Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

928 students|Fontana Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oleander Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
I was a student at Oleander in my early grade school years and now my son has been a student at Oleander Elementary starting Pre-school to present day 2nd grade. The staff is very dedicated to the education of each child, as well as their protection. The teachers are very informative and motivate parents to be involved in their child's academics. I am looking forward to my son having the same teachers as I for 3rd and 5th grade, since they are still teaching at this school! One last thing, the fact that my son is excited to tell me about his day after I pick him up from school shows that it is an enjoyable learning environment for the students.

Oleander Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2014
- a parent
My son started kindergarten at this school this year, at first I honestly thought this school looked old and i wanted to move him to another district, but it completely blew my mind on how the staff is so dedicated to the children's success, my son has learned so much this year academically this school is one on the best in the Fontana district and that is the most important thing a parent should care about, my son can read write, add subtract, this schools first priority is education and that's what i love about it!!


Oleander Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2012
- a community member
This school is one of the best in San Bernadino County. They are one of 6 to recive the "Title 1 Academic Achievment "in the county this year. The students have shown the importance of reading, by the end of the year they will have read over 200, million words. Mr. Champine's fifth grade class will have completed 30 million words. Mr. Baker will conduct school from the rooftop when the goal is reached in a couple of weeks. Come and see this awesome event!!!

Oleander Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2011
- a parent
My son has been attending this school from Kindergarten and he is now in 1st grade. He absolutely loves Oleander. The principal Mr. Baker, is awesome! He's strict, but it's very much appreciated. Every morning he is out in front of the school, helping kids out of the cars, talking to parents, and directing traffic. It's because of Mr. Baker that Oleander Elementary is one of California's "Most Distinguished Schools"! My son's Kinder. teacher was amazing; he learned so much in her class. Although it's only the first month into the new school year, he tells me how he really enjoys his new class, and I can tell by his work, he's really learning alot. In my opinion, Oleander Elementary is an AWESOME school, and I look forward to my other 2 children starting off their education career there.

Oleander Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Its a one of a kind school,from staff members to teachers and the community; this school has overcome many obstacles abd has proven that with strong leadership and support from parents anything is possible!!! Proud to have # of my children attending this awesome school!!!


Oleander Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
Great school! Parents enjoy being involved. Teachers, administrators and support staff are highly qualified, and motivated. The school has many activities and programs available to students.

Oleander Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
Excellent teachers;Principal with alot of good ideas; Activities good;parent involvement needs alot of improvement,not enough;safety and dicipline just perfect!Great ambient!!!

Oleander Elementary School 3

Posted January 31, 2007
- a parent
This School is definitely improving , but we need more parent participation! It would also be nice if we could have a few fund raiser a year for students to enjoy both the participation and the benefits of a fund Raiser!.


Oleander Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2006
- a parent
Oleander is a great school now that it has a good administrators. They do a lot for the students to keep them wanting to go to school. Parent involvement is improving but more parents should become involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oleander Elementary School
8650 Oleander Avenue, Fontana, CA  92335-7753
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (909) 357-5700
Last modified Oleander Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top