Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Fontana, CA
Students enrolled: 758
Before care: No

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Ted Porter Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a teacher
My school is ready for the Common Core standards. We have been trained and had an opportunity to plan Common Core lessons with our grade level teams. This upcoming year is going to be a challenge, but one that our staff is ready to tackle.

Ted Porter Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a community member
Porter Elementary is led by a terrific principal, David Moore, who belieives in children first. He practices a shared decision making model with his teachers which has enabled the entire staff to become a focused, cohesive unit. They are invested in the children and are eager, willing and able to adjust process and curriculum to meet the needs of the students they wish to teach. Literacy is key here. To insure that students will be receiving core curriculum appropriately planned lessons, each grade level has worked directly with Mr. Moore to develop and refine language arts and mathematics lessons. This staff of teachers will do their utmost to be sure that students will not be left behind academically, socially or emotionally. Team approaches to the SIT process in terms of academics, behavior, or attendance is the pathway followed. There is no blame game occuring at this site. The question asked is always what can WE do to improve. Having said positive things it is important to realize that funding can help us provide implementation of programs that just simply can't be purchased based on current funding availability. If we win this award, Porter will spend it wisely!

Ted Porter Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2013
- a community member
This school is a great place i went here since the first day it opened up.They did a lot of changes to the school using buildings instead of portables.The teachers are great and want students to succeed.May I add that there play area for kids is great.

Ted Porter Elementary School 4

Posted June 06, 2013
- a teacher
My school is very proactive. We want all students to succeed. We have a grade level RTI to increase low achieving student scores. We have a excellent Read 180 program for students in the fourth and fifth grades.

Ted Porter Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
I have four girls at Porter, and this is a amazing school, The staff and the teachers are always willing to help and with all of the budget cuts that are happening the put the childs education first priority. I am very happy with this school.

Ted Porter Elementary School 3

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
The principal, Mr. Francois, is a great addition. However, it bothers me that there are only programs to help kids who are near proficient, and little help for those who are below average. What happened to 'No Child Left Behind' ?

Ted Porter Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a teacher
I am constantly surprised by the dedication of our staff to work longer hours, care for their students, and take on extra training and duties such as tutoring, intersession, and support positions to make this school better.

Ted Porter Elementary School 2

Posted August 15, 2007
- a parent
There should be more cross guards out to protect our children. Also, the parking situation has gotten out of control. People double park, only creating more traffic. What is the principal doing about this? I have seen her walk by cars parked in the blue crosswalks. Some teachers are awesome and some are not, as is in all schools. The principal leadership is lacking!

Ted Porter Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 26, 2007
- a parent
I have one son left who goes to Porter and I never had a problem with any of the teacher. The staff is great and my son s scores and performance levels are proficient.

Ted Porter Elementary School 2

Posted June 25, 2007
- a parent
I think there may be some true to the comment 'unhappy parent' made regarding teachers and the principal. There are some teachers who give a very negative vibe, a very uncomfortable feeling. My child had a good teacher but the teachers a this school seem to lack enthusiam. There were quite a few times when I took lunch to my child. The extracirricular activities are a bit lacking. Charter schools are a better option, in my opinion. I am positive there will eventually be one closer to Fontana.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ted Porter Elementary School
8330 Locust Avenue, Fontana, CA  92335
(909) 357-5320
Last modified Ted Porter Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ted Porter Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top