Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Fontana, CA
Students enrolled: 641
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Live Oak Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
I am a current parent of a student at Live Oak and I am very surprised by the comments (rant) below. My student has been at this school for the past 4 years and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the teachers, principal (previous one and new one), and the office staff. All of my interactions have been positive with the office staff. They are professional and very knowledgeable. It is a VERY busy office but the office staff does a great job of working together to make sure everyone who walks in there is addressed quickly and professionally. The teachers are amazing! They are innovative and have a passion for their students. The previous Principal, Mr. Chaparro, was so kind and had a great rapport with the parents and students. He made it a point to learn the kids names. The new Principal, Mrs. Corral, is also amazing! She has brought with her new ideas to help improve the school and keep leading it in the right direction. They do a great job of involving parents and promoting parent engagement. They did have some major issues with their past PTA (very unprofessional) but things seem to be moving in a better direction.The facilities are a bit old and need some renovating but the campus is big and the grass area is huge! Their is little i think they could do to improve the pick-up and drop-off situation. You can't FORCE adults to drive with caution and to have patience. Every school I have ever gone to or attended has the same issues. I would recommend this school to anyone who asked, without hesitation. Keep up the good work Live Oak!

Live Oak Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
The school reminds students regularly about respecting others. They have school rules that are read over the intercom daily. In addition they have "caught being kind" program where students can earn a ticket by doing something kind and they are entered into a weekly drawing. This is a great activity to promote positive behavior and respect.


Live Oak Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
They have strong grade level teams! I have found teachers to be open to new ideas which i think is a plus!

Live Oak Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
It was appropriate for each grade level. I never felt like it overwhelmed my student.

Live Oak Elementary School 1

Posted March 20, 2015
- a parent
discl does not care about your children and teachers do the demonstration does not they received funding that never reaches the children in the classroom and nobody cares our school gets thousands of dollars $68,000 for children that never reaches him because al that money stays in the office to spend money on the most ridiculous things but the kids are Without pencils and paper and goue etc.


Live Oak Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
My daughter had a really bad experience with one of the lazy teachers in this school. And Mr. Chaparro what could I say about this individual, but that I have no idea as to who in the world would put him in charge. Mr. Chaparro is very unprofesional as well as some teachers. I did not think it twice and moved my daughter out of this school. For that I am very happy. She is doing wonderfull in the new school.

Live Oak Elementary School 4

Posted September 15, 2009
- a teacher
The majority of the staff support the current principal, Mr. Chaparro. The previous administrators were re-assigned suddenly mid-year, so the staff needed time to adjust to the new administrator. He is very involved with the students, teachers, and parents. The student pick-up and drop-off zones are crowded at dismissal times, but now have increased supervision to make sure students are picked-up safely. The students, staff, and parents are wonderful to work with!

Live Oak Elementary School 1

Posted August 23, 2008
- a teacher
As a current, the idea that we are one staff with one goal is outrageous. More than half the staff cannot even stand Mr. Chapparro! Those of us that support fear that he is fooled by the toxic individual who think that they rule the campus. District office ... open your eyes!!! You allowed Mr. Aponte to resign ... why? Live Oak was a better place with him and Mrs. Gullixson.


Live Oak Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2005
- a teacher
One staff one goal - live oak is the place to be. Excellent staff, wonderful students. Large play area, excellent administrators.

Live Oak Elementary School 2

Posted August 22, 2003
- a parent
The school needs to be more involved with the students' needs. Also the student pick up and drop off zone is horrible. There is no supervision when parents are picking up and dropping off the kids. The parents drive any way they want and drop their kids off in the middle of the parking lot. Overall, this school needs a lot of improvements

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Live Oak Elementary School
9522 Live Oak Avenue, Fontana, CA  92335
(909) 357-5640
Last modified Live Oak Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Live Oak Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top