Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cecilia Lucero Solorio Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

I have kids going this school but look for other place. School staffs are good but the principle has no commonsense & doesn't really care for students. We do not want to ruin our kids life here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

The Good: My son has had FANTASTIC kindergarten and first grade teachers! In fact, I've never heard a complaint about any of the teachers from other parents. The school has many activities to make it feel like a community, i.e. Father/Daughter, Mommy/Son Dances. They have a good selection of library books, which each class goes to weekly. If I have a criticism, its that English speakers aren't given the opportunity to learn Spanish. Critical for any Californian's future employment potential. The bad: My nephew attended 1st grade here 3 years before my son. Unfortunately, he had a very impatient teacher, new to the school, who refused to implement the behavior modification tools recommended by the school counselor to deal with his admitted "oddities." His mom had several meetings with the Principal, and felt heard. But the teacher didn't change. My nephew was an outcast to his classmates as a direct result of the teacher's unwarranted critical treatment. But guess what? They got rid of her. She was not back at the school the next year, despite her valiant efforts to recruit parents to petition for her. That's what gave me some confidence to send my son there 3 years later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

My sons time at this school were the worst two years of his life. The principal doesn't care about anything except test scores. This is evidenced by the creepy chant she has the students do every Friday where the API score is chanted over and over. Teachers push the children through concepts, not really caring as to whether or not they children learn anything. It's all about meeting the state standards. I'm sure that the teachers are fine,however given the emphasis placed on API scores and getting through material, they don't stand a chance of actually making sure the students are understanding material.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

My son is in 4th grade & my daughter is in 2nd grade. We love the school & the staff. The teachers genuinely care about their students. Solorio is filled with school spirit! They are one of the few schools that still offer extra-curricular programs in the area of performing arts too! Go Tigers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

my son is in this school and I will like to say if I had a chance to move him I will do it in no time because some teacher are self fish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

I just moved to the area becuase I heard about how good Etiwanda district is. my son is in 3rd grade after 2 weeks of school he was moved to a combo class with the 2nd grade. this is very dissappointing. my son is very competitive and just afraid he will loose the interest of going to school with the 2nd grader. I talked to the principal, she is just concerned about the state funding and doesn't care about the effect of joining kids tat different level .can you tell me how can you teach two curriculum at the same class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

it is an outstanding school my Daugther just finish 5th grade and my son starting kindergarten we had a very good experience with the staff members we have been in this school since 2nd grade and my daugther loved it thank you teachers for all the wonderful job you do with the kids. tiger's here we go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

My daughter attends Solorio (she'll be in the 3rd grade and started there in kindergarten- in 2005) and it is an awesome school. The teaching staff are great and you can tell that they really care about their students. I volunteer there and the teachers and staff make me feel appreciated for the work that I do. (another poster stated that their daughter wasn't aloud to check out books that were higher than her grade level. This was the opposite for my daughter. Her teachers encouraged her to check out higher grade level books, the teacher is probably able to determine which level of books are appropriate for each student). Also they are really big on school spirit and the kids seem to love that. I love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

My husband and I contemplated private school for our kindergartner, but decided to give Solorio a chance. I am so glad we did. We could not be more pleased with the staff and the parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

My daughter enjoys attending Solorio and has benefitted from a fantastic Kindergarten and first grade teacher. I am, however, disappointed in the fact that she has not been allowed to progress at a pace appropriate for her; she has to check out books that are suitable for 'first grade' students, not specifically geared to her indivdual reading level. Although I have only contacted the office staff a few short times, I have found them to be rude and superior, which is totally unnecessary. Overall, this is quite a disappointment for a district that is rumored to be superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

This is a great school with wonderful teachers. School personnel is always courteous and helpful. Teachers work with parents to provide a good education and they have great qualifications. The principle and vice principle are awesome and very supportive of their staff, students, and parents. I am proud to be a Solorio Tiger Parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

861

Change from
2012 to 2013

-28

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

861

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-28

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females72%
Males64%
African American63%
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability23%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females79%
Males79%
African American75%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females46%
Males47%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disability59%
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate24%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)34%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females68%
Males68%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disability58%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females89%
Males82%
African American84%
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner83%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate98%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state77%

Math

All Students86%
Females84%
Males88%
African American84%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females75%
Males54%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate68%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females74%
Males56%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students71%
Females78%
Males65%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 53%
White 18%
Black 12%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 4%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/AN/A
English language learners 12%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carol Bidwell-Pilgren
Fax number
  • (909) 357-7329

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15172 Walnut Street
Fontana, CA 92336
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 357-8691

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT