarly addressed. The children absorbed Catholic spiritual teachings from the beginning, with mass attendance, religious education, and outreach (for example making sandwiches for the homeless or Lenten projects). At a time of budget cuts in the arts, there is an amazing art program and yearly musical. There are field trips and visits from guests such as the Discovery Museum. Academically, there were opportunities for independent learning in class (reading groups) and out of class (math and reading web exercises). The parents and children live their faith through their sense of community in times of crisis and joy.


St. John Notre Dame 2

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
This school does not have enough resources for attending to needs for student of higher academic needs or resources to help those whom need extra care and raised up. They want straight down the middle. Bullying happens there as well...they seems to not have staff to bring the ones left out in. Principle is not flexible. My child was targeted because he seemingly did not fit their rigid ways. Too bad we had higher hope for a good catholic and private education. Very dissapointing.

St. John Notre Dame 5

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
Great school. Well resourced, good teachers, much parent involvment. Great academics and physical activity programs.

St. John Notre Dame 5

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
My complaint is the car line for pick -up and drop -off - seems chaotic and often dangerous for teachers and children.


St. John Notre Dame 4

Posted July 19, 2009
- a parent
my children are both inthe primary grades at SJNDS and we love it. My only complaint would be a little less top down control like letting you get your own school supplies and choose which side of the car your child can load and unload from :) Other than some of that fluff we really love the teachers and staff and feel our children are equally loved!

St. John Notre Dame 5

Posted January 20, 2009
- a parent
My kids (2nd and 6th grade) love attending SJNDS. The school emphasizes teaching the fundamentals and maintaining high standards for academics and conduct. My kids also enjoy learning about and practicing their catholic faith. The middle school teachers are terrific. They maintain updated homework hubs and grades and often email parents about our kids' (and the class overall) progress. We also love the 'Success' class for 6th graders that teaches the kids how to be organized, develop strong study skills, and other skills that will prepare them to succeed in middle school, high school, and life. The kids are supportive of each other and enjoy learning and serving through Christ.

St. John Notre Dame 5

Posted October 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St. John Notre Dame 5

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. John Notre Dame 4

Posted February 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John Notre Dame
309 Montrose Drive, Folsom, CA  95630
(916) 985-4129
Last modified St. John Notre Dame is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. John Notre Dame Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top