Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


David W. Long Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
I have put my kids thru this school. My son is graduating this year and my daughter currently attends D.W Long. It has great teachers a lot parents help with the P.T.O and it is clean. I have no issues but the picking up and dropping off. Every school is the same so there is no issue. This school focuses on reading my kids have learned a lot. Thanks for everyone that makes this school fantastic!

David W. Long Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
I would like to say thanks to the Liberian she is so good with the kids and teaches them is such a nice way. Having lots of patience


David W. Long Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a community member
Concerned teachers and staff. Push the children to be and do better, while also encouraging well rounded activities and fun for the kids.

David W. Long Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2014
- a parent
I read another parent's review about picking up children is a nightmare. Yes, that can be true. It's usually due to the fact that parents are usually impatient, inconsiderate of others, and not following the rules. Come on parents...our children are watching us and looking to us for guidance. That being said, every school is busy at drop off/pickup. If you wait ten minutes most of the traffic will be gone. The school and its administrators are NOT responsible for parents actions.

David W. Long Elementary School 3

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Unfainess is very common everywhere, and when you least expect it, teachers leaving children unatended to cover other asigments is not good at all. Anyway, picking up your kid is a NIGHTMARE.


David W. Long Elementary School 2

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
It all depends on which teacher you get. If you have an issue with anything, though, go to the principal, not the assistant principal.

David W. Long Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2010
- a parent
My girls loves their school. Teachers are great, very knowledgable, and surely cares for the students. Mrs. Alexander is the best principal ever.

David W. Long Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 27, 2010
- a parent
Overall...I think Long is a good school...The administrative staff is excellent and have an open-door policy and have always presented themselves as respectful and caring. I have however, have encountered some teachers that were not as caring. I know teachers have a tough job. I have had two children attend this school, one of which is there now. My experience has been this: Those teachers with good classroom management skills....my kids have thrived.....those with poor management skills.....my kids had a bad year and their grades and self-esteem suffered.


David W. Long Elementary School 3

Posted February 21, 2010
- a parent
my daughter has been attending since kindergarten and is going into third grade August 2010. My daughter went through 4 different teachers in 2nd grade, was making perfect grades all this time until recently her grades dropped dramatically. The teachers were not very helpful in explaining why and her teacher gave students in her class full credit for late assignments my daughter has NEVER turned in anything late and yet she gave her low grades in several subjects. There is a lot of unfairness going on at this school on the part of teachers, parents not as involved as they could be, mediocre all the way around they are doing away with classroom size reduction in grades 1-4, knocking down walls to make bigger classrooms again and letting go of valuable teachers I'm getting out of California for the sake of my children!

David W. Long Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2008
- a parent
I absolutely love this school and its teachers. The teachers are knowledgeable in all areas and are very caring of their students. All of my children's teachers have gone out of their way to help my kids reach their highest potentials. It's obvious that these teachers are of the highest quality!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

David W. Long Elementary School
5383 Bridlepath Drive, Fontana, CA  92336
(909) 463-1626
Last modified David W. Long Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
David W. Long Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top