Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sycamore Hills Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter attended for the 14-15 school year in the 5th grade and her grades actually went down. Sycamore implemented Common Core this year and my child was confused to say the least. She didn't get the "Visual" Approach to math. Things are too "abstract" and "vague". My wife has her Masters Degree and I was a Navy Engineer and parts of my daughters math homework (which was minimal, 3 problems ) we could not figure out what they wanted her to do. The concept of "draw the model" ( even if the answer is not right ) is not the way to learn math. My daughters teacher did not seem give positive feedback, it was all negative.

Sycamore Hills Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a parent
love this school. staff are very helpful. miss sadler is one awesome teacher. i love ms galvez and ms betten too. I believe that they were able to bring out the best in in my daughter.


Sycamore Hills Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
The teacher's are great and very motivational for the kids. My daughter has been at this school for 2 years and I look foward to her continue success in her education. I am very pleased with parent envolvement at this school. Although in the past couple of years there has been a shortage in funding and cutt in staff , I feel that the envolvement of concerned teachers, staff and parents this school continues to strive for excellence when it comes to good attendance , improving test scores and encouraging extra curricular activities amongst the children. :)

Sycamore Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 19, 2010
- a parent
I have two kids in this school since two years ago. The teachers are great. I particularly admire the administrative style of the principle, as safety and discipline are top priorities.

Sycamore Hills Elementary School 2

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
Most of the teachers are great and supportive of the children here. However the communication from the principal is very poor. They seem to have very little in place to help a child who is having learning difficulties and next to no after school clubs or activities for the kids.


Sycamore Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 19, 2008
- a community member
My grandson entered Kingergarten this year. As a protective Grandparent it seemed to be hardest on me! The first day my reservations disappeared. The staff was so inviting as was the school itself. His learning has astonished me. I contribute this to his teacher. He is beyond wonderful with his teaching skills. The PTA and administration works hard for the school also. Overall, I am not that worried Grandparent anymore.

Sycamore Hills Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
I have two children attending this school. Teachers have been first rate, and involved. Staff is friendly and approachable. Everyone works for the well being of the kids. The school is rated #1 in the district for everyday student attendance. Safety is top notch. Couldn't ask for a better school.

Sycamore Hills Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2008
- a parent
The school has great teachers and adminstrators. The parents on PTA have given the school so much to make many events possible.


Sycamore Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
Principal, Teachers, Parents, are all great. Communication from the staff is wonderful. I am always in loop with all happenings in the school.

Sycamore Hills Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2005
- a parent
Our son has been attending Sycamore for 4 years now. Overall a wonderful school. Very involved, approachable Principal, teachers have been quality with the exception of one inexperienced teacher we weren't terribly impressed with. Very safe, fun atmosphere for the children. Would like to see more extracurricular activities offered, perhaps community charitable type? I would definetly recommend this elementary school.

Nearby schools

Sycamore Hills Elementary School
11036 Mahogany Drive, Fontana, CA  92337-6836
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (909) 580-5029
Last modified Sycamore Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top