Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a community member
Plavan is a small school in a great neighborhood. Principal and staff are very nice and caring. my daughter has Ms Andrews for kingdergarten and she loves her school.

Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
Plavan is a great place for my daughter to learn. She has progressed so much compared to her old school which was in Newport Mesa District. The teachers and the principal are very involved and very caring. I highly recommend this school.


Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School 1

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
My kid went to this school and this is what I found. If you want your kid to be selected as a "Proud Panther", you buy a lot of SCRIPs (a form of pre-payment certificates to supermarkets, restaurants, amusement parks, etc. in which Plavan keeps a certain percentage of the purchase cost), and give gifts (from Macy or Victoria Secret) to the teachers and the principal. This will ensure your child gets on the radar for the selection to be a "Proud Panther". It has nothing to do with either being a good student in class or performance-based reward. This year 2013, Plavan goes from 933 to 899 (-34 point) on the California API. Let's see how much Plavan will progress in the coming CST when buying SCRIPs and gifts giving to the teachers and the principal are the key to success at Plavan.

Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a community member
I was a student there last year, I recommend registering your child there. The teachers are friendly and easy to communicate with. The education system also is very well planned and organized. Plavan is a perfect enviroment for your student to learn.

Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
Plavan is a blue ribbon nominated school!! As a parent of three Plavan kids, I feel it is a great school with great leadership. There is a strong push toward fund raising because they are looking to expand their computer lab and update technology in the classrooms. I find caring leadership and volunteer parents really make a difference in this school.


Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
I just want to say that Plavan is a fantastic school from the staff, teachers, and facility. I have 2 sons that go to this school and I am just so pleased with everything about it. Thank you to everyone that are a part of Plavan Elementary. My 3rd son will be so lucky to also attend this 5 Star school.

Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent

Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is in the Special Needs program at Plavan. The teachers have been excellent and the principal outstanding. The principal is extremely active and has applied for special programs, entered children's artwork in contests, etc. My daughter has made great progress in their program. I highly recommend this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School
9675 Warner Avenue, Fountain Valley, CA  92708-2823
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (714) 378-4230
Last modified Plavan (Urbain H.) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top